We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Custom Hotel
Ranked #208 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Good shuttle service from the airport to the hotel, they were very quick and detailed as to where the shuttle will pick us up from LAX. Custom Hotel is a great location, you could see the airport from the room but you don’t hear the planes in the hotel. Very trendy and more eco-conscious, as the hotel provides soap/shampoo etc. with natural ingredients (not the cheap chemical ones that most hotels provide). The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool and the bar by the pool looked really trendy as well. I would definitely stay there again and try out the other Joie de Vivre hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelismypassion504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Hello, Travelismypassion504:

On behalf of the staff and management at Custom Hotel, we truly appreciate your outstanding review of your recent visit to Custom Hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering memorable experiences and it sounds like we certainly delivered!

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the service, accommodations and our high quality LATHER bath products. We're also glad you observed just how Eco-Friendly Custom Hotel is!

We're confident you'll find a wealth of unique experiences ahead with Joie de Vivre Hotels and we can't wait to welcome you back when you return to the Los Angeles area!

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    524
    314
    162
    144
See reviews for
263
442
233
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel was clean but the building is older. They use the inexpensive indoor / outdoor carpet in the rooms and and hallways and as such the hallway noise is loud in the rooms. The TVs are nice and they have this interesting lighting system in the room with color combinations. The beds are adequate but the pillows are low quality. Think IKEA decor with no coffee tables for eating in the suites. Everything is ala carte. No coffee makers in the room, breakfast is extra. A cup of regular coffee in the lobby is $3.00! They offer water bottles in the room for $3.00 each and they need a bottle opener, unfortunately there was no bottle opener in the room! All parking was valet, no self park. The price was right but there are better options when you add it all up.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justflewin21268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Hello, Justflewin21268:

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent Custom Hotel experience here on TripAdvisor! Overall, it appears that you had an enjoyable visit. Our objective with Custom is to provide a clean, comfortable room within close proximity to restaurants, attractions, beaches and the airport at a reasonable cost. To keep the cost to our guests low, we to offer many options to upgrade one's stay a la carte (as you put it), rather than building those costs into high room rates that nobody wants to pay. Many of our guests appreciate the simplistic approach and the resulting savings.

I will be certain to address the issue with the pillows and lack of a bottle opener in your room with our Executive Housekeeper.

We are looking to make many large improvements to the property in 2012 and we're confident you'll like the outcome!

And while Valet Parking is the only option available through the hotel, there is a substational amount of street parking in the area surrounding the hotel for our guests to use. Keep in mind, however, that the hotel cannot be responsible for any vehicle parked in this manner.

In closing, thanks for your honest and positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom the next time your business or leisure plans return you to the LAX area.

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no where
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed at Custom Hotel for 1 night before my evening flight the next day.
Location is very close by airport & car hire places, big super market next door, shops & a few restaurants within walking distant, Marina del Rey is close by also.
Valet parking is $24 per night, there are other parkings around but we are never too sure if you are allowed to park overnight...so valet parking is safer option plus the valet service is pretty good. They also have free shuttle service to airport which is fab, the drivers are really friendly.

Check was fine, easy enough, we requested for late check out which we were told it was extra 50$ & it will be til 5pm, but when we decided to take up the offer the next day, it went up by 10$ & 1 hr less, so if you want to late check out double check the prices & time, its like the stock market.

Rooms are ok size with fun colourful LED lights by the window, shampoo, conditioner, body wash are available & in nice packaging, however that is where the amenities end.
WIFI was available pretty much everywhere in the hotel & its part of the package.
Beds are double, bit small, there are no wardrobes- just a rail to hang things, there is no mini fridge either. The clock in my room was wrong- was 1 hr back, luckily i didn't rely on it to catch a plane! Due to incorrect clock & check in time being 1 hr less, I lost 2hrs of precious packing time, which meant I packed everything in the large lobby downstairs, spread my stuff out all over the tables!

Hotel was dog friendly & dogs get given treats, its so cute & such a nice touch. hotel has pool & restaurant but I didn't try out any food as cheesecake factory was not too far away!

All in all, nice stay for 1 night, wouldn't stay any longer but would def return & recommend

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalalatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Hello, lalalatracy:

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent Custom Hotel experience, here on TripAdvisor! Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it allows us to improve our service and operations and make necessary changes. We're glad to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable experience!

We're glad you found the hotel to be conveniently placed near LAX and shops, restaurants and attractions. To clarify to readers, our parking is $20.00 overnight, not $24.00 as you indicated in your review. Complimentary street parking is available in the area on a first-come-first-served basis.

I apologize for the inconsistent information regarding late check-out. Our standard rates, based on availability are: Up until 1pm: Free, Until 4pm: $50.00, After 4pm: Half of that day's best available rates. We encourage guests with late flights or those who want to hit the roads after L.A.'s nightmare rush hour has concluded to utilize late check-out, if it suits their needs.

I also wanted to apologize for the incorrect time on your clock! That shouldn't ever be the case and I've forwarded your concerns to our Executive Housekeeper for his review and follow-up with his team.

We're glad that you found the hotel to be so pet friendly! We work hard to make certain our four-legged friends have an enjoyable experience, too!

In closing, thanks so much for your feedback! We're working with our design team to work on improving our guestrooms to bring them up to the high standards our guests and ownership enjoy! We do hope you'll visit us again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hotel offers cool, modern rooms, at great prices. Friendly front desk gets you in fast, pool is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCtreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Hello, NYCtreks:

Thanks for your recent flattering review of Custom Hotel here on TripAdvisor! We appreciate it when guests take the opportunity to comment on their experiences, so we can continuously improve our product, service and operations!

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your check-in experience, your guestroom and our pool area! Also, we're glad you found the hotel conveniently located and reasonably-priced.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom the next time your business or leisure plans return you to the LAX area!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This place to sum it up sucks!!!! Scammers do not give them ur credit card!!!!! Night time manager maguel should be fired and put in jail!!! Rooms are small and plain.... Bed are horrible... And the bathrooms dont even get me started!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willywill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Hello, Willywill1:

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor about your Custom Hotel experience. We can imagine how disappointed you might have been to discover a $250 deep-cleaning fee applied to your account, but our strict no-smoking policy was communicated to you verbally at check-in, in your key packet and again on your guestroom television. Additionally, smoking marijuana and noise complaints from your room negatively impacted the enjoyment of other guests in your floor, which resulted in us having to compensate them for reasons beyond our control.

Our deep-cleaning process removes a room from market for at least two days and requires extra labor and cleaning processes to ensure the next guest that occupies the room will not be inconvenienced by odor or damage.

Perhaps Custom Hotel was just not the right fit for your needs this time around. if you wish to discuss this matter further, feel free to contact me at the hotel via telephone and I'll be happy to assist you.

Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The rooms resemble dorm rooms with sparse furnishings. It looked clean - but this is one of those hotels that decorates throughout with dark paint and decor and has poor lighting. The walls are thin and we could hear conversations outside our room. Don't pay extra for "elevated rooms". There is nothing special about the view from these rooms. Also, only two of three elevators (small) seemed to be operating and were very slow - in the morning, after waiting twice for an elevator with room for us we took the stairs. If you have a lot of bags and are leaving in a hurry in the morning, plan ahead for extra time to wait for an empty elevator.

We chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and seemed to be one of the few airport hotels that did not have a bed bug report in the bed bug registry. We checked out bug bite free.
If you arrive late and plan to get a shuttle, expect to wait for at least half an hour. Your companion may wonder like mine did, why we didn't book the Raddisson, Hyatt or any of the other major hotels since we saw at least four cycles of shuttles from these hotels come and go as we continued to wait for the Custom shuttle. Apparently it takes them longer to get to the airport in the evening, despite being just a couple of miles away. Perhaps they were feeding me a line, in any case be warned.
This hotel is funky and located in a funky area. The nearby restaurants were mediocre. Breakfast buffet didn't look great. We passed on it and went to a nearby coffee shop. Don't stay her unless you like dorm rooms and get a rock bottom rate. You can probably get a room for $70 or less.

Room Tip: Always, but especially at an airport hotel, ask for a room away from the elevator, ice machine and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Hello, AKNoes:

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a very thorough review of your Custom Hotel experience. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas of opportunity and allows us to continuously improve the product and service we deliver.

We wholeheartedly agree with you that the Custom Hotel is unlike any hotel most of our guests have ever experienced. Custom is the first boutique lifestyle hotel near LAX and we are proud to break the mold as it applies to the "traditional airport stay". Our design and simplistic approach isn't for everyone, but many of our guests do enjoy it as highlighted on countless reviews here on TripAdvisor.

It's ironic that you used "Dorm Room Comfort" as your post's title. In fact, the building was actually once used as dorm rooms many moons ago. It has changed hands several times and has only recently joined the Joie de Vivre brand of hotels. We acknowledge it has some design flaws, but we're working hard to overcome them - especially with service.

When you indicate that the "Elevated" rooms offer no value, we disagree. These rooms (in addition to better views of LAX and ... on a clear day... out of Marina del Ray,) offer ergonomic desk chairs and workspace, a refrigerator, access to the hotel's various social lounges such as Stratosphere (with massage chairs), Transonic (with gaming) and the LAX Lounge (a business-center and networking lounge) - we feel they are a great investment and only run slightly more than our deluxe (standard) rooms.

We're glad you found the hotel to be bed-bug free. A lot of preventative measures are taken to ensure the cleanliness levels of the room are maintained to prevent any infestations.

Regarding shuttle transportation, we regret that we have encountered a lot of "red tape" in getting the long list of approvals to run regular shuttle service from LAX. At last check (at the time of this posting), we should have all necessary permits by the end of January 2012 and will be able to offer regular service in our marked vehicles to and from LAX. I was shocked to hear that you waited an hour for service. We do advise on all of our partner websites that it is necessary to call the hotel once you have luggage in-hand and are ready for transportation. We can generally be at the airport within 10 minutes, depending on congestion at the terminals.

In closing, I wanted to point out that we have a lot of exciting improvements planned for the property here in 2012! We do hope that you'll visit us again and give us an opportunity to prove to you that your December 2011 visit was the exception and not the standard.

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights post-christmas and enjoyed the time at the hotel. There was a great view from the 12th floor and we loved the modern decor and design but it may not to be everyone's taste. The toiletries were very nice and from a local company from Pasadena.

The hotel only offers valet parking at $20. There's street parking available just past the bowling alley, two minutes walk away if you want to save money.

The breakfast isn't great, it's ok for $10th but there's Bristol Farms just down the street with more choice.

Venice, Marina del Rey and Santa Monica are a short drive or bus trip away. If you want to hang out in Hollywood this might not be the hotel for you.

Eventhough this hotel is close to the airport there was no aeroplane noise.

Overall we had a great time here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Hello, Stephen J:

On behalf of all of us at Custom, thanks so much for taking time out of your day to post a review of your recent visit with us. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience!

You're right, the decor throughout the hotel is unique. However, that's what makes us so different and fun. Our objective was to "break the mold" of traditional airport hotels. The hotel's design team set out to target the mod-60's era when air travel was on the rise. Guests will enjoy subtle airline and 60's touches throughout the property. We also draw in a bit of a European feel with our platform beds, guestroom furniture and a darker color palette.

We're in the process of revamping our breakfast both in offerings and the price-point. Your feedback is extremely helpful in this endeavor. We hope you'll get a chance to try out our new offerings on a future visit.

In closing, we truly appreciate your kind words and we absolutely cannot wait to have you join us as our guest in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#63 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#82 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,390 reviews
Westside
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Property: Custom Hotel
Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3503
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing