We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away From This Place!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hollywood Inn Express North
Ranked #238 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
wicked2583
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away From This Place!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

This is a HORRIBLE HOTEL, dirty and scary. Me and my wife thought it couldn't be so bad and IT IS. PLEASE PEOPLE READ THE REVIEWS THIS IS A NO NO NO NO PLACE TO STAY. We regret our decision and we will be willing to pay $150 or $200 per night at another hotel. D O N O T S T A Y H E R E!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wicked2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    47
    23
    46
See reviews for
38
33
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

I stayed here because I was going to the Price Is Right (CBS STUDIOS). I was told that this hotel is 5miles away. I booked this reservation online and I called the Hotel to ask about a early check in and I was told that would not be a problem. I get to the hotel and the staff was EXTREMELY RUDE and told me that I could not get my room until 2 pm. I arrived at the hotel at 10:30 am. I am furious! Then I waited in the lobby which had nowhere to sit. I found a lawn chair outside and brought that into the lobby and the housekeeping woman demanded that I get out of the chair and put it back outside. I yelled at her to get out of my face. She was crazy as mollasses because it was raining outside. 12 noon when they decided that they had a room available for me I was able to check in. I get to my room opened the door and was hit with a stinge of DEATH. I go to turn the heat on...Guess What? That did not work and then I seen a small rodent dart across the floor! I could not run back down to the lobby fast enough. I get there demanded that the man who checked me in come back to the room with me and see what I had experienced. He get's to my room and fumbles with the heater not caring that I had told him about the rodent. He said...The heater does not work so I will just put you in another room. I demanded my money back and would pay more elsewhere for health and safety issues. He refused to refund me but claimed to upgrade my room! WHATEVER!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank secretdiamonds4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Belgique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

hey..don t go to this hotel..the first day my camera has disappear and the secong day my charger..crazy but true..SO PLEASE DO NOT GO THERE

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raph20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT DISCOUNT THIS REVIEW!!! We are seasoned travelers and booked this hotel to save a few bucks and usually, the terrible reviews are from people that have high expectations and complain about silly things, but SERIOUSLY, My Fiance and I were scared every night we were here. There was no Deadbolt on the hollow door and I propped a chair in front of the door to feel safer. I am pretty sure that there is a transvestite prostitution ring running out of this hotel as the neighbors were in and out 'conducting business' all night long and were so noisy playing porn and having loud sex nearly every night. I actually cried when we checked in. There were splatters of somthing on the walls behind the bed and on the nightstands and the sheets were like paper with no mattress pad on the beds. There were strange stains on the carpet and the bathroom was covered in mold and splatters of, I'm not sure but I think it was blood, on the door and walls. Definately could not sleep and was scared. MIND YOU!!!! WE USUALLY NEVER COMPLAIN, THIS WAS A NIGHTMARE!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank eltrich2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Pros: short walk to Metro train station, free and fast wifi internet, airconditioning/heating in room, lots of places to eat nearby, building is well-lit at night.
Cons: Not the prettiest part of town, indifferent front desk staff, smelly room, free breakfast are donuts!

I think overall it's a rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

we stayed for 1 night and tried to use coupon but was rejected. the guy countered offer us a king bed for $60. we told him no, and asked for something else. he then countered offer us 3 queen bed for $80. sounds ok to the 3 of us.

room is big since it has 3 bed. room is clean enough for us to accept.
the frontdesk guy is friendly n helpful. nearby is a restaurant that sells thai food (tg express) and take out. great food there if u r staying in this motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lab4games
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

The location is not bad, but you need to take the bus or metro to get to the "close by" sights like the Walk of Fame or the Kodak Theatre.

The room was rather spacious, but quite dark, gloomy, not especially clean, the floor uneven, some of the towels property of big hotel chains, and the mattress squeaking and uncomfortable or simply old and worn out. During our stay, unlike in other accommodations, I haven't seen anyone using the pool and wouldn't have used it myself. There was a fridge in the room, but it was noisy that we had to switch it off to be able to sleep.

The continental breakfast consists of awful coffee, even worse orange-colored drink, and , if you re lucky / fast enough, a sugar-coated donut. No hot water, no milk, no plates, no napkins.

Wifi was working without problem.

Parking spaces are limited and even if some are available it's not easy to get in / out with a bigger car.

You shouln't expect any help from the personnel. I needed to print out 1 page (tickets booked over the internet) - the receptionist pretended to have never seen a USB stick before, and coulnd't tell any place close by where it might be possible to print.

Altogether the personnel was rather rude and the maid entered the room around 8.30-9.00 am without even knocking (no "do not disturb" sign available). Lucky we were just about to leave anyway.

Most disturbing for us was that, just about half an hour after we had left the hotel and were already on the highway to the next destination, we got a message from the bank that they charged the creditcard with additional 75$. We inquired by phone and were accused to have stolen the bedspread.
Well, what happened was that we put the bedspread aside (folded and put in a corner) on our first evening, the housekeeper removed it the next morning and we haven't seen it for the rest of our stay. Obviously, we didn't miss it as it was old and smelly. After two more calls, talking with the manager and explaining the circumstances, he talked to the housekeeping staff and our money is back now - apparently minus some bank charge, but at least most of it is back.

So, altogether not the best experience - it's ok to stay there for 1-2 nights, but if you can, choose a different accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackinthebox_sushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#132 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#108 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
#195 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#69 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Stars Inn
Hollywood Stars Inn
#229 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#163 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Inn Express North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Inn Express North

Property: Hollywood Inn Express North
Address: 5131 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Inn Express North 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find the best rates online, the widest variety of room types online, at the most reliable Hollywood Boulevard Hotel. We offer our guest affordable room rates with luxury & friendly services. Hollywood Inn Express North is a motel that will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are visiting this dynamic city. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our Hollywood motel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Unlike any other Hollywood Motels near Universal Studios Hollywood we offer discount tickets and tour arrangements to Universal Studios. Whether you're traveling on business, a leisure getaway, or a family vacation, this Hollywood Motel in Hollywood has the right motel accommodations for you. Take advantage of free internet access, and comfortable beds offered at Hollywood Inn Express North. You'll find the best rates online, the widest variety of room online, the most reliable motel near Universal Studios Thank you for considering Hollywood Inn Express North for your motel travel plans! All of our beautifully furnished Deluxe guestrooms equipped are with free Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerators, Iron/board, Hair Dryer, Radio clock and free complimentary breakfast. Motel located on Hollywood Boulevard 5 minutes to Hollywood Walk of Fame, 5 minutes to Sunset Blvd, walking distance 10 minutes to Hollywood Universal Studios and Discount Tickets available at the Lobby, 15 minutes to Hollywood Sign and Griffith Observatory Discount Universal Studio Tickets and Tour scheduling We are conveniently located in the heart of Hollywood! Treat yourself to the Hollywood Inn Express North Los Angeles. Choose this Hollywood motel for your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Hollywood Inn Express North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Inn Express North Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Hotel Express North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing