We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at 657

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at 657
Ranked #13 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Visiting LA for college search with my son looking at USC and UCLA. Staying here was an excellent choice, as the accommodations were a perfect choice for us. 2 bedrooms with private bath, comfortable clean beds, awesome breakfasts cooked by Wayne, thought-provoking breakfast discussions about dementia, statistics, research, healthcare in the US vs overseas, socialized medicine vs capitalistic medicine, great proximity to USC, easy access to highways for driving elsewhere. Presuming the boy makes it into USC, I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvdlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    23
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
33
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

My husband has stayed at The Inn at 657 several times and has always come back with rave reviews. He was right!! I thought he was exaggerating about the genuine hospitality and wonderful breakfasts, but I was equally impressed and delighted with Patsy and the Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed ‘lingering’ over a delicious homemade breakfast complimented by lively conversation. It was like staying with good friends, but I never had to lift a finger! It was a pleasure staying so close to USC and not having to deal with expensive valet parking and traffic. The room was large and clean, and the mattress perfect. When it looked like our late-night flight might get cancelled due to a snowstorm back home, Patsy said she’d leave a key for us…just in case. (I was actually hoping it would get cancelled!). Thanks to Patsy and her staff for providing perfect accomodations for our LA weekend. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wigges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We opted for this bed and breakfast over an LA hotel experience and we were very happy with our choice! Very convenient lodging to travel to a concert at The Staples Center. The accomodations were comfortable and very clean. We even had dinner at a restaurant recommended by Patsy on her website. Wayne prepared a wonderful breakfast and was friendly and informative about the history of the area. Patsy's pane cotta was outstanding. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachglass83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I were visiting our two USC students for the weekend. The Inn is close enough to campus that you don't spend hours in traffic going to and from the hotel each day. The room we had was large enough with its own private bath. Breakfast was prepared hot and fresh each morning. Patsy is a delightful host and we enjoyed chatting with her and yother guests over breakfast. My husband said on the last night of our visit, "it was like coming home to our own place in LA." We will be back...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croton-on-Hudson, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Perfect stay for visiting my freshman son at nearby USC. My girlfriend and I rested well in our quiet, tastefully furnished room. Breakfast is a substantial meal, a great start to the day. Lovely gardens. Patsy is a natural host who put as at ease from the start. First visit, not the last.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D0ugNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just returned from staying at Inn at 657 and it was a great experience. The owner and staff at the Inn are wonderful and interesting. Good food, and a quiet place. We were so close to downtown that even at 5:00pm it was only a 10 min. drive to Walt Disney Hall and Colburn School. I would recommend this bed and breakfast over a pricey downtown hotel any day!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

My mother and I decided on staying at our first bed and breakfast. We were very pleased at The Inn at 657! Just a wonderful experience; private, friendly, and personal. We looked forward to breakfasts and great conversations with Patsy and other guests. Oh, Wayne, you are right. That was the best wheat bread I have ever tried! Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#49 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#40 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 657

Property: The Inn at 657
Address: 657 & 663 W. 23rd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Inn At 657 Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing