We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in LA”
Review of The Inn at 657

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at 657
Ranked #16 of 95 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Sure you can stay in fancy, faceless hotels in LA, but why would you, when you could stay at the Inn and be welcomed like an old friend? We recently spent 3 nights at the Inn on 657 and were enchanted by our stay in this lovely old ramshackle Victorian house, set in pretty gardens. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, and furnished with an eclectic collection of antiques. The bathroom was gorgeous! But it was Patsy and Bobby the chef that made it even more special. The breakfasts were sublime and we especially loved having time to sit with Patsy and Bobby and discuss the world in general. When you're travelling, this type of personal contact is worth more than any amount of upmarket anonymity. Patsy gave us lots of advice about our sightseeing and even arranged for her wonderful taxi driver Jessie to pick us up and drop us off when needed. All in all, it made our time in LA really special; I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a lovely place to stay and would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcarter657, Owner at The Inn at 657, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

All of my staff and I appreciate our most recent review. As I have mentioned before, we have the most pleasant and interesting guests one could hope for. Most are well traveled and therefore experienced to judge lodging. No less so the charming and engaging couple from Australia who wrote the review.

So it is with temerity that I question even one word of the hearty review: “ramshackle”
( meaning rickety).

The building which houses The Inn At 657 is extremely well constructed and maintained . Even so, I state this fact reluctantly as I don’t want to “quibble” (focus on the trivial).

The real focus is thatn we contributed to this couple’s happy visit to Los Angeles and for us that is success- that is what we work for.

Patsy Carter, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here our 3 nights in LA. Located close to I-10 and 110. Also close to public transportation. Clean, comfortable rooms. Great breakfasts. Patsy and staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We chose the Inn at 657 due to the reasonable rates for lodging and parking while attending to business in Los Angeles. The house and furnishings are warm and charming. Patsy and her staff were so very kind and accommodating and the breakfasts were spectacular. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandMPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here because of its close proximity to USC, the school my son attends. The hospitality was wonderful. Patsy welcomed my son to breakfast both mornings and on top of that the breakfasts were awesome, plenty of delicious food. Also, the common rooms we well decorated. Patsy has a nice way of displaying her decor and I appreciate this. The location is in a safe neighborhood and close enough to a major street (Figeroa) so access to other places was easy.

Room Tip: The bed was a little soft. If this is a problem for you then you might want to check about other be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim94101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Other travelers have covered just about all the wonderful things about 657. My teen daughter and I could not have been more pleased with the accommodations, price, amazing breakfasts, and enjoyable hosts and fellow guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryGWaxhaw_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A colleague and I stayed here for a 4 day conference in April, and everyone we spoke to were jealous that we made such an inspired choice. They were all staying in soulless, expensive hotels, and we were staying in a cozy, friendly and inexpensive (by comparison) B and B. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. It was extremely convenient, the price was great, the rooms were comfortable and clean and charming. But most importantly, the owner and staff were wonderful, and the breakfasts were AMAZING! Homemade, gourmet and great choices (started with homemade panna cotta and fresh berries!), we didn't need lunch later. It was a reasonable walk to the conference centre (15 minutes) and we felt safe. If you are attending a conference, do yourself a favour and stay here! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street and one morning heard the garbage truck. Get a room at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

What a gem this little place is! Within walking distance of the campus on 23rd Street, there actually is a calm, quiet little sanctuary. A Victorian turn-of-the-century house converted into an inn, with friendly and helpful owners, surrounded by lush gardens where they grow their own mint, oranges, lemons...the rooms were on the small side but very comfortable, and I was really surprised by how QUIET it is. Loved the breakfast - that panna cotta that Patsy makes to go with the fresh fruit (garnished with mint from the garden of course) is out of this world, and you can take the recipe with you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachelmarilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#42 of 355 in Los Angeles
691 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Central L.A
Garden Cottage B & B
Garden Cottage B & B
#6 of 95 in Los Angeles
311 reviews
Central L.A
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 95 in Los Angeles
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 657

Address: 657 & 663 W. 23rd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: £54 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Inn At 657 Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing