We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai Food Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapp Coffee Shop

Sapp Coffee Shop
Ranked #31 of 336 Coffee & Tea in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The last time we were there, the staff asked us "the usual?". I've been eating at Sapp since I was a freshman in high school and I am now well into my 30's. That's how devoted I am to this great, nondescript restaurant that we visit almost once a week. I have tried alot of variations of Boat Noodle Soup all over California and hands down they have THEE best. Good size portion with deep flavors, I like to add alittle bit of sugar and fish sauce to mine to get sweet, salty, sour and tangy tastes, just the way I like it. The rest of their menu is just as great. I love their Yom Yum Goong, Po Tak, stir fried Chinese watercress, stir fry with chili garlic and deep fried salted beef too. Prices are so reasonable, you can get a bowl of soup and a drink for around or less than $10.
If you are looking for ambiance and snooty, hipster attitude, go somewhere else. All others ,enjoy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Favorite Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Sapp is a tiny, family owned restaurant buried in a strip mall in Thai Town on Hollywood Boulevard. Everything is cheap, and they have a wonderful array of soups and noodles. Some of the dishes are standard Thai fare for Thai restaurants in the US, but many are not. I haven't found jade noodles in many places, and theirs are flavorful and have great textures, with cilantro, peanuts, meats, and noodles. Also, I have a penchant for green things, so the fact that the noodles are green wins me over. Their green papaya salad is delicious. I also like their chili garlic noodles, which are spicy and flavorful. In general, seasonings are very good, and they have had consistent quality since I first went to Sapp Coffee Shop in about 1997. As a Culver City resident, it's pretty difficult to get over to Hollywood, but I'm willing to drive there on a weekend morning just to eat there without fighting daytime or evening traffic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
890 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
“Nondescript whole in the wall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This whole in the wall Thai spot is highly lauded, but the setting is bare bones and certainly is not an enticing place to eat. The boat noodle soup was a disappointment, but the jade noodles stood up to the hype. You won’t be missing much if you skip this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little Shop, Big Flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I really enjoyed this little joint. I went there because I remember seeing it on Anthony Bourdain's No Reservations. I had the #3 the Boat noodle Soup with Beef which comes with a collection of beef, tripe, meatballs and a dark, rich and spicy, beef broth. It was delicious. Also, I had the Deep-fried Salted Pork with a side of sticky rice. Also, delicious. It was a simple dish of pork slices that have been deep fried so that the edges are crispy, but it still has a nice salty flavor that goes really well with the chili sauce that is served with it. Excellent prices and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank litlmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Jade Noodles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I love coming here. The food is great, & the people are nice. The parking lot is a bit small though but the Jade noodles here is worth it. If hits all the flavors... Sweet, savory, sour, bitter, & spicy.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JFu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sapp Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Sapp Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing