We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice one night stay”
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Custom Hotel
Ranked #211 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice one night stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here as start of our self drive tour of western USA. It is very close to the airport and the shuttle service was good as we needed to pick up our car from airport. The room we had was large and nicely decorated, very clean. We had no problem with noise.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Good free Wifi, and computers if needed in lobby and business centre.
Valet parking at a cost, which is normal. Breakfast ok.
Staying again soon, hope we get the same room! Looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Hello, Pip182:

Thank you very much for being our recent guest and for posting such a great review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is critical to our operation, and it was great to read how much you enjoyed your visit!

We hope you have an excellent tour of the Western United States and we'll look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel at the conclusion of your trip.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    531
    321
    166
    148
See reviews for
268
453
233
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

First time staying at Custom Hotel on Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles - just north of the LAX airport was perfect! NO airplane noise at all. Hotel exactly as shown on website, and staff especially kind and thoughtful! My basic queen-size bedroom was spacious, well-appointed, comfortable and very clean and welcoming! All-you-can-eat breakfast buffet a lovely surprise for $12.00. Very fresh fruit platter, scrambled eggs, large sausage links/bacon, bread, hot oatmeal, 3 kinds of cold cereal, several choices of herb/regular teas, coffee. Even bottled water in room ($3 or $5) was especially delicous - who knew? If I'd had time, I would have tried the Club 33 restaurant! (next time!) Find a way to stay here and you'll be delighted too!!!! Carolyn W

Room Tip: if above 6th floor, exercise room and facilities to confirm reservations/print out boarding pass, et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntCarolyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Hello, AuntCarolyn4:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a flattering review of your Custom Hotel experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We're so delighted to read just how much you enjoyed every aspect of your experience!

It was great to read how much you appreciated the convenient location near LAX and that you enjoyed the benefit of double-paned glass windows to keep the noise out. We're also delighted to read that you found the property clean, comfortable, safe, an excellent value and most of all the outstanding service from our hard-working team.

We're also glad to read how much you enjoyed your experience at DECK33, our signature Bar & Restaurant! I've passed along your feedback to our Food & Beverage Manager for his review and to share with his team.

In closing, we're so glad to be your home-away-from home when visiting Los Angeles and we look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The Custom is hip, clean, feels good to be there if you are not home. The value is excellent for the price. You want more space, amenities, pay more and get the bigger rooms with more amenities. If you are budget, get a great clean room in a nice place. Feels like a European hotel, not your typical American, boring chain. Restaurant is excellent and also a cool hang-out.

Room Tip: Elevated floors have great views, coffee machine. West and south views best to airport, poolside. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank einklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Hello, einklein:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a flattering review of your visit with us here on TripAdvisor.com. We're thrilled to read how much you appreciated the value you experienced in your stay with us. While some will say that our product is "minamalistic", our approach at Custom is to offer clean, comfortable accommodations without all of the expensive "bells and whistles" that drive up room prices. This allows us to deliver a fantastic value for the LAX market.

As the only lifestyle/boutique hotel at LAX, we pride ourselves on being uniquely different than the traditional "box" hotels one may find in the area. With a wide array of quirky features, unique social lounges, funky design elements and unexpected social spaces - we're far from "traditional!"

And, while we're not in the heart of Downtown or Hollywood, we are steps away from public transportation that can get our guests to some of L.A.'s greatest beaches and tourist attractions.

We thank you so much for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Custom the next time your worldly travels return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed only one night which was enough. I thought about staying an extra night but checked out due to a tiny, tiny room with no bathtub, only a small square shower, lighting too dim to read and no coffeemaker. I've just read some other reviews and the responses from management were that coffeemakers and desks are on the upper floors at $20 more per night. That's an expensive cup of coffee. Why can't you include a coffeemaker in every room? The response I got when I called the front desk asking about the coffeemaker was that there was a vending machine on the floor. Vending machine coffee? Are you kidding me? No offer was made to send up a lamp but the morning guy said they should have offered one. They also need to vacuum closer to the walls. It was pretty obvious with the dark carpet that the edges of the carpet hadn't been vacuumed in some time.

The bathroom was clean, WIFI worked fine, shampoo, etc., were nice, and the morning checkout guy was very nice when I told him the issues. Free shuttle to LAX is a nice option although I didn't use it.

Doubt I'd stay here again which is too bad because I have a student at LMU which is very close.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mamala53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Hello, cindys1007:

Thank you so very much for your recent visit with us and for posting a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We thrive on guest feedback as it helps us to continously evaluate our product, service and operations and make changes when necessary. I truly regret that your experience feel short of your expectations.

While it appears from your review that there were several things that you enjoyed about the hotel, but please allow me to address areas of concern:

Regarding our guestrooms, you can probably agree that they're minamilistic in nature. Our guests tell us time-and-time again how much they appreciate the great value we offer. By straying away from expensive "bells-and-whistles" that inflate guestroom prices, our strategy is to create a clean, comfortable, smartly-appointed guestroom that's functional. With an average length-of-stay or only 1.2 nights here at Custom, this format works well for most of our guests. However, for guests staying with us on business, or those that appreciate more "extras", we offer our "Elevated" accommodations. In addition to being on our high floors with spectacular skyline views, these rooms also offer coffee makers, full-size ironing boards, magnifying mirrors, bathrobes & slippers (the slippers are yours to keep), an ergonomic work-chair and access to our exclusive social lounges including a business center and our massage chair lounge called "Stratosphere". So, the upgrade, which starts as little as $19/night does get you a lot more than just a cup of coffee. And, here's a hint, if you join our 'Joy of Life Club" loyalty program, based on availability, you can often get these upgrades at no charge!

We regret that you weren't happy with the size of your guestroom. Although our rooms are on the "cozy" side, we have many other layouts that feature full-length bathtubs in them. It's our pleasure to change your guestroom if you'd prefer this feature, a diferent view or - for any reason, for that matter. Just let us know and we'll be happy to do whatever we can to make your visit more enjoyable.

We truly appreciate our relationship with LMU's faculty, staff and students. I'm truly confident that your experience was the exception and not the standard. We'd love an opportunity to welcome you back to Custom Hotel on your next visit to L.A. to turn this "ow" into a "WOW" on your next visit! Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I may be of personal service in setting up your next experience with us.

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and the world and we're looking forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Alstonville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed here for one night while in a forced transit as my daughter had taken ill on a flight. I explained our situation to front office attendant named Bree as we were checking in. Bree was fantastic in her response. She quickly allocated our room and advised she would arrange for some comfort food for my daughter. Within a few minutes she was at our door with a beautifully presented bag of helpful foods for my daughter. I was so impressed by her response to our situation as it went beyond the normal call of duty and demonstrated what true customer service is all about. I also found the other staff in the hotel including the shuttle drivers to be polite, smiling and courteous.
Location to LAX was great. Room rate was great value for money.
Complimentary shuttle to and from LAX Airport a bonus.
An excellent property.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenv528911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Hello, stephenv528911:

Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Los Angeles and for posting your review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! It's so great to read just how much you enjoyed your entire experience with us!

I'm especially grateful that you enjoyed the service provided by Breanna at the Front Desk! Our team is trained to deliver personalized experiences with each-and-every guest they interact with. By doing so, we can hone in on special and unique needs of our valued guests and deliver service to exceed individual expectations. It was heartwarming to read that Breanna discovered that your daughter was feeling under-the-weather and took it upon herself to assemble a "get well" kit. Rest assured, your kind words will be shared with her and the team to demonstrate the high level of guest satisfaction that these little things create.

I hope your travels back to Australia were enjoyable. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your worldly travels return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed here for an event at LMU. We chose to upgrade to a one-bedroom suite so our family had additional room to relax. The suites are actually two hotel rooms connected with a small entry way. They are 600+ square feet and have two bathrooms. Since this is close to LAX there are a lot of interesting people from all over the world hanging out in the lobby. The ambiance is trendy yet not over the top. The rooms are minimalistic but have all of the essential things one needs in a hotel room. There are various lounges scattered throughout the hotel that each have a unique feel. The hotel is next door to a grocery store and down the street from restaurants. It is very easy for a family to have dinner out or in depending on preference. Our only complaint was with the noise from Deck 33, the on-site restaurant. It had been rented for a private party and was very loud. We discussed our complaint with the management and they were outstanding in getting it resolved.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjogg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Hello, mjogg11:

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! It was great to read how much, overall, you enjoyed your experience with us. Custom Hotel is districtly different than the traditional airport hotel and we're proud to be the only "lifestyle/boutique" hotel at LAX!

It was nice to read how much you appreciated our suite accommodations. Featuring over 600 square feet of functional space including two full bathrooms, a sitting area, two 37" flat-screen HDTV's and lots of windows to enjoy the scenic views of Los Angeles, they are truly incredible rooms. And a hint to all future guests of Custom Hotel, upgrades to these amazing rooms can be found (based on availability) at great prices at the time you check-in Just ask our friendly Front Desk team about availability and our daily promotional rates on suite upgrades.

While I was disappointed to read that you experienced issues with noise from a private event at DECK33 Bar & Restaurant, I was delighted to read that our staff acted quickly to resolve the issue. We appreciate it when guests give us the opportunity to correct any aspect of their experience that doesn't exceed their expectations.

In closing, we thank you so much for staying with us and look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temporarily France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Staying just near the airport you wouldn't expect it to be so quiet but I didn't hear any air traffic noise. The hotel is located north of the airport and even though it is slightly away from things you are still walking distance to a couple of restaurants and two grocery stores.

The people working in all parts of the hotel are fantastic. They are all friendly and ready to help. I was very pleasantly surprised and really appreciated the warm atmosphere.

The rooms are small but the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms should be updated with new tile. Also, the hotel gym is pretty small. There is a LA Fitness just across the street if you need more than a few free weights and a treadmill.

I did try the restaurant one night and the food was pretty tasty. They do offer a happy hour with discounted drinks and appretizers. I never did get to try the breakfast but there was always lots of people down there during breakfast time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expatontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Hello, Expatontheloose:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a flattering review of your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com! We're glad to read that you overall enjoyed your experience with us and that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and staffed with friendly employees!

We're investing heavily in the property to bring it to the levels our guests have come to expect and enjoy! We have a lot of great improvements in store for the property throughout 2013 including new mattresses, raising the beds in our guestrooms to traditional heights and working with our design team to improve the look and feel of the property based on feedback from valued guests like yourself!

We invite you to return to Custom Hotel and experience all of the great changes! We thank you so much for your loyalty and look forward to being your home-away-from-home when traveling to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#71 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#83 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,536 reviews
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#54 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Property: Custom Hotel
Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3503
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing