We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ranked #84 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place is trying to be hip but in the end it's just creepy. It's super basic and the ceilings are unfinished and the walls have some type of cardboard on them to cover up the basic concrete. They missed the mark on their industrial sheik design if you ask me. The beds are relatively comfortable but my husband hated the smell of the room - essentially smells like a cardboard box. The sheets are very nice as are the pillows. I'm not sure what else is in the area but if you can, find a different hotel. If you have to stay here you'll live but for $300 I was really disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelette4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ace D, General Manager at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

I appreciate you sharing your thoughts, and I understand your view, but I wanted to share a little bit of the thought behind the design. The ceilings are the original poured concrete ceilings from 1927, we really wanted to try and retain as much of the history of the building as possible because of its beauty, specifically in this point the exposed concrete. The walls in the rooms are treated with homasote, which was mostly inspired by Rudolph Schindler & his house in West Hollywood which was also built in the 1920’s, where he also used homasote to give the rooms warmth and because of their sound absorbing quality. Please feel free to reach out if I can help with anything else, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay!

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here 3 nights on a recent pleasure trip to L.A. The hotel is awesome, with the raw concrete and industrial chic that we enjoy. Very interesting locale and history. The restaurant is great and the rooftop bar has wonderful views and amenities. Our room was a Medium, which was a tight space for the two of us. The shower had upscale toiletries wall-mounted, with no place to put your own items. The space next to the sink ( which is in the room, not in the shower enclosure) was completely taken up with a large tray of mini bar offerings. There was a hot water heater for tea, but no coffee maker. The lack of space to put bags, personal items, and our two computers was a constant problem. We loved the area, the staff and the general vibe of the Ace, but would have liked to unpack a bit more and have a more comfy space to sit and spread out.

Room Tip: Take a good look at the room descriptions and decide how much space you really need. A larger room...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notlostyet36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2015

Thank you for staying with us! All of our rooms have closets and desks but the layouts vary slightly, so please let us know during your next stay if you'd like to see the alternatives. We hope that you'll be visiting us again in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for the weekend even though we live just 10 miles away. Wanted to catch up on the downtown LA vibe, and it did not disappoint! The staff are super nice, the decor is sublime (mixing inventive new materials with luxe plumbing fixtures from waterworks) they did an upstanding job of blending the urban vibe of the area while maintaining the comfort, security, and an overall upscale experience.
The bell staff and front desk employees are super nice. No snobby vibe here. One (only) negative was the roof deck bar servers are almost laughably slow and make you feel like they'd rather be anywhere but serving drinks, even when the roof is half full. I think it's just lack of training. However, sunset and the evenings on the roof are beautiful.
The Ace is walking distance or just a short Uber ride to a wide variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, and culture. This area, which used to be quite scary 10 years ago has really changed for the better. At 1am walking down the street you'll see a mix of local well heeled residents walking their dogs, USC students, urban hipsters, working class immigrants, and of course a mix of street dwellers.
We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fmjmclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2015

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

One of the main reasons we came to visit LA for my husband to see the Lakers play in person (huge fan). The Ace Hotel was about 8 blocks south of the Staples center and LA Live and was an easy and safe walk throughout our stay. The service was impeccable! The Service Desk answered questions quickly and with a genuine friendliness. The room was urban chic and had everything we needed. We had the Medium size room (King Bed). But lo and behold the Ace is also right in the midst of the Fashion District. We took a few blocks further south to Santee Alley and had to restrain ourselves from spending too much! They're also fairly close to the Metro and the Jewelry District and some other great LA landmarks. If you're not scared of a little walking to get to some places, this hotel is a great pick. If you make a reservation, you MUST head to the roof, where there's a bar (I think food is coming soon), a nice jacuzzi-like pool, and a VIEW that's worth the price of entry! AND the restaurant downstairs has the BEST hash browns this side of heaven!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorcas_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2015

Thanks so much, Dorcas! We now serve all sorts of delicious food and drinks Upstairs and hope that you'll be back soon to check it out. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great overnight in Downtown Los Angeles!

The valet team graciously met us on the curb. As we were meeting people for dinner, the Front Office team efficiently checked us in and delivered our luggage to the room. Definitely appreciated the personal touch from the Front Office Manager.

The rooftop bar has commanding views withe excellent service. The bartender was eager to create specialized drinks for my girlfriend and I, which we both loved.

Our Medium Room was perfect with crisp linen, high ceilings, Rudy's Barbershop amenities, and even Abba Zaba's in the Mini Bar (very California). I could have stayed in that bed all day!

The LA Chapter is where it is at! We often frequent their sister restaurant in Brooklyn, so we had high hopes when visiting Ace. The food is incredible. Love the feel and space of the restaurant. And the service is typical Ace fashion with style and attentiveness.

Ace DTLA has their finger on the pulse. They know what is trending in hospitality right now and it was great to be one of the first to experience their new property. Very impressed!

Room Tip: Request a high floor facing the Foothills if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2015

Thanks so much for sleeping with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I want to love the ACE, i do. i love their design aesthetic, i love the fact that they renovated a decaying downtown building and i like that their staff are genuinely nice. But since i had to beg them four times to make up my room and wait by the desk to make sure it happened @630pM 8.5 hours after i left for the day, since the building lost internet for half my stay, and since they ignored the specifics of my reservation request, i can't imagine staying there again.
ILl stick to the lobby of the ACE Hotel in NYC to have my dose of ACE and hope that the downtown LA property grows up soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ace D, General Manager at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks for your note Leslie, we take your comments seriously. The issues that affected our systems and in turn were passed on to you are embarrassing, our internet & service are both normally top notch and I sincerely apologize that this happened during your stay. I hope you give us another chance, please contact me directly if that may happen.
Thanks again, Jason.
Jason.deibler@acehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From when we pulled up to the curb at the Ace to the minute we checked out, this hotel delivered! The valet attendants literally jumped into action when we pulled up at the curb. The staff goes out of their way to ensure you are well-taken care of. This hotel eludes coolness from the decor to the bar, the food and the staff. We had a small room which was definitely small but did the trick for us for one night. The bed was very comfortable and the wifi signal was strong. The rooftop has a fantastic view of the city and a great bar. We ate breakfast in the restaurant which served unique and fresh food. The food and coffee were fantastic. Prices in both the hotel and restaurant are reasonable.

I cannot say enough though about the service at Ace. Their entire staff impressed us throughout our stay and I would come back just for this kind of service. If I were to return to LA I would not hesitate to stay at Ace again and will certainly tell others about this place!

Room Tip: If you are there for more than one night, spring for a larger room just to have some extra space.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFBM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2015

Thanks so much! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the service here. We hope that you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#96 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,255 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#55 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,228 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 352 in Los Angeles
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#78 of 352 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,287 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#112 of 352 in Los Angeles
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles

Address: 929 S Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1609
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £175 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles opened early 2014 in the historic United Artists building in Downtown LA. An ornate, storied and vibrant Los Angeles gem, Downtown is undergoing a renaissance. Built in 1927 for the maverick film studio, the UA theater and tower stand as monuments to a group of seminal American artists pushing out on their own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing