We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Temescal Gateway Park
Red Deer
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hike, easy for beginners. Some steep areas. Beautiful scenery. The drought has dried up the waterfall but still worth the trip

Helpful?
1 Thank CrossfitCornerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike in the middle of the city!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I used to live just next door to this place so I know every inch of this place. You forget how beautiful a place is until you move away. I visit here about 4 or 5 times a year and every season is different. You're most likely run into snakes in the spring. Winter is very green and beautiful with the waterfall rushing and the creek really flowing, especially after a rain. Summer is very dry here but still beautiful with sycamores and native chaparral still green. Fall you see a little color as the sycamores lose their leaves but nothing beautiful like the East Coast. The hike can be 20 miles or 2.5 miles depending on which trail you take. It connects to the Topanga State Park and the Backbone Trail so it can go on for miles. Overall, I love this place and have been bringing my 12 year old daughter with me lately. She loves this place too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best views in LA.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

It takes about 30-45 minutes to summit if you are a moderate hiker and keep a good pace. It is a workout! Mix between packed dirt and loose rocky terrain so wear real sneakers. Do not go on this hike without water. Wear sunscreen, lots of direct sun exposure. There are breath-taking views every 5 minutes on the way up and the peak offers a 360 view of Santa Monica, Malibu, vineyards, and LA. Bring your camera, you will want to take many pictures. You'll see beautiful flowers, hummingbirds and lizards along the way.

This trail isn't as busy as Runyon Canyon, not nearly as many dogs and you don't need to get dressed up either for this one. (you know what I mean if you've been to Runyon). The views are far more impressive also.

The park is pretty big and there are lots of trails to explore. Great spots around the base for picnicking, sunbathing, or frisbee.

Clean bathroom facilities available.

Costs $7 to park, you must pay with cash. Abide all stops signs and the speed limit!!! There are cameras at all stops, you WILL get a big ticket if you aren't careful. Enjoy!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hiking Retreat Within Los Angeles”
Reviewed 1 September 2008

I went to Temescal Gateway Park today, Sunday, August 31st, 2008. It costs $5 to park, and you have to use a self paying envelope.

The Park itself is small but very beautiful. There are plenty of places to rest and enjoy a picnic in a scene that seems far away from usual LA city life.

There are a few trails to choose from, all of which end up connecting in some way. The hike we chose today was going up the trail that leads towards the waterfall. It is a little over a mile to the waterfall.

The trail was good for amateurs and it winded through the canyon along a dried up creek.

The waterfall was non-existent, as expected, but the hike was still very nice. I wanted to go further (at which point the trail suddly got much steeper) but I was losing daylight (and was with my sisters, hence good for amateurs ;).

You can look at my pictures to see what kind of scenery to expect. There is a great view if you take a longer trail or go further down the trail we chose.

(I'll be there in the Spring)

Helpful?
3 Thank Kashberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
Reviewed 28 January 2006

A hike into nature a short drive from Santa Monica. A little short on shade, but nice. There's even a waterfall in a loop hike

Helpful?
1 Thank meimei421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Temescal Gateway Park also viewed

 

Been to Temescal Gateway Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing