We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall a very good deal”
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Custom Hotel
Ranked #211 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“overall a very good deal”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

close to lax and not at all noisy. good rooms and service.

only criticism is they really need to get faster internet.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hellojamie60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    531
    325
    170
    148
See reviews for
270
454
235
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I stayed here for two nights in April of 2011, and from the get-go I was impressed by the place.

When I arrived, I wasn't initially expecting valet-only parking, but the valet was incredibly nice. I even forgot an item in my car, and he brought it around 5 minutes after he parked it with nary a grumble.

I needed to make a couple copies of some business documents, and Aritza, the girl at the front desk, was happy to help me out. The food at the lobby restaurant/bar was delicious (fish tacos and Rogue ale), and the room was snazzy (to sound quaint about it).

Very recommended.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elecid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

To whom it may concern,
My boyfriend and I stayed in late March at the Custom hotel. Hotel was very clean and upscale for the daily rate. Customer service was amazing down to valet to the very helpful man at the front desk (Tomas). Tomas went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable, asset to the company and I will return and refer other travlers to the Custom hotel cause of him.

Thank you!!
Will return shortly.

Ashley

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abartholomay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Dear Maile, Thank you for making our stay at your hotel a special one. We appreciated your thoughtfulness and enjoyed the good snacks! Sincerely, Pete and Joy

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nesselnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

First, the positive:

The front desk clerk who checked me in was amazing. Very service oriented and helpful. And the price was right.

Now the negative:

You get what you pay for. This hotel feels like a NYC nightclub from the 1990s - black and red painted cement. Although it was quiet so it didn't sound like a nightclub.

The room was way too hot. I put the thermostat on air conditioning, lowest temperature (64 degrees F) and highest fan setting. I slept naked with no covers on and was still too hot. Open the window for air and you will get road noise.

There was a major issue with one of the hotel departments that i won't go into detail here because it will identify me immediately to the hotel staff. Suffice it to say that the employee who messed it up was an absolute idiot and looked like it. The front desk clerk I mentioned above was amazing and very helpful to resolving the issue (which is still in discussion).

The bed sheets smelled like donut frying oil (but they looked clean).

The toiletries, especially the soap, were harsh on skin and hair.

The hallways were dark and depressing.

It tries to be a boutique hotel, but fails on every count (except the great front desk clerk)

I understand the hotel is due to be renovated, but I would have suggested to renovate it first and then open it, not vice versa.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertRyanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMinnes, Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Thank you for your review, your feedback is a valuable tool in helping improve our product and service. It's great to hear that you had a good experience with our Front Desk Host and that you felt our price was fair.

Custom Hotel is a new property in the Joie de Vivre family and are working around the clock to assure the hotel’s quality is in line with the standards of what our guest expect from Joie de Vivre. In fact the temporary cooling issue you experienced, has already been addressed and is working perfectly again. We are currently spending more than $4 million to bring the hotel up to our high standards.

The dark hallways have always been a reoccurring theme for guest staying here. We recognize that this was a unique design choice by the previous owners. We have already brightened the hallways on the majority of our floors by adding vibrant splashes of color and lightening the paint.

I am surprised to hear about the soap and shampoos. These are custom Lather products, a company known for using all natural ingredients and biodegradable containers.

We hope that you will come out and see us again in mid-summer to see all of the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

When I walked into the hotel I could automatically tell that it was not up to standard. After we checked and went upstairs, we proceeded to open to door and a terrible odor slpaped us in the face. The bed was on the floor, sand in the iron and flat white paint to cover all of the rooms flaws. You could tell they were aiming for a contemporary chic image but completeley failed!!! I told my husband I could not stay in that dump. We went downstairs and they offered us a better room. The clerk, who was atleast nice stated "this is not your avearage cookie cutter hotel." She did not lie! The better room was the exat same with a mini-fridge! I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone or allow my dog to sleep on its dog decorated blankets! We immediately left and went to a COOKIE CUTTER Hotel! On vacation, I want to cut cookies and eat them too!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveingDuoJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMinnes, Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
I want to start by apologizing that the experience at Custom Hotel was not what you expected. As you may know, Custom Hotel was recently purchased by Joie de Vivre. Since then, several minion dollars have been committed to the property to refresh and update the product including the issues you mentioned. I was glad to hear that our team was able to help you.

I wanted to clarify one statement, which was that our beds are on the floor. Our beds are about 8 inches lower to the carpet than a traditional bed but still have a very nice bamboo/solid wood frame and headboard. The lower mattress height is typical with modern styling.

I hope that you have a chance to visit us this summer when our work is complete and you can see all of the changes first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed at the Custom Hotel while en transit through the LAX. It's an OK hotel for a short stay. Our room was clean and comfortable albeit small. The hotel has a free shuttle to/from LAX and runs every 30-min. A cab from LAX to the hotel would cost around $20. Many fast food options around the hotel but not open late.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Constantine-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#81 of 351 in Los Angeles
4,601 reviews
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#67 of 351 in Los Angeles
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Westside
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Property: Custom Hotel
Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3503
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing