We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utilitarian clean room, friendly staff”
Review of O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O Hotel
Ranked #155 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a very comfortable stay here. Our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. On the down side not many rooms have views but despite the wall of the parking station next door being just metres from our window the room felt light and airy. Great value given the location, and that same parking station was extremely convenient.

Room Tip: Avoid 509 if you want to open a window - noisy aircon duct outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mature_traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here two weeks ago so we could walk to the LA Beer Fest and be close to the Shrine Auditorium. The hotel was super clean and modern. Parking is next door in a parking structure for about $16 (I think the hotel website tells you it's $11). They had a cool restaurant downstairs, free wifi, and the room was a pretty good size. The location was great for what we were doing and it was pretty quiet at night. The only downside was that the room was pretty dark. There were a lot of lights, but they were in weird places so the room didn't get that bright, but I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay in LA.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacKennaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was at the O for a week for work. We were given several hotel options with discounted rates. I selected the O because it looked like a fantastic, chic, boutique hotel in downtown LA. While the staff was nice and the location convenient, the room was below an acceptable standard. Everyone else I know who chose the O also complained about it not being up to be up to their expectations.

CONS:
The furniture was scuffed and carpet seemed moldy - all of which I probably could have dealt with if the bathroom had not been so awful. The shower door didn't shut properly and the water (shower, sink, toilet) had a terrible sulfur smell. The room literally filled with a horrible smell every time water was run.

PROS:
Again, nice staff, good location.
Convenient parking lot next door.
Free continental breakfast in the lobby was a nice touch.
The restaurant is FANTASTIC! I had a wonderful dinner there.

Overall, I got the impression this was a very run down property that was taken over by O. Hopefully, they are still in the process of improving it and it will become a property worth trying again down the line.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 Lakers games. Boutique hotel. Super friendly and helpful desk clerks. 1 block from metro, 3 blocks from staples centre/LA live. Hotel small. Redone rooms. Lobby modern feel. Funny smell when you enter lobby. Nice free continental daily breakfast. Room ok size for 2 people. SMART TV. Free water bottles in room. Free phone calls in US and Canada. Fridge was not cold enough. Sink In bathroom poor drainage. Double sized shower nice, but we didn't like the removable shower head (too short and wouldn't stay pointed to correct placement). Lots of placea to eat at various price points around O hotel. Noise from night club (thump thump) until late, but I was able to fall sleep. Picked this hotel for location and price and would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank 123Tesha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Avery dary entry and registration. Others labeled it a vampire hotel. Very small rooms with no closet but a "cubbie hole" to hang my suits up. Bathroom so small that I had to turn side ways to shave and the lighting was not very good in front of the mirror. The towels were the best ever. In my opinion this location is not worth the price. Second day they cleaned the room and didn't replace towels or floor mat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F, Manager at O Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay! I have passed along your housekeeping questions to our housekeeping manager. Again thank you and have a great day!

Regards,

Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed here one night on a business trip. The rooms are small, but they are comfortable. The size is just fine for one or two people. The bathroom is also small, but how much space does one really need? I really liked the décor. I loved the bed- so soft! My room was very quiet.
The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was fairly simple but good- bagels, pastries, cereal, coffee, and juice.
The location was very convenient to other downtown attractions. However, at night it can be a little sketchy.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a King Room, which had a decent view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uclatraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I recently stayed at the O Hotel for a business trip. The hotels that were assigned for my conference were booked and my assistant booked me at the O Hotel. The hotel has a chic lobby that has a nice fireplace and sitting area. The lobby is loud as it is near a bar and lounge however my room was quiet. The room was stylishly decorated with nice light fixtures and a distinctive headboard. The room was tiny but I felt that the space was used well. However, the hotel has the small dorm-sized ironing board, which makes ironing challenging (I did not like that).

I don't think that this is a bad hotel but it's not ideal for a business trip. And, I don't think that the hotel was meant to target business travelers. I will say that the staff is extremely accommodating. I would go to the hotel again if I was visiting on leisure but not for a business trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#103 of 355 in Los Angeles
48 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,197 reviews
The Mayfair Hotel
#244 of 355 in Los Angeles
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#104 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,271 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#65 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Address: 819 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4607 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £139 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing