We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in LA”
Review of Los Feliz Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Feliz Lodge
Ranked #17 of 95 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My only regret about my stay at Los Feliz Lodge was that we were only able to stay one night.

The set-up is basically a short-stay apartment rental managed like a hotel/b&b - you check yourself in and out by way of a security code on the doors so there is no difficulties obtaining keys etc, you just turn up and let yourself in any time after "check in" time.

We stayed in one of the large apartments, villa 1501. The website doesn't do justice to how spacious it was. The property is absolutely beautifully decorated with a quirky retro-modern flavour (the name of the interior designer is listed in the information pack and I wish I'd taken note!) and there are lots of thoughtful touches - internet access, ipod dock, bath robes, yoga mats, you name it! The large kitchen is well equipped including a few basic cooking items (fresh coffee, olive oil etc).

There is a small patio with just enough space for table and chairs - for morning coffee in the sun surrounded by the butterflies that flocked to the lavender plants. The neighbouring roads are pretty quiet with just a little traffic coming past in the morning, nothing disruptive.

The surrounding area is great, with a local neighbourhood feel - lots of bars (Good Luck Bar is a must-visit), cafes and restaurants, and shopping.

Email communication from the owner was always extremely prompt and they provided a useful information pack in the villa for use during your visit detailing everything from local shops to where to go to watch the sunset.

This would make a great base for a longer visit to LA, but even for one night, it's a wonderful alternative to staying in a hotel and having a much more unique and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2008

This past Easter weekend my girlgfriend and I had a fantastic time close to the Hollywood area of Los Angeles. Having previously lived in the South Bay area I had been to Hollywood a few times but never really spent any time there. We were so pleased to discover how fun and interesting the area is when you venture off the typical tourist paths. I enjoy 5 star amenities as much as the next person but its not what I need nor can afford.
What really set the tone for the whole weekend was staying at the Los Feliz Lodge. What a great concept, so well done ! Cute, quaint, quiet and comfortable. Being Green conscious is important to us and we loved that everything about Los Feliz is done with that as a priority. It was like staying at a friends house who is out of town. A very clean and neat friend who has thought of everything for your stay. The ipod docking station was a very nice touch. The managment is very friendly, helpful and avaiable. We got great advice on fun things to do and great resturants that ranged from the best fish taco's I've ever had ($1.50) to fine dining. Most within walking distance. We also were provided with a list of great places that delivered. One day we went to the market and cooked for ourselves because there's a kitchen in our place ! Simply awesome !
We cannot say enough good things about the accomodations, ammenities, and managment of the Los Feliz Lodge ! We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stevefury68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

If you want to stay in an apartment-like setting that is safe and secure this is the place for you. The quaint neighborhood is quiet with a nice mix of school children, business people and nice neighbors. Amenities include a robe and slippers to wear when you want to have coffee on the terrace entered by french doors. The kitchen is nicely equipped with plates, pot and pans , tea and honey were already in place. Thanks to Liz for the great communication.

2  Thank cheech1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2008

I am not one to write an outright negative review, but I do feel the need to warn other people who are counting on having bookings being honored.

Los Feliz Lodge looks like a good option. But I was never able to stay. I asked for availability and after being told the last night of the stay was not available, I requested to solidify the booking. Hours later, the owner changed their mind to tell me that now the last 3 nights are unavailable, but perhaps they can have me switch rooms. When I asked about confirming my options, it took 2 emails and more than 24 hours for a response for her to say, that various days were booked that interfered with my booking now and basically my confirmation of the booking was being disregarded.

I don't think it is too much to ask that someone honor my booking before booking other people and to be responsive in communications.

Unfortunately, it was an utter waste of my time for 3 days and unfortunately I cannot offer any other info than that.

I suppose I should be glad that it only took days for them to disregard my booking instead of showing up and having them tell me at that time. (Which, I would not be surprised if I was told has happened)

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank GneissDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosFelizLodge, Owner at Los Feliz Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2008

Well, I am one to respond to an outright negative review. I’ll explain: To book a room, you need to provide a credit card number. This person did not have a ‘booking’. And the lack of communication was not our error. This person failed to provide a contact number so I was not able to call her to confirm if she wanted the partial reservation or not. We do honor all our confirmed bookings. It's really not that difficult. Because this person was so mad and sent me an angry email, I responded to her email by apologizing and offering an extremely generous discount if she stayed with us on her next trip here. But she still chose to write this review… ugh. I think she's used to staying at more 'corporate' hotels. Once she stays in one of our bungalows, she'll forget this ever happened! Just read the reviews on our site. People who actually stay here love it! And bookings are so not as complicated as this lady made it out to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#22 of 358 in Los Angeles
715 reviews
The Garland
#16 of 358 in Los Angeles
3,228 reviews
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#1 of 358 in Los Angeles
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The LINE
The LINE
#38 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,035 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#58 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,029 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach House
Venice Beach House
#16 of 95 in Los Angeles
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Feliz Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Feliz Lodge

Address: 1507 N Hoover St, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027-5521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: £107 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Hotel Alternative! Los Feliz Lodge is located in the charming Los Feliz neighborhood, just a short stroll to Los Feliz Village and the hip Silver Lake Sunset Junction area. Very close to the Metro, and just few stops to the Hollywood touristy areas, Downtown or Universal Studios. The "lodge" is a 1920's Spanish-style courtyard apartment complex. Offering detached bungalows with fully equipped kitchens, a/c, wireless internet, cable & telephone, mini-bar, robes and slippers, tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Feliz Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing