We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible stay, exact opposite of my first review of this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks
Ranked #53 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrible stay, exact opposite of my first review of this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We arrived the evening of the 6th and was greeted with we have the king smoking room you reserved ready for you, I told the man that is not what we reserved and he then informed me that the original room that I had reserved with a credit card had been given to another guest by mistake and this was the only room left. He was friendly and also called other area hotels, they were full as well, I had no option but stay in the smoking room. When I complained more he told me that he would give me a reduced rate ($99), the rate is not why I booked this property, the way we were treated in the past was. I told him if I had not shown up even though they sold my room, I would have still been charged the original rate, and that was the room I wanted.

From the hall, the tag on the door said it was a non-smoking room, my wife stated, maybe he made a mistake and it is a non-smoking room, as soon as I inserted the key card and opened the door it was very obvious it was a smoking room as the smell blasted into the hall. We entered into the room and started to sit down and the chair in the room but it was severely stained, looked like someone had pee'd or pooped on it. There were cigarette burns on the sink in the bathroom and overall the entire room smelled terrible. My wife and I were flying home the next day and neither of us got more than 1 - 2 hours of sleep because every time one of us would move, the stink of cigarette smoke would come from the covers moving.

The next morning when we checked out I stopped at the front desk, the lady there said she was the one that had assigned rooms each day and that she specifically remembers assigning a non-smoking room to us. She asked what could be done to fix the situation and I told her (while pointing to the Hampton guarantee) that I should not have to pay for a room I reserved and paid for in advance and then received the exact opposite of what was purchased. She told me that it was too early in the morning, the manager was not there and she would discuss it with him and if he approved, she would waive the charge. I provided my cell phone number and asked to be called when the manager was there. 3 hours later, just prior to boarding our flight I called back, spoke with the same lady and was told, the manager did approve waiving the cost, but I never received a call from the manager.

While glad I did not have to pay for that deplorable room, I am shocked that I did not hear from the management staff. I also feel it was criminal that a room that I had reserved and secured with a credit card could be sold to another guest. I am also amazed Hilton still has smoking rooms, what a disgusting place to expect people to work (housekeepers and guests) and stay, I understand providing an area for smoking, but in rooms is obsolete. It is no wonder that it was the last place available.

While in the military I was deployed multiple times, I can think of at least three locations that I would rather stay at than this property if this is the level of service and type of room they will provide. If I had to book a room tomorrow in the same part of the city, I definitely would not return here at this time, if this is how I can expect to be treated. If you do not mind possible staying in a stinking room, taking a chance your reservation will not be honored and then as another person posted, having to prove what you reserved, this might be the place for you. Overall a very disappointing ending to a very good visit to California.

Room Tip: Its like a trip to vegas, this is my third stay at this property, the first two were good, this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laterisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    212
    75
    40
    16
See reviews for
302
126
21
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

When we're in Sherman Oaks, we usually stay at the Courtyard Marriott. However, we were never pleased with the hotel and the price, so we thought we'd try the Hampton Inn. We're really glad we did! The room and bathroom were nicely sized, plus there was a lot of counter space in the mini-kitchen (fridge/microwave/bar sink) area. Best of all, this area had a large mirror with good lighting, which enabled two of us to get ready at the same time. Our room, which was at the back of the hotel, was so quiet that we accidentally left the window open all night and slept very well. We actually forgot that we left the window open. The only nit-picky negatives I can think of are that the breakfast area was small (we had to take our food back to the room) and that the hotel used scented cleaning products and room spray. We asked them not to spray the room perfume in our room, but they did anyway. At any rate, that's not enough to keep us from returning. We will just have to remind them more than once next time not to spray our room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettMX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
243 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

As Hampton Inns go, this one ranks below the median. I used to stay at the Courtyard (formerly a Radisson) over on Ventura Blvd., but they started raising their rates so I was happy when they built this Hampton Inn. I've stayed here twice now and both experiences were so-so.

Upon check-in this time, I was told I had a double with queen beds. I informed them I'd reserved a king bed. It took me digging through my luggage to produce a printed copy of the confirmation email before he finally believed that I had a king reserved. Then, it took him another 15 minutes to put me in a room... during which time, I watched him put 2 phone calls on permanent "hold" and then finally just quit answering the ringing phone. So, overall, my impression of the service level and staff competency wasn't good.

The most inconvenient thing here -- and the reason I probably won't stay here again -- is the parking lot. Clearly, it doesn't have enough spaces for a full hotel and many of the spaces it does have are narrow and inaccessible. Once you have your car in a space, you're reluctant to leave even to go get dinner for fear that you'll come back and the lot will be full. The neighborhood's sketchy, too, so the prospect of having to park somewhere nearby wasn't appealing, either.

Finally, even though this hotel isn't many years old, they're renovating the lobby area. So, they're serving breakfast in a limited space and there wasn't any seating available. The only option was to grab something and take it back to your room to eat.

I'll probably head back to the Courtyard on the next trip... or look for something else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We usually stay at Hampton Inns, and in fact had just stayed at one the week before in Las Vegas. While the Las Vegas Hampton was perfect, this hotel was just average. The rooms were adequate, but smaller than most other Hamptons, the breakfast was as good as most,. The problem that that property has is that they do NOT have enough parking for their facility. That is, they do not have enough spaces to accommodate their guests. They know about the situation, and try to help, including letting people park in every available area whether it is designed for parking or not, but still if you get in later in the evening, you could have to find street parking. It is not a good situation. Another small thing... and this admittedly IS small: But each evening when we came in, they were out of warm cookies. We jokingly asked about it, and they said, each night, that they ran out. Now, and again this is small, but it seems the idea of having warm cookies for guests is a wonderful, welcome to the hotel idea, and to say that they are out, and only make a certain amount, seems cheap, and leaves you with the opposite feeling, like you are not a welcome guest that they want to accommodate, but a nuisance that needs to be put up with. That was kind of the feeling we got in general, which is unusual for a Hampton Inn., So, all in all, it is an OK place to stay, but not up to the generally high standards of other Hamptons we have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianoman822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Selva Beach
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We went to visit our son in Los Angeles/Hollywood and definitely did not want to stay in downtown LA or Hollywood. Read here about valet fees to park your car overnight at the big hotels (valets are everywhere in LA but this ensures there is parking for the hotel or restaurant you visit). We found Hampton Inn at Sherman Oaks/Los Angeles right here on Trip Advisor (score again) and were very happy with our reservations (call the hotel directly for the best deal of course) and their suggestions for our stay. They put us on the fourth floor at the back (away from smoking rooms, although we never smelled any smoke in the hotel, and the back rooms are away from Sepulveda Blvd street noise, not that we ever heard any), upgraded us from the two queen beds to a king size bed larger room (microwave and refrigerator) which was nice for our five-day stay. The hotel staff were all smiling and pleasant, the continental breakfast was very satisfying (some form of eggs, meat and potatoes every day), waffles, toast, bagels, fresh fruit (grapefruit, oranges, pineapple, grapes), oatmeal, cold cereal, juices, apples, bananas, oranges, and there was fresh coffee available all day long. There were even fresh baked cookies and juice in the evening to snack on. There is an inside pool and we used it one evening to rest and relax our sore bodies from sitting in the car all day. It is right off the 405 freeway, easy to get to, only 15-30 minutes from LA/Hollywood depending on the time of day and traffic. The other guests were friendly, many staying here before. Very clean, good beds, parking full but there was always a place even when we came in at 2:00 AM one night after going to the LA County Fair.

Room Tip: Ask for the back side of the hotel as they are supposed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmidtmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The Hampton is very near the 405 and not far from a mall with good restaurants. The rooms were nice, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was convenient. The parking was tight, but we managed to find a spot even though we didn't come back to the hotel until about 11pm. I would definitely recommend this Hampton to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerforfun49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We are Hilton Honors, so we got upgraded to this huge king studio. It had alcoves for the bed and kitchen. The staff was very helpful. The a/c was good and the room was clean. The bed was the standard Hampton bed; I felt like I was at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#56 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#115 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Harbor
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks
Address: 5638 Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91411-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has everything you need in order to work, relax and have fun. Free internet, full breakfast and parking plus a heated indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks Hotel Los Angeles
Hampton Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing