We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the name fool you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks
Ranked #50 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
NV
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't let the name fool you”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

While the hotel is supposedly situated in Sherman Oaks (and I guess it is, "technically") it is only a short block from the Van Nuys city limits. As someone who used to live in the San Fernando Valley, I'll tell you that one block can make a big difference in terms of area and the people who inhabit it. Sherman Oaks, for the most part, is nice; this part of "Sherman Oaks," not so much. It is however relatively close to Universal Studios and a 405 freeway entrance/exit, so that is convenient.

Our room (413) overlooked a couple of rundown apartment buildings, a neighborhood of old homes and the hotel's small parking lot. The parking situation was our biggest complaint - don't know how they built a hotel with so few spots. Upon arrival the first night, one of the hotel attendants came out and "created" a very tight space for us right outside the lobby doors (I assume they went the extra mile for us because we're Hilton Diamond members).

While the service we were provided was pretty good throughout the visit, we did have a problem while checking in: We were not acknowledged as Hilton Diamond members or offered our snack (as is a customary part of Diamond process), which my husband had to request. He also had to ask what our room number was - the desk attendant simply handed him the keys and didn't mention it. That was disappointing.

The room was adequate - nothing extraordinary. It felt fairly clean, which we appreciated, though I noticed a large black grease smudge on the door, which was rather unsightly. The air conditioner made a tremendous rattling noise when it ran (which was almost constantly). When we arrived, the toilet seat was hanging on by one hinge. We brought this problem to the front desk's attention the next morning, and it was fixed by that evening. We also had to call maintenance late one night because our toilet suddenly blocked. I thought they'd have us wait until the morning to have it fixed, but they sent someone immediately, which we appreciated.

The breakfast buffet was small but adequate, and the attendants were very good about replenishing items before or as the trays of food were emptied. They also did a great job of clearing tables so that seating was almost always available in the small dining area. In the evenings, freshly made cookies are available at the front desk for guests. I took advantage of the round-the-clock tea/coffee that is available downstairs as well.

A couple of other items: The indoor pool felt heated, but one evening there were no towels available. There is a large selection of channels on the television. There are lots of electrical outlets in the room, which was appreciated.

So unimpressed were we with the hotel's kind of scary location that it's unlikely we'll stay there again, unless we're in a real pinch. But the service overall was pretty great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValleyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    234
    82
    45
    23
See reviews for
346
141
24
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Givatayim, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

been there from july 4-6 2013
the room was huge !
soft and fantastic king bed
free parking
free wifi
lot of electricity holes to charge all the electronics
* my wifw stoke at the elevatores and its took over an hour to pull her out-they turn us part of our stay there /
we loved our stay there

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel infrastructure is quite average, maybe a bit better only.
The great thing about this hotel was the extreme friendliness and care of the staff. They made us feel really really good from giving directions, to caring about how the breakfast was. Very little things that made a difference I would definitely stay in this hotel and not in another one

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRozsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was truly extremely satisfied with this stay. Pulling up to the hotel I wondered if I had made the right choice based on the area and the external appearance, but upon entry I was blown away by the staff and the hotel itself. I honestly beleve this was one of the nicer Hampton Inns I have stayed at and I will definetly be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahului, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This Hampton Inn and Suites is a step above most other of the brand. The decor was excellent. The rooms were big and very nice. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the same as every other Hampton Inn I've been too. Being in Sherman Oaks, it is an expensive Hampton Inn. They also have Neutrogena products which are much nicer than the blue Hampton Inn toiletries I've had at other establishments.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank ADixon115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Nice hotel near freeways and Ventura Avenue. Easy to get anywhere in LA area depending on the traffic. The Hampton had a good breakfast selection, helpful staff and free valet parking if needed. The hotel rate was also good for the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was a great place to stay - good clean rooms and hotel, the breakfast selection was great and parking was a breeze at this location; but it can get busy at times and the valet will gladly help out. The gym was adequate with some free weights and cardio machines (treadmill, elliptical and cycle - all in good condition). It was close to Ventura Ave for lunch/dinner options and to the major freeways into LA.

Our only gripe with the place was the price as it was in the slightly higher than normal bracket - but other than that issue, numerous positives outweigh this negative. Would highly recommend if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: As usual, try to get a room on the higher levels and possibly at the back if you're concerned ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#47 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,115 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#135 of 350 in Los Angeles
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
North San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
#154 of 350 in Los Angeles
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks
Address: 5638 Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91411-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has everything you need in order to work, relax and have fun. Free internet, full breakfast and parking plus a heated indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks Hotel Los Angeles
Hampton Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing