We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place to stay”
Review of The Moment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Moment Hotel
Ranked #76 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cool place to stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by what a wonderful spot The Moment is. Stayed 4 nights with my 13 year old son. First---the friendliest staff I ever encountered from maids and maintenance folks to the front desk (Courtnay is terrific!). Because it's a small place you start to feel like you are staying with friends. Very cool, comfortable rooms with great rain showers and a cozy bed. The roof deck is a cool spot to lounge and read. Excellent beers on tap and prices are amazing for a hotel---they don't gouge you. Good location---check out Samuel French Books a few blocks up Sunset.

My only modest complaint is the noise from the halls---folks talking late at night can be a little disruptive, but not a serious issue. Would stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the Hollywood Hills have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleFather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at The Moment Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We appreciate the great review and kind words about the hotel. You are correct about Courtney (and all our staff). I will make sure she is aware of your review. We look forward to your return soon.

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    111
    45
    16
    9
See reviews for
44
123
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Don't get fool by the look of this hotel. It could easily be one of those "boutique hotel wannabes"...but it's not. It is a true clean, simple and modern boutique hotel that any young professional prefers. (I am sure not just young professional would enjoy it). First of all, the location is great. Close to all the key locations. The hotel itself is very clean. One of the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever stayed. The bed was so comfy. Shower area is simply amazing. And the staff? Super friendly...in a real sincere way. It's one of these hotels that was created by really nice people. And it shows. High recommend this place. Bravo, keep up the great work guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IKAICHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at The Moment Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you were able to experience our hotel as well as enjoy an outstanding stay. We look forward to your return!

thank you,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I love this hotel. When I went to check in the front desk let me know that the manager Craig had upgraded my room to a suite. What a nice surprise. This was my 1st time at the hotel and when I go back to LA I will always stay here. It is not your big fancy hotel - it is better!! It's so cool!! And you are near everything!! The rooms are nice and big - the shower is nice and big!! Can't say good things!!! And I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at The Moment Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the great review and for trying us out. I'm glad you enjoyed the suite, having a private balcony on Sunset Blvd is a great feature! We look forward to getting you back here soon.

thanks again,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel thoroughly surprised me. I was going to stay at The Standard like I typically do but saw this new modern looking hotel so I went inside and asked for rates. They has a special for first time guest and I got a great deal. There was a guy named Davin that was working the front desk and he made sure that I was taken care of. The room was fantastic! Clean, big flat screen with Direct TV, and the thing that I liked most was the automated blinds that allowed me to make my room very dark. If you stay here make sure you wear the robes they have omg I felt like a King with it on lol. I will be staying here next time I'm in LA 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willmega23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at The Moment Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you decided to try us out. Davin is a great associate and we enjoy having him here. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I want to say that this hotel has the best front desk service/workers I have ever seen in any hotel.
*And I've been to A LOT of hotels.*

I want to give Owen and Courtney 11 out of 10 for their service/friendly moods. This definitely made my stay. Everyone here is spot on with what they do and are right on top of their jobs.
I was put in the Moment Hotel for 4 days from a contest that I won with Guitar Center.
Out of all of the places to go in Hollywood, I spent 3/4 of my time talking/having fun with the people who work there because they are all so nice and friendly.

The Moment Hotel - You have possibly the finest hotel that I have ever been to.
All of your employees are fantastic and I think they need a raise!!! Haha
I recommend anyone that is staying in Hollywood to stay at this hotel! You won't forget it.

If you need ANYTHING, just call the front desk and they will take care of you!!

Thanks again for the fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Ask for Owen/Courtney/Will, they will definitely take care of you for anything that you need!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_GHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at The Moment Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We enjoyed having you here during your recent stay. We are looking forward to many more trips to the Moment Hotel. I will pass on the kind words to the staff and we'll see you soon.

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast Maine
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My stay at The Moment Hotel was great. But interesting. I have to write an extended and careful review. Why? Every inch of The Moment is carefully planned and detailed and thought out. A team of architects and designers have worked this baby to the bone and it shows. It irritates at times as well but so what? Someone says “it’s a redeveloped old motel” but you’ll never notice. The place absolutely welcomes and sparkles. It’s still just months old but the friendly staff really does care about it and keeps everything beautifully. First off… I’m 63 and overweight so I don’t think I’m the “young Hollywood” urban hipster target demo but looking around there were lots of people who were a bit off the chart of uber cool. At least no one called me gramps. I got a great deal on Priceline.com and price + lots of stars always being my first concern I was very happy to land where I did. Lots of parking, never a problem, really sweet deck/bar where I never saw a person except the never ending show on Sunset Blvd. Great friendly welcome. It’s only two floors but with multiple suitcases the elevator was very welcome. Hollywood and the area is interesting. Very quiet tree lined side streets that felt safe to me. I’ve got my old school NYC street radar always going. But who knows? Here’s where the fun stuff starts: the details. Everything here is a bit complicated and awesome.
1. I’m not a government employee or high security so I had yet to use a card you pass over the lock to get in. I felt like I was in a movie. Looking for a slot that wasn’t there.
2. I go to lock the door once inside but the security lock is something that takes me minutes of playing with it until it just quietly flips out.
3. The blinds are electric and getting them to work takes practice. Later I’ll watch a woman from outside as she yanks and yanks. After a while… I get it. The view out back is straight at an apartment build. Zero interest.
4. More plugs than I have any idea what to do with. If you are a techie: welcome to nirvana.
5. A giant TV fit for a family room with Dish and a million channels I will never figure out how to use. There was something very odd about a huge Anderson Cooper in my room.
6. Keurig coffee pods! YES!
7. Whoever designed these rooms does not read. Ceiling spotlights for reading? Irksome.
8. The shower was another mystery. Big beautiful walk in glass doors with a huge rain shower and had unit. But if you dare to push that button to switch from hand to rain you will get the freezing shower treatment. Push and jump back. And you cannot switch back without turning off the water.
9. The soap and various stuff at the sink and shower are in pumps. They shoot straight at you and not down into your hand.
10. The entire creation is one of angles, greens, greys, purples, and oranges. You’ll never feel like you are at a Comfort Inn.
11. What ever happened to wash towels for the hands and face? I like them. And missed them.
12. The parking lot is either black poured or painted black. It’s cool. The stair support art was cool and showed an added commitment to detail.
13. The outside doors are automatic and open every time you walk by. Then the staff has to lean out and look to see who is there. They needed a notch cut through the wall.
14. When I ran into something very obvious and simple I started suspecting there was a trick to everything but there wasn’t.

The place is interesting, safe, and quiet, detail oriented, easy to get in and out of, and cares about you. It is a work of imaginative art and scores high as a realized vision. Yes there are some odd details but what the hell… yeah… what the hell! Who cares? Not me.

The neighborhood is good. Aroma Café across the street with good food, guitar and drum world you are in my friends: checkout the guitar hand prints at Guitar Center across street. Ralph’s grocery a few blocks west. Pinkberry down the street. And always an easy place for your car in Car City. Have your moment at The Moment. I loved it.

Room Tip: if you want a view the back rooms are not for you. Make sure you ask what the view is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at The Moment Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We appreciate your very detailed and thorough review of our property. You mentioned a few items that we will look into and ensure they're rectified for your next visit.

thank you,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great boutique hotel on Sunset Blvd. We stayed for 2 nights in March and loved it. The rooms are clean design and comfortable and the amenities (mini bar, bathrobes and slippers, rooftop deck) were excellent. The staff was very friendly and very helpful!
Will definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kathy42011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at The Moment Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate the comments and we are anxiously awaiting your return!

thank you again,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 350 in Los Angeles
413 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#187 of 350 in Los Angeles
583 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#91 of 350 in Los Angeles
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,669 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,903 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moment Hotel

Property: The Moment Hotel
Address: 7370 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046-3411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MOMENT hotel is a modern boutique hotel in Hollywood, CA that offers cosmopolitan comfort for both business and leisure travelers. With its stylish city vibe, intimate views, and distinctive design, the MOMENT hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Los Angeles that exceeds the ordinary. Set on Guitar Row, the MOMENT hotel is home amidst some of the city's most exciting shops, culture, and nightlife. Our Los Angeles hotel is just steps away from Sunset Boulevard attractions, museums, and landmarks like the famed Guitar Center, Hollywood Hills, and the Sunset Strip. Enjoy unique experiences whether it's on the hotel's 2000 square foot rooftop, the Moment Roof deck, or taking in the sights and sounds of the Hollywood experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Moment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn And Suites
Sunset Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing