We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my sweet lord I am so full”
Review of Baby Blues BBQ

Baby Blues BBQ
Ranked #61 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Venice
West Hollywood, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Oh my sweet lord I am so full”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

You get a ton of food here, and it's all extremely heavy and satiating. They do what they do very well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    101
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First time in a BBQ”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The food was very good. Exactly what I was expecting. The staff was nice. The decoration is very original.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome ribs!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Decided to stop by Baby Blues BBQ while I was out in LA for a wedding. Like others, we saw the place on Triple D, and the food more then exceeded our expectations. Even with the line outside the door, the wait was only around 20 minutes. The staff was great, they answered all of our questions and we never had to ask for refills as they were on it before we even had a chance to ask. Food was excellent, by far the best BBQ I've had, both the Memphis style and baby backs were super tender and it took no effort to eat as once you took a bit the meat just seemed to fall of the bone. We also tried the banana pudding and it was great with an airy texture and was a great way to end the meal. I would suggest if you are around LA to stop by and get some ribs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Last Rib”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My first introduction to Baby Blues was at the Santa Monica BBQ festival and they were hands down the crowd favorite. I just had to visit the restaurant!! My wife and I were very fortunate to have a stool at the counter where we could watch the line in action. There is not a single thing on their menu that I can not joyfully recommend. The meats are done low & slow and finished on the grill and are amazingly delicious. The mac & cheese is so good that people will order a second portion to take with them. The pulled pork may be the weakest offering, but I have managed to enjoy it immensely. Just needs a hit of the seasoned cider vinegar that is on the counter along with a couple of sauces if you need one. The sweet tea is sweet, the beer offerings are correct. The atmosphere is minimal BBQ-Shack-esque. Sometimes Baby Blues can appear to be more crowded than it is because they do a huge take away business. Then again they can also be very busy and you may have to wait. Being profiled on DDD didn't hurt that's for sure, but it comes down to the food and the people and it all speaks for itself very well. I think it's well worth it. Oh ... The Last Rib. The first time I visited Baby Blues I was down to the last rib when the mamager came over to see how things were. I told her that everything was great until I got to the last rib. She was very concerned and asked what was wrong? I told her, "It was the last rib." (I wanted more.)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDaveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great baby backs! Fabulous beef rib.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've eaten ribs all over and Baby Blues baby backs are as good as I've eaten. Their beef rib... and note its rib and not ribs, is like a thick steak on a bone. I use fork and knife, but the beef is tender and delicious. I've not had a bad meal and I eat here regularly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steamplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baby Blues BBQ also viewed

South Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Baby Blues BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing