We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what is needed for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Custom Hotel
Ranked #198 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinoi
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just what is needed for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is neither luxurious nor seedy, but somewhere in between. I was alone, so opted for a small room with one queen bed, which was the cheapest. More U.S. hotels should have this option. I needed proximity to the airport and restaurants plus a free shuttle. The hotel met all of these requirements. Naturally I assumed that it would be clean, which it was. It was too cold for the outside restaurant at the hotel, but the little Italian restaurant across the street was cheaper and was excellent enough that I was moved to write a TA review! I would stay here again under the same circumstances, namely an overnight between flights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi Sharonov,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor! Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it helps us to evaluate our product, service and operations. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience with us and that Custom Hotel met all of your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    527
    320
    162
    145
See reviews for
265
449
233
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My son had his 30th birthday party at the Custom Hotel on January 25th and we (his parents)stayed overnight. Oliesha took really good care of us. She started out being extremely friendly and every time she saw us around the hotel, she asked if there was anything we needed. We felt very special. Because of her treatment, we will definitely stay at the hotel again, and I have told others about our wonderful experience. Thanks again Oliesha !!

Cheryl and Will Spencer

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent A, Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello Cheryl and Will,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it helps us to evaluate our product, service and operations. It was great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience with us and that Oliesha was able to elevate that experience such that you took the time to write such kind words about her.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Could not have found a better place for our overnight stay before embarking on our trip. Comfy room (enjoy the light show), great restaurant, and excellent service. The shuttle in the Mercedes van to and from LAX made us feel like VIP's.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent A, Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Aquadama,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it helps us to evaluate our product, service and operations. It was great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience with us. It was great reading that you were made to feel like VIPs throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyabram, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Close to airport with complimentary pick up, clean and well appointed rooms with easy proximity to downtown LA, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills. Great value for money - thanks to Eddie at front of house who had great local knowledge - would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenattard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent A, Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Jenattard,

Thank you for selecting Custom and for taking the time to post a review on your experience. We truly appreciate when our valued guests take the time to comment on their experiences. Guest feedback is critical to our operation and we endeavor to improve our service and operations.

As you mentioned in your review we are close to LAX, 2.7mi to be exact, and the only lifestyle boutique property in the area. I am glad you found great value for your money and that Eddie was able to assist you with knowledge of the area. Please do come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
232 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My one night stay at the Custom Hotel was great. It is a fun, hip little hotel, away from the nonsense of LAX, but close enough to be considered an airport hotel. The lobby is fun and friendly, and the checkin staff was great. My room was large and comfortable, and on the 10th floor, had a great view towards downtown LA and the Hollywood Hills. Everything was very good. I did find the valet parking to be a bit pricey ($22 per night), but there is free street parking nearby that I should have taken. I will certainly check out Custom Hotel for my next LAX visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTheTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent A, Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello PaulTheTravelGuy ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Custom on TripAdvisor. We thrive on guest feedback as it helps us to continuously evaluate our product, service and operations and make changes when necessary. I was happy to read that all around your stay with us was a good experience and you consider us an excellent choice for a LAX hotel.

As you noted in your review the hotel currently only offers valet parking which is $22 per night in a secured lot with unlimited ins and outs. Our price point is extremely competitive as other LAX properties charge upwards to $40 due to the limited space in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is conveniently close to LAX and is a good, no frills place to rest between flights. It did not fare well on first impressions as the style is modern-industrial, utilitarian rather than luxurious. The halls on our floor were dark grey. ugh. But the room was clean and we slept well despite some street noise. The bathroom was very small but adequate, and all the furniture very low for older people. Not much choice of restaurants in the neighbourhood for lunch and the hotel's restaurant was not open. Breakfast in the lobby for about $12.00 was good.

Room Tip: I would ask for a higher room or one off the street side to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An0ther0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent A, Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello An0ther0pini0n,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We're glad to read that your experience at Custom Hotel met your expectations. As you mentioned in your review we are a 3.5 star, no frills, type of property which allows us to keep our rates at a competitive price. I was please to read that you found your room to be clean and that you slept comfortably despite some of your initial concerns.

I apologize that you did not get a chance to dine at our restaurant, Deck 33, currently it is not open for lunch. I was a bit surprised that you stated that there were not many restaurants around for lunch as we within a 2 block walking radius there are at least a dozen eating locations including Japanese, Mexican, Italian, Thai, Asian American fusion, as well as several fast food stops.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Custom Hotel the next time your travels return you to Los Angeles, California.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel in December and have nothing but praise for it! The staff were great, very friendly and extremely helpful. They price-matched a price I'd found on Booking.com without any problem at all, whilst I waited. I'm a plane-geek so wanted a good view of LAX. This is the only hotel I've found in the area that has a panoramic view of the whole of LAX.. no questions! It wins hands down.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of LAX - the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tags4crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent A, Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hello tags4crew,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate when our valued guests take the time to comment on their experiences. Guest feedback is critical to our operation and we endeavor to improve our service and operations. It was great reading that you have nothing but praise for our property and staff. As you mentioned in your review we are the only hotel in the LAX area that has a panoramic view of the airport.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Custom Hotel the next time your travels return you to Los Angeles, California.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#71 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#81 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#60 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Property: Custom Hotel
Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3503
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing