We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff needs work”
Review of O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O Hotel
Ranked #141 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Bishop, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff needs work”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Rooms are very small and all face a brick wall. Called over a month ago to reserve two double beds and was proved a a queen and a roll away. The roll away was awful and barley fit in the room. The staff provided little help other than to charge an additional $14 service fee. Hotel was clean, great bar, good location. Follow up with your reservation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    152
    144
    50
    20
See reviews for
43
136
53
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Glad I gave it a try, but I will never stay here again and would not recommend this Hotel to anyone.
The location is very close to the Staples Center which was great since that was my destination for the night.
Unfortunately, this Hotel was very disappointing. The cost was equal or higher than other downtown LA Hotels which are MUCH nicer.
The lobby is very dark in a way that seems to be hiding something. The "view" room was very small and very stark but not in a cool modern way. The starkness was more like a concrete cell.
The furnishings were minimal and seemed that they were refinished but already looking old.
The bathroom was tiny and only had an ill fitting sliding door, doing nothing for privacy.
The next day we woke up, wishing we could relax and sleep in a bit, but it was not possible. I didn't even want to use the shower. We not get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missadventuresb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Upriver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Well, let's see. Went to go see a Kings game recently and my companion booked this in an effort to try something new - usually we'll stay at the standard if we want to stay downtown. I will say the photos looked good - but on arrival things began to quickly fall apart. First off, there is a mysterious, mandatory $14 'service fee' on top of all other charges. What for? They say it's for wi-fi, gym fee, etc - guess what, I didn't want any of that. It's simply a way to bump up the rate over what you've agreed to. OK, it's only $14, but I don't like the principal. What are you supposed to do once you get there?

Then up to the room itself. The building in general needs upkeep, feels dirty, cramped, dated. Open the door, and you've got a gray box, florescent lit box, with a bed, a nasty cramped bathroom, and 2 bottles of water. It really feels like an empty room someone put a bed in. Hard to explain. No feel, no vibe, no minibar. Bathroom is very small and dirty feeling. Mildew.

I could go on, but isn't that enough?

The location is good for access to Staples, etc, but there are much better, cheaper options. C'mon, this is LA people!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I needed to be in LA for an art show and this was a perfect spot for me as a single woman.
Best is when I was so hungry, I got to eat right there with lovely food to nourish myself. I will stay there again!

Room Tip: I had no view and it didn't matter…I wasn't there for that. As a solo I didn't need much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I was staying in this hotel for three days for a fun trip with my friend. My friend had the reservation but didn't have her card, so I put the room under my credit card. The next day, my friend put her credit card under the room to fix the issue. At the end of our stay, my friend checkout under her name to double check that they charge the correct credit card. Within two business days my card was charged $730.00. My friend call the O Hotel to fix the issue again. Two business days later they charge my account $589.69. I finally called them to resolve the issue and discovered they charge both my friend and myself $589.69 each. Grand total of $1,179.38. Seriously??!! The front desk didn't know what was going on. The communication at the hotel is horrible. I would never stay in that hotel ever again. The best thing about the hotel is the TV. The bed was not comfortable and the showers had mildew. They serviced our room once and we had to ask for towels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013


I stayed the first time based on location and price

I would stay again based on service

PROS

1. Service

All the staff and seemed genuinely happy to be working there. Knowledgeable and helpful, especially Chris the concierge

2. Location

Perfect access to everything I needed



CONS

1. Unexpected "resort fee"

I was quite happy to pay $14 a day for Wi-Fi and Golds Gym access

Still, if I had been on a tighter budget, I might've been annoyed when told after check about this extra fee


2. Noise

Ironically, because of the new bar in the basement, the street facing rooms are probably quieter

Every night, I was awoken around 3 AM when the downstairs bar is closed

I think they could offer further discounts on alley side rooms, or at least warn folks

Better yet, give us a free drink coupon so we can join the fun for a nightcap :)



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is my second time staying in LA and I wasn’t keen to stay in downtown again. The O hotel surprised me and showed me that downtown isn’t as scary as people think. We arrived early and we were able to get into our room straight away. We read previous reviews which said the rooms were small but there is plenty of room! The showers are small and they go get water everywhere but that isn’t really an issue. They give you really nice bath products, not your standard soaps.

The hotel itself is actually beautiful and the restaurant is fantastic. The food each morning is perfect if you just want to get some energy before your big day starts. There are a lot of different food options around from the IHOP across the road to stunning roof top restaurants.

We were close to buses and trains and were able to get wherever we needed to go. We got a cab to LAX and it was about $60.

This is a beautiful hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller-Jes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,167 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#70 of 351 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#91 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,226 reviews
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#78 of 351 in Los Angeles
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Property: O Hotel
Address: 819 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4607 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing