We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really cheap for LA but not worth it...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Pagoda Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Pagoda Motel
Ranked #154 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
“Really cheap for LA but not worth it...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Really cheap for LA but not worth it. Motel is located on the far adge of China town (takes an hour to get to the city center). There is only one person on staff at a time and they speak very poor English. Rooms were renovated (hotel is still under construction) but have not been cleaned properly since. There was hair all over the room (floors, bathroom, even in the bed). There were stains on the bed spread (clearly had not been washed) and when I requested a new set he told me I would need to get the sheets from the lobby and do it myself. Spend the extra money and don't stay here. You will regret it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    48
    25
    12
    14
See reviews for
26
28
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

This motel is a great value – at $54 for two people, the price can't be beat. Rooms were bigger than expected, and very clean. Bathroom was clean, if a little dingy (grout could use some bleach). There were lots of restaurants within walking distance. Service was okay, not super friendly but fine. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

I spent a Friday and Saturday night at this motel. Don't let the size of the motel fool you! My room was huge. The sleeping area and bathroom were clean and stocked. They even had a full size refrigerator. Amazing! I enjoyed the service and people so much I stayed there the following Friday and Saturday. Stop by!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank underonegroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, Ca.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

The Royal Pagoda is a remarkably cheap motel. I paid $45 a night (average) for a spartan room that had a television but no radio, refrigerator but no microwave, toilet paper but no kleenex. Like the blanket, the towels were thin, but clean and usable in the shower (there's no bathtub). There was enough light if I opened up the surprisingly large closet and turned on the light in there. The place has well-functioning wireless Internet.

Some noise trickled in from beyond the wall of the bathroom, but I closed the bathroom door and pretty much screened that out. One night the folks in the neighboring room got rowdy and seemed to have a bunch of visitors around midnight, but I don't suppose that is the mote's fault.

The place is clean, and cleaned (I saw them doing it) and even has a kind of nice wooden floor.

It's located at pretty much the northern end of commercial Chinatown, a good mile north of the main part of Downtown LA. There is a lot of transit that serves the area--DASH local (and circuitous!) buses, regular Metro buses, and the Gold Line light rail to Union Station, Little Tokyo, and Pasadena a few blocks away. If you're driving the good news is that the place is a block from a freeway ramp, the bad news is that it's onto the perpetually congested 110 Pasadena freeway. Chinatown is not the center of LA's Chinese restaurant life (that's in the San Gabriel Valley) but there are certainly plenty of places to eat, though I didn't wind up eating any meals there.

In general, I'd rather spend a bit more and stay in a more convenient location (like Little
Tokyo). But if you really want to save money on your hotel, this is an acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eve415
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

I don't know what "kelfunk" from New York was talking about. There definetly were no bed bugs when I stood there. I'm usually very iffy about the bedding as well. I mean I've unfortunetly stood in pretty sleazy, smelly. smells-like- someone-just-had-sex-right- before- you-stepped-into-the-room, type or rooms, and this was nothing like that. It was neat, clean, had nice hard-wood flooring. Rug is dirtier. And there wasn't no gross out porn to greet you when you turned on the t.v.. Its wasn't no Ritz, but it was decent as far as motels go. The price was a bit high but ok if your going halfs on a room with someone. Plus its in Chinatown so theres lots to see and explore. I'm a local but I would definetly stay again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

What a horrible experience. Yes, there is free parking and wireless. But the hotel room is DIRTY. There were bed bugs in our bed, hair in the bathroom, and a dirty floor. Area is safe, so if you don't mind having bugs crawl on u in bed, yes, I would recommend u stay there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

I was really surprised at how nice this motel was considerring how cheap it was compared to many others in LA. The rooms were really nice, clean and quiet. Good size, with cable tv, fridge and walk in wardrobe. The location was good so long as you don't go wondering the streets at night, China Town is pretty dead after dark. The metro station is really close so its got good links to Hollywood, Pasadena etc. Downtown go metro bus stops right outside. All in all I had a great stay, and would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPGGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Metro Plaza Hotel
#137 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#54 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pagoda Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pagoda Motel

Property: Royal Pagoda Motel
Address: 995 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012-1728
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Royal Pagoda Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pagoda Hotel Los Angeles
Royal Pagoda Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing