We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A noteworthy diner at a great price”
Review of Jan's Restaurant

Jan's Restaurant
Ranked #5,430 of 10,038 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: American, Greek, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A noteworthy diner at a great price”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We only ate at Jans, to be fair, because it is located across the street from the Elan Hotel, which is an excellent place to stay when in LA. It is a solid diner, so if you are interested in diner food, you can come here and be satisfied as we were. If you are expecting something more, you will be disappointed. The place has been in business for years and there is a reason for that. I had the old-fashioned sandwich and it was delicious, complete with housemade Russian dressing on the side. My daughter ordered a salad and all of it was fresh and crisp. The decor is as old as some of the patrons, but who cares? To get a good meal in LA and not have it cost a fortune is enough for me to recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good honest diner food”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We ate twice there for breakfast in late July. First day pancake stack with fried bananas and the second time Belgium waffles with strawberries. Both times with their delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. Good service and good food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy and quaint”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our first experience of a diner in America, and it proved to be a nice welcoming experience. If you want grilled cheese, burgers and a greasy fry up or a traditional club sandwich this is the place for you.

The thing that made it so memorable was the staff, as they were so friendly and attentive but in a non obtrusive way. The diner has dated furnishing which most people may find uncool, but we think it gave it charm and preserves the real diner experience over tacky manufactured diners like johnny rockets.

I reccomended a chocolate milkshake!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cariaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Towed my car illegally from the customer parking lot beware!
We were having dinner at the restaurant, to come back find out that our car was towed away!
Filed charges at the court!

P.s.: food was barely eatable on top of everything

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghalya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Skip this diner”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

No way this has the "best coffee in Los Angeles". Mediocre food at best. Went for breakfast and it was just across from the Elan Hotel. Would have been better off with the hotel's continental breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jan's Restaurant also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Jan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing