We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Custom Hotel
Ranked #201 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed here overnight when I had a connecting flight the following day. I was delighted with how civilised the courtesy bus service was compared to the free shuttle for other local hotels. I just made a call and told them my terminal and they were there in no time at all.
The building is older but need renovated. The bathroom was clean and tidy, no mold or anything like that. There was a big screen TV mounted on the wall and nice size working area for a laptop.
I went to the bar for their happy hour and have two appertisers for $5 each which was plenty for dinner and it was YUMMY.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Hello, Lauren K:

On behalf of the staff and management team at Custom Hotel, thank you very much for posting a review of your recent experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com. We're delighted to read just how much you enjoyed your experience!

We're so excited to read that you found that property to be clean, comfortable, modern and staffed by friendly personnel. We work hard each and every day to deliver a unique and comfortable lodging experience for our guests. We appreciate your kind words.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    527
    320
    162
    145
See reviews for
265
449
233
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Great place to stay or spend the day. awesome pool, great neighbourhood and Ryan and Jasmine really helped a tired New Zealand family in transit. Definitely will be back.
The Beach Pizza restaurant around the corner is also fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Hello, Cassandra F:

On behalf of all of us at Custom Hotel, thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a flattering review of your visit here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is extremely important to us, and it's great to read when our guests are truly delighted by their experience.

Thank you so much for taking the time to point out the great service you received from Jasmine and Ryan at the Front Desk! It's heartwarming to read when members of our staff go above-and-beyond to deliver memorable guest experiences. Rest assured, your kind words did not go unnoticed and I'll be certain to share your compliments with them.

We're also glad you found the hotel to be conveniently located. In addition to being just minutes from LAX (with all of the convenience and none of the noise), Custom Hotel is steps away from a park, golf course, driving range, bowling alley, a dozen (or more) great restaurants, shops and public transportation to some of L.A.'s best beaches - Santa Monica, Venice and Manhattan Beach. Unlike other LAX hotels, guests of Custom Hotel can feel safe to walk around and explore the area. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the local pizza joint, Beach Pizza!

In closing, thank you so much for being our guest and we do hope you'll make us your home-away-from-home should your travels return you to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I was very greatly surprised by this hotel. From the outside, I have to admit that it was not very appealing (especially at night - we checked-in at 10pm and there is a convenience store by the hotel ... so did not look that "classy" at all").

Nonetheless, I only have positive things to say about the hotel:

- great staff: everyone was very polite and super friendly. Our gps decided to stop working, so we had to print some maps and the staff generously offered to print them - without having us asking them.

- room: more than decent. I was very skeptical about the rooms, as some people uploaded "positive pictures". The only thing that I bothered me (well I wasn't that bothered, but let's say that lift my eyebrows) was the bed: we ended up having 2 queens instead of 1 king. One might also mentions that it's a bit noisy (due to busy road), but I guess if you had a long day of walking, you did not care about it (which was our case). Nothing to say about the bathroom: it did not seem old at all, very clean and tidy.

- breakfast: it was a buffet of scrambled eggs, bacon, crepes with jams and fruits salad (and of course beverages included coffee, tea and even orange juice). Nothing exceptional, but you cannot ask for more for $12/pp. The breakfast "room" was close to the entrance, well ... it is by the hotel entrance .... so a bit chilly in the morning as people keep on going back and forth through those doors. Just don't forget to bring a sweater.

- valet: we used the valet to keep our car safe within the night. Again, nothing to add on this note. Courteous and great service - we were a bit hesitating about leaving the rental car with a valet, but everything went well.

To sum up, we only have great things to say about this hotel - for those looking at a hotel close to downtown, the Custom Hotel might not be the best option, but if you do have a car it will take you at most 20mn to get downtown (that is, if you leave the hotel by 8:30am).

Thumbs up again for the Custom Hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Hello, princessvania:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a thourough and flattering review of your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com! We're so delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Custom Hotel, by design, set out to be something truly different in the LAX market. Being the first and only lifestyle/boutique hotel at LAX, we offer a unique experience that you just won't find at a traditional "chain" hotel. With a different look and feel - highlighting the mod-60's, and subtle hints of "airline" throughout the building, a slightly darker color pallate, and quirky social spaces throughout the hotel - we're anything but ordinary. We're delighted to read that your hesitations were quickly put to rest upon your arrival at the property.

We're so delighted to read that you enjoyed the service you received from our hard-working staff. It's heartwarming to read when members of our staff go above-and-beyond to deliver outstanding guest service! Rest assured, your feedback will be shared with the team.

Additionally, we're glad that you enjoyed your guestroom, valet services and our breakfast offerings.

In closing, thank you so much for being our valued guest! We thrive on guest feedback as we endevaor to deliver the best possible guest experience to each and every traveler. We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your travels return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

I was really suprissed how lovely this place was. I kinda expected this place more simplier. But starting with a free transportation to/from the airport, welcoming staff and finishing with lovely clean room - you just can't want more than that :)

I highly recommended this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: I haven't try SPA myself, so I can't say that much about that. I lived in the 7th floor, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kotvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Hello, Kotvas:

Thank you so very much for your recent visit and for posting such a flattering review of your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com! We're so excited to read just how much you enjoyed your experience with us! While we're delighted that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, safe, conveniently located and that you had a comfortable night's sleep, we're most excited by your kind words about the service you received from our transportation and hotel staff during your stay!

Rest assured, your kind words did not go unnoticed and it will be my pleasure to share your comments with the hard-working staff here at Custom Hotel!

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with the world. We do look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure travels return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Custom many times and have loved it except for the last two times. it is trendy and has lots of international guests which makes for fun conversation. The staff are always friendly and receptive. But the last couple of times the lack of upkeep and maintenance was very apparent. The bathroom was not cleaned well, the door frames were chipped and pealing and the decor in the room has lost its "luster". We notice this the visit before but thought we would give it one more chance and stayed there last week. But it was not any better. So we will look elsewhere on our next visit.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank frabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Hello, frabow:

Thank you so much for your recent visit and for posting your honest review of your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com. Guest feedback is truly important to our operation as it helps us to concentrate our efforts on areas that most impact guest experiences. Your feedback, and that of other valued travelers such as yourself have not gone unnoticed. I apologize that your experience with the maintenance of the property has fallen short of your expectations.

While we continue to invest heavily into the hotel in the form of preventative maintenance and capital improvements, we concur that there is much work to be done. We hear you loud and clear and we're making arrangements to kick-off an intensive preventative maintenance program to restore the property to the quality level that our valued guests have come to expect and enjoy with Joie de Vivre Hospitality. In the next few weeks, we'll be installing new mattresses in all guestrooms. In the weeks and months to follow, we'll continue with additional improvements including carpeting and changing the heights of beds in our "Elevated" accommodations to traditional heights. But, that's just the beginning as our Engineering and Maintenance team gets into each and every guestroom to detail them and restore their luster.

I'm confident that you'll enjoy the improvements that are on the horizon! Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I may assist you further or make your future stays more enjoyable! We'd love to have you back as our guest to restore your faith in Custom Hotel and turn this "ow" into a "WOW" on your next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here as start of our self drive tour of western USA. It is very close to the airport and the shuttle service was good as we needed to pick up our car from airport. The room we had was large and nicely decorated, very clean. We had no problem with noise.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Good free Wifi, and computers if needed in lobby and business centre.
Valet parking at a cost, which is normal. Breakfast ok.
Staying again soon, hope we get the same room! Looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Hello, Pip182:

Thank you very much for being our recent guest and for posting such a great review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is critical to our operation, and it was great to read how much you enjoyed your visit!

We hope you have an excellent tour of the Western United States and we'll look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel at the conclusion of your trip.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

First time staying at Custom Hotel on Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles - just north of the LAX airport was perfect! NO airplane noise at all. Hotel exactly as shown on website, and staff especially kind and thoughtful! My basic queen-size bedroom was spacious, well-appointed, comfortable and very clean and welcoming! All-you-can-eat breakfast buffet a lovely surprise for $12.00. Very fresh fruit platter, scrambled eggs, large sausage links/bacon, bread, hot oatmeal, 3 kinds of cold cereal, several choices of herb/regular teas, coffee. Even bottled water in room ($3 or $5) was especially delicous - who knew? If I'd had time, I would have tried the Club 33 restaurant! (next time!) Find a way to stay here and you'll be delighted too!!!! Carolyn W

Room Tip: if above 6th floor, exercise room and facilities to confirm reservations/print out boarding pass, et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntCarolyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Hello, AuntCarolyn4:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a flattering review of your Custom Hotel experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We're so delighted to read just how much you enjoyed every aspect of your experience!

It was great to read how much you appreciated the convenient location near LAX and that you enjoyed the benefit of double-paned glass windows to keep the noise out. We're also delighted to read that you found the property clean, comfortable, safe, an excellent value and most of all the outstanding service from our hard-working team.

We're also glad to read how much you enjoyed your experience at DECK33, our signature Bar & Restaurant! I've passed along your feedback to our Food & Beverage Manager for his review and to share with his team.

In closing, we're so glad to be your home-away-from home when visiting Los Angeles and we look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#72 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#81 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,463 reviews
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#59 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Property: Custom Hotel
Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3503
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing