We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel California
Nearby Hotels
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
US$412
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$592
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$695
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$565
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$469
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
3
1
3
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
1
3
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This place is dirty I didn't once take off my shose i travelled all over the USA n mexico only staying in hostels and this place is by far the worst so dirty about 90% of the guest live here. Your stuff in not save!!!! It's half hour walk from the beach and it is dirty dirty dirty grimy walls gross smells the only good thing the price and that is bad compaired to wat u get

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristilouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed here and got a horrible skin infection/rash/insect bites all over my face, neck, hands, and back. It's been three weeks and I still have marks. The bed was filthy!!! It has scabies. BEWARE!! DO NOT STAY HERE!! I am a backpacker and always stay in hostels. This place is disgusting and you don't want to end up like me.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alekiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed in a private room, so felt my belongings were safe, but spent every waking hour out of the hostel because it was a bit of a dive. TV blared all night too. Wouldn't recommend unless you plan on hitting the beach hard.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DomZRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This was my first hostel experience and to be honest i could not wait to leave. Travelled with friends, i shared a private room with one of them, the others ended up dragging their mattress into our private room because there room was freezing because the door to the balcony had a gaping hole and one of the mattresses were used to prop the door close.

The private room was thankfully lockable but i did not feel confortable leaving belongings there, It was right next to the bathroom which meant that anytime anyone went to the bathroom we were woken up. The walls had what looked like claw marks etched in there, the bathrooms were 'apparently" cleaned twice daily but we did not feel comfortable using them and the sinks were not cleaned during our stay. The thread bare linen wasn't the cleanest, the pillow case i used had suspicious white stains all over it.

The location was not ideal, a tad too far from the beach and we did not feel safe walking around after dark. As for the atmosphere, there is definately an internation feel to it but it was not the most social hostel (mainly because we did not wish to leave our room).

The only advantage of this place was the free wifi which we used to book other accomodation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saxonthebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

It was dirty and the place to keep valuables is a wooden cupboard behind the tv in the living where everyone else is. so they see you put your stuff in there!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treynolds182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews