We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally different property from last year.”
Review of Royal Pagoda Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Pagoda Motel
Ranked #156 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I stayed here over a year ago. This year i decided to booked at the Royal Pagoda Motel again. This time, what a surprise. The property has been completely renovated. What a surprise. Rates aren't that much different from last year. However, the property has been totally renovated.

A ton more cable t.v. stations. Free internet and free parking. For a downtown location that's really good. I took the DASH bus that is right at the property right to Union Station and was able to Hollywood and Universal Studios.

I booked with Booking.com and had no problems with my reservations when I arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rjames868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Royal Pagoda Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

To start, its too far from the nearest metro station, the phone didn't even work. my friend said his bed had bedbugs, and the people next door kept us up all night being rude and talking loudly on a cell phone out on the balcony and nothing was done about it. This place sucks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YEthanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Simply No Good! The cons really outweigh the pros.

I should have heeded people's warnings on the net. That same old man was really rude to us. He sounded like he was yelling at me at one point.

For whatever reason, the second keycard they gave us was not working and when we went down to the front desk to ask about it, the old man gave us an attitude. Very unprofessional!

The room was big enough but old and dingy looking. The bed sheets and blankets had cigarette burns and odd stains. The hardwood floor was nice, at least. Oh, and I did not see any bugs.

Location is perfect if you plan on going to Burbank (not too far via the highway) or lots of places in east LA area, like Chinatown (you're right in it!), Lil Tokyo, Downtown, Hollywood, etc. However if you want to go to the west LA area or the beaches, you'll be on the road for a while.

And another cool thing is we were right near the festivals and events. We heard and saw bike marathon right outside our window one night, and a few mornings later, we could hear drumming from a Chinese festival happening a few blocks away.

Parking is challenging and very squishy. There isn't enough parking spaces, so they squeeze you via parallel-style.

Price was $70 or something around there. Should have been lower. It is a motel. There is no security.

Some creepy man followed my friend and I to our room! Luckily we locked it quickly but he was knocking a minute after we closed the door. Then 2 minutes later, he was knocking again! Luckily he went away. Put simply, we could have been raped.

That was our last night staying there, but I definitely would have found somewhere else to stay after that night!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsJulicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I paid $30 to stay here for a night. It was late at night and I scored a deal on Priceline, so I said to myself "what the heck, let's try it".

The front-desk staff was indeed fairly rude and spoke little English, but I was in Chinatown so I thought of it as trying to get a place in China! The internet connection was somewhat iffy but worked out well at the end.

The room was fairly decent. Can't say it was cozy or plush but it was adequate for a night stay. I wouldn't bring a spouse or partner here for a romantic night, but as a solo traveler I found little to complain about.

Again, for $30, I found myself feeling pretty good :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Synthetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Bad service!!! Rude people!! the chinnese guy was really mean didnt respect privacy came n banging & screaming to the door to move vehicle. He assigned you to parking then he interrupts you to move the vehicle !! & on the other guest rooms if u didnt open the door he would go inside your room theres no PRIVACY!! He was really rude & disrespectful!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Girlsjustwant2havefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I checked in and put my bags in my room after I left for the day when I returned my room was broken into and most items were missing. I called the police and they informed me they have many complaints about this problem.1/18/11

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vegasjeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

If you are going to stay here, but expect the Rits Carlton..or even Holiday Inn. Its priced like a basic motel because thats what it is. However the staff is friendly. Its Chinese owned but they speak good English. Several nice restaurants within walking distance. The bus stop is across the street. Its also relatively clean.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Metro Plaza Hotel
#144 of 352 in Los Angeles
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pagoda Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pagoda Motel

Address: 995 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012-1728
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £92 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Pagoda Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pagoda Hotel Los Angeles
Royal Pagoda Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing