We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE: Turned away before we even got there!! Serious poor management”
Review of Vibe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vibe Hotel
Ranked #166 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I read about the poor management reviews of the Vibe and decided to take my chances. The Vibe seriously screwed up my weekend - turned us away and forced us to search for a hotel in Hollywood at 10 o'clock at night. Seriously uncalled for.

I had scheduled a room a week in advance at the Vibe, and even called in during the middle of the week to make sure they had me down for the room. We were running late the day of arrival so I gave them a call to let them know we'd be there, but then I was told that our room had been given away and we were moved to The Orbit (sister hotel of the Vibe) on the other side of Hollywood!! I specifically wanted the Vibe because it was within walking distance of a festival we were going to. We never received any phone call about the change and were told that they had no paper work for us. We straight up told them that this was bad management and insisted that we receive a free night for the mishap. Free night was out of the question and we were in fact turned away and told that we were not welcomed!

We stayed at a miserable hotel on the first night (The Townehouse on Sunset), and then stayed at Magic Castle on Franklin Ave, which was wonderful and I really recommend them if you want a comfortable stay. It's more expensive obviously but to have the quality and assurance makes the trip so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Muertos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2009

The room is very clean, they clean the room every day which I'm very thankful for that. What will be a nice treat other than come to the clean room after a long day ^_^

The staff is very friendly, however, some didn't know much details on the services offer; i.e. I booked a pick up to disneyland and i asked what time would the driver pick us up and where would be the meeting point at disneyland, they had to make three calls before they can give me the answers which i thought they are supposed to know this basic answer.

On the weekend, there will be a party where everyone can enjoyed free food & basketball match, however, the noise of the stereo as well as those who were enjoyed themselves last til 2 am., and that was the time when i can go to sleep. I think they should have time limit in case other guests want to sleep after the long day.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My husband & I stayed here because friend's had recommended it :) It was great. We were on Hollywood Blvd, the bus stops right out front of the hostel & the hostel offers great tours. The tours were small groups & reasonably priced, we did the night tour & the LA tour which included Beverley Hills, Bel Air, Venice Beach etc. We enjoyed the free breakfast, free WIFI & the karaoke night which included dinner & free drinks. The staff were great & very helpful. We stayed in a private room with a kitchen, it was clean & spacious. We couldn't have asked for more on our budget.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeljade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Well...we have been travelling for three years and have stayed in more places than I can remember. I can say that this place was not high on my list.

Lets start with the staff. NOT IMPRESSED!! They were rude and extremely unhelpful, had no idea about where to go or what to do in LA. They live here for crying out loud and they didn't even know there was a huge red tourist bus that went to al the major sites.

Also, with the planned activities what a joke. We had free dinner at the Vibe Bar, which they forgot to tell us that this 'Bar' was actually just their other hostel not even a proper bar. Then they had a free shuttle there, dropped us off without telling us anything about where we were going, then after asking I found out there was no shuttle back.

Now onto location. Not really knowing anything about LA before getting here. West Hollywood is a good hour walk to Hollywood and over an hour to the beach. Wish I had know that when I was booking this hostel. My advice, stay in Hollywood, not West Hollywood!!

If you are thinking of staying at the West Hollywood, don't stay somewhere else that is close to civilisation.

Happy travels

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

This was not what we had expected when we turned up.
We were first greeted (rudely) by the woman on the desk who instructed us that we had to wait 4.5 hrs to check into our room at midday. Which would have been fine under normal circumstances, but she was talking about the room being used the day before for a photo shoot, and that the room was completely empty the night before, and still wouldnt let us in after a horrible 8 hour grehound trip.
The room was awful. The lurid green paint job was sloppy and the furniture was broken. The bathroom was AWFUL. The toilet needed to be flushed over and over again just to flush a tissue. The shower was terrible, it ran cold constantly and the pressure was non-existant. on our 4th day the electricity in our room completely died, and no-one turned up to fix it until later on in the day.
When we asked to print out our tour voucher on the office printer, i was told by the clueless woman behind the counter that "we dont have a printer", and there was one sitting directly behind her.
The free breakfast was average, cereal and toast. There was no option for soy milk or any other breakfast alternative, unless you wanted to pay for it.
We had no housekeeping for the whole ten days we stayed, so we emptied our own rubbish and had to return dirty towels for clean ones.
The staff that worked there were not helpfull at all, and it seemed like they were working for accommodation. Particularly one australian woman was exceptionally rude to us.

I would never, ever recommend this hotel to anyone. stay closer to the strip, because it is not as close as the Vibe suggests.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reviewer1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We arrived off a long flight exhausted to drag our cases up some stairs to our private with bathroom accomodation. The shower was broken and the speakers on the windows (enticing people to come inside) were blasting loud music. So it wasn't a good start. The rooms were also very hot and the single fan didn't do much to improve this. We stayed there for a week and slowly got used to the place. The staff weren't very helpful with directions or information and there was cockroaches and bed bugs sharing the room with us! But there were some good things about the place. The location is great...walking distance to Hollywood (you can walk to many food places, shops, kodak theatre, Chinese Theatre, tour operators, JImmy Kimble show, Hollywood Museum, Wax Museum, a theatre showing the latest production 'Wicked' and the Ripleys Believe it or not museum). The motel also ran group trips to Venice Beach or Universal Studios. They had theme party nights and night club crawls. They offered free breakfast of toast, cereal and hot drinks. And for only $2 you could get pancakes, bacon and eggs. There was free internet (although the 10 min rule didn't seem to apply to some people and the computers crashed all the time). There was free movies on a big screen TV (not that you could hear them if a party was going on). There was snack and drink machines in the lobby and a nice view of palm trees. Parking for your rental car was free but difficult as the car park sometimes got very full and people had to park behind other cars. So it certainly was a mixed bag!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kiwigal_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Surprise surprise. The room was huge. Came with 1 double bed and 1 double-deck bunk beds, but there was only 2 of us.There was a separate kitchen with utensils and all, and a nice bathroom. Though the bath tub looks a little dirty, all else works fine

Basically, it has all the amenities under one roof - laundry, "movie room", free breakfast. Most importantly, clean rooms. Excellent choice for budget travellers.

The decor and layout makes it an interesting place. It shares the facility with the hostel operation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank QLJ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,198 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#5 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,298 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#163 of 358 in Los Angeles
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#185 of 358 in Los Angeles
391 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,136 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#119 of 358 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel

Address: 5922 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vibe is a cool Hollywood Motel with hip common space and clean, well designed rooms. You can park near your room and come and go as you please, it's fast and fun. Groovy Hollywood accommodation in Los Angeles with funky motel style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Los Angeles
Vibe Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing