We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel @ LAX”
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Custom Hotel
Ranked #221 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel @ LAX”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Breaking away from the typical Century Boulevard strip of LAX hotels Custom Hotel is a boutique hotel (smaller than standard room size) with a smartly designed space (not a postage stamp with no room to move either) just north of LAX. Excellent noise suppression from outside as traffic and aircraft noise was nonexistent. With free airport transportation and an easy walk or quick bus ride to the beach at Playa del Rey, this hotel location is perfect for this part of Los Angeles and makes having having to rent a car unnecessary. Certain details show through from the hotels age is you look at it with a magnifying glass, but the most recent renovation did a pretty good at covering those up. All in all a hip type vibe without the hipster attitude; this hotel is fantastic.

Room Tip: High room on the south side gives an excellent view back to LAX.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    534
    333
    173
    152
See reviews for
272
458
235
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

...don't want to compromise on style, Custom Hotel is your place. This is my second time at Custom Hotel and it never disappoints if you know what to expect. We usually stay one night at Custom Hotel when we arrive late at night in LA, as it is by the LAX airport. The rooms are functional, basically with what you need for a short stay and it is clean. Staff on check-in desk is mostly nice and efficient. So if you are looking for a nice, cheap, clean place to crash right after you arrive in LAX, this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Excellent comments, I will certainly share your Review with my Team....especially the Front Desk Team. We strive each & every day for excellence & it sounds like we hit the "mark" this trip for you.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit the LAX area.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Last spring my husband and I were visiting family in LA and we had a really early flight so decided to spend our last night in a hotel. What a delight this hotel was! It is a quirky, one-of-a-kind place that feels very European. The rooms are sparse but very comfortable and we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. Although we were only there for one night, it felt like its own mini vacation! Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexTravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do have a very unique Boutique Hotel nestled between Lax, Marina Del Rey & Playa Del Rey.....not to mention some of the greatest Beaches in So Cal.

Please come back soon, we would love to host you once again.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Modern hotel. We had a room with 2 beds and although they were comfy, they were on the small size - a UK double bed. Bathroom and shower were fine, good size TV and we had a great view across to the city.
The pool area and outside restaurant / bar is adjacent to the hotel and has great atmosphere at night. It is well lit and there are plenty of fires and heaters should the weather turn a little chilly, like it did on the night we were there. The staff are pleasant and attentive and we thought the food was great. At one point the chef came out and spoke to guests asking if food ok etc. We thought this a really nice touch and most people seemed happy with their meals.
Wifi was free and fast and we were able to print our boarding passes off for free using one of the dedicated computers in the lobby.
Would stay again if in LA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the city side, away from airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words !!!!! My Team will love to hear such positive Feedback, especially Chef Bryan. He has spent very long hours creating a very special Menu for the Deck 33 Restaurant & our Guests love it.

Safe travels & we'll see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Last fall I reviewed another Joie De Vivre property, in Silicon Valley. I wasn’t fazed by the funky décor, nor the cute-but-chintzy IKEA-like furniture that reviewers of that hotel (and this one) have mentioned. For me it was okay, funky and odd, as I say, but a fair value.

Well, my experience the night of 8/18 with this JDV property says they have a serious management problem, and until it’s fixed, I’ll never go near one of them again. They can’t possibly have their heads in the right place and have this happen.

I’ll make a long story short. I called upon landing at LAX to get the shuttle, and was told it would be 20 minutes. I called when I got to the curb to find out what to look for – silver van with name on windshield and side.

At minute 30 I called and asked where the van was. The guy said he’d call the shuttle and call me back.

At minute 38 *I* called again (he didn't). I asked if he’d located the driver, and he said "He's probably out there driving around the airport looking for you"! Yes, not only did he not call me back, he blamed the driver's disappearance on me not being there.

I said “Look, I’m cancelling my room – I’ve traveled enough years to know when a shuttle driver is lost in space.” Then the guy had the gall to say, “The last time I talked to him was five minutes ago” (that would have been while I was waiting for him to call me back!) “and he was at terminal 3.” (B.S. I was standing at the curb at Terminal 3 the whole time.)

So I punted and went to another hotel. (It was late, my connection to Australia had been cancelled, and I needed to get to bed for the morning flight.)

Later I called Custom Hotel to speak directly to a manager about this. (In other words, I skipped the menu item for the shuttle service.) A Laura was on duty at the desk, and she said the hotel won’t discuss shuttle problems – I have to talk to the shuttle company!

Yes, apparently the hotel's position is that shuttle problems are not the hotel’s business! Well. If that isn’t the depths of non-hospitality, I don’t know what is – it's also the depths of not being responsible for guest experience.

Then she said “I’ve been instructed that all shuttle problems are to be handled by the shuttle company's supervisor. Would you like to speak to him?” Right: like I want to talk to the guy I'm complaining about.

I can’t imagine why a hotel chain that’s trying to build a brand would outsource the guest’s first experience (the pickup service) and then refuse to listen to any complaints about the vendor. Is this some Godfather thing?? "Use our shuttle or you'll find your horse's head in your bed"? Who knows – all I know is, I'll never trust this company again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deBronkart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

My sincere apologies regarding your interaction with our Shuttle Service. This is not typical of the way our Shuttle operates & I will certainly speak to our Valet Manager.

Safe Travels.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Amherst
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here 3 nights while helping a family member move to a new apartment. It feels European- nice, clean, but just a bit different from American hotels. The design is funky, which we appreciated, but beds seemed small. Staff was nice. Valet parking was quick and efficient. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owner1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Your kind words are greatly appreciated. My Staff will be very pleased to hear your comments. Our Hotel is very unique & we aim to set ourselves apart from our sister Hotels in the LAX area & I think we do just that..

Please come back again soon, we'd love to host another great experience for your Family.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel looks like a renovated apartment building. The vibe is trendy and modern in the lobby and the staff was friendly and got you in and out quickly. The hallways are quite dark. The free wifi was okay but it was slow, the room itself is adequate. The beds are really close to the ground and may not work for you, it was okay for us. Don't know what the strobe thing on the window was actually for. The bathroom is lacking. There is no space for toiletries, the bathroom door does not lock and maintenance was needed. In fact, in our room the actual tub faucet was loose and separating from the wall, drainage was exceptionally slow and caulk was missing in several places. The location for us was great! The property is located next door to a Ralphs grocery store, which came in very handy and there are several reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance. May stay there again because of location and if the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the opposite side from the pool for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kzecb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about my Team, they will be thrilled to hear your Review..

I am sorry that you incurred some Maint issues during your stay. We inspect rooms daily & make sure that PM's (Preventative Maintenance) is done on all aspects of the room. I will certainly bring the items to the attention of my Chief Engineer that you discussed in this Review.

Safe Travels...

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#70 of 351 in Los Angeles
532 reviews
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#86 of 351 in Los Angeles
4,688 reviews
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#53 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Property: Custom Hotel
Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3503
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing