We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Inn Express North
Ranked #232 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I needed a cheap and cheerful place to stay for four nights that was close to the attractions in hollywood and thats exactly what we got. No problem checking in, room was huge with two double beds! Dodgy decoration and the carpets werent the cleanest. The bed sheets were clean and there was no problems with washing facilities. We did mention to someone about flies around the aircon machine which wasnt addressed but we just sorted it ourselves. We didnt use the pool and breakfast consisted of juice/tea/coffee and make your own pancakes which were actually really good. So yes it could be cleaner and a bit more tlc, yes it isnt in the best neighbourhood but it was a five minute walk from red metro line that takes you to walk of fame & universal studios so it was a good base for our adventure! Would stay here again for the price we paid

Helpful?
1 Thank cjx130386
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    51
    26
    45
See reviews for
41
34
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay and paid less than $90 a night. We had a very large, spotlessly clean room and found staff very helpful. No issues with noise late at night- though we did stay on Monday and Tuesday night. Breakfast was basic- coffee and self serve waffles, but enough to start the day.
The pool was closed, as indicated on the website when we booked.
The area was seemingly quiet, but we felt safe walking around late at night and were happy to walk to the walk of fame (approx 2 miles). Absolutely no complaints about this hotel whatsoever. Communal areas were clean and bright and I actually loved the bed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher_ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Absolutely no parking! Especially if you have a SUV or truck. Not in the greatest neighborhood. Seen a fight infront of Jumbo's Clown Room. We didn't see any kind of breakfast. The room was big, but the beds had different color comforters. I was pretty disgusted so I used by own bedding thankfully. Could hear conversations everywhere and didn't get much sleep. When my bf would leave the room, I was afraid to open the door without looking through peephole or asking who it was if that tells you anything.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbabij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Wondering why management has never responded to any reviews or made a attempt to clarify if true or not alot of bad reviews and I wanna knw what is true and if safe and breakfast is good rroms are clean management can you respond

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16gello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

There is nothing at all to talk about this hotel. I don’t know why and how I booked this hotel through net. I informed them well in advance that I will be reaching very late. When I reached there was nobody from the staff. Finally I managed to remind a guy sitting there that he has to do some formality called “Check in”. I checked in and asked if they will be able to provide something to eat. But as expected there was nothing. I went out to a near by Dominoes and had a pizza. I came back to the room. The room was big but not at all maintained. The wi f was free and that was the only good thing about this hotel. In the morning I went to the “reception” to ask about the buffet Breakfast. To my shock he just pointed his finger towards a small table where there were some bagels, tea, coffee and some Donuts. THAT’S IT? He smiled as if expected my shock. The break fast is included in the “Price”.
I stayed there for 2 nights and came back to New York after a bitter experience. I am writing this much also because minimum 200 words are required to complete this review

Room Tip: One should carry his/her own blankets to avoid bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tewariviveck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I had pre-read the TM reviews before booking this place and thought - Ill give it a go. The price was just amazing compared to almost all the other Hollywood hotels I could find.
The location is spot on! It was so central to all LA spots we wanted to find! Great food is only a short stroll away! Super cheap foot massages across the road and just around the corner! The receptionist was quite helpful!
The room was defiantely nothing to rave about and the bed was springy and a little painful by the 3rd night. But in Australia its very hard to find something this central for this price so my partner and I were quite happy.
I will say that the 'continental breakfast' was do it your self waffles EVERY morning so we didnt actually eat it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Qld
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and found the staff more than friendly with plenty of help when it came to tips getting around town. Rooms were cleaned and refreshed everyday whilst we were out. Rooms were clean and although the decor etc is tired it is more than made up for with the price. Packed carpark every night so that must be a good indicator.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGM5046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#116 of 350 in Los Angeles
671 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#117 of 350 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Stars Inn
Hollywood Stars Inn
#234 of 350 in Los Angeles
137 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#61 of 350 in Los Angeles
954 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Inn Express North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Inn Express North

Property: Hollywood Inn Express North
Address: 5131 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-6105
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Inn Express North 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find the best rates online, the widest variety of room types online, at the most reliable Hollywood Boulevard Hotel. We offer our guest affordable room rates with luxury & friendly services. Hollywood Inn Express North is a motel that will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are visiting this dynamic city. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our Hollywood motel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Unlike any other Hollywood Motels near Universal Studios Hollywood we offer discount tickets and tour arrangements to Universal Studios. Whether you're traveling on business, a leisure getaway, or a family vacation, this Hollywood Motel in Hollywood has the right motel accommodations for you. Take advantage of free internet access, and comfortable beds offered at Hollywood Inn Express North. You'll find the best rates online, the widest variety of room online, the most reliable motel near Universal Studios Thank you for considering Hollywood Inn Express North for your motel travel plans! All of our beautifully furnished Deluxe guestrooms equipped are with free Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerators, Iron/board, Hair Dryer, Radio clock and free complimentary breakfast. Motel located on Hollywood Boulevard 5 minutes to Hollywood Walk of Fame, 5 minutes to Sunset Blvd, walking distance 10 minutes to Hollywood Universal Studios and Discount Tickets available at the Lobby, 15 minutes to Hollywood Sign and Griffith Observatory Discount Universal Studio Tickets and Tour scheduling We are conveniently located in the heart of Hollywood! Treat yourself to the Hollywood Inn Express North Los Angeles. Choose this Hollywood motel for your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hollywood Inn Express North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Inn Express North Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Hotel Express North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing