We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Playa Del Rey
Ranked #2 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Location is very good : close to LAX and we had to be at LMU. Rooms tastefully designed and nice and big. Breakfast simply great. Don't think too much of the birds in the Wetlands: you must look very carefully with the telescope in the room. Cool though: never had a room with a telescope. Would visit again.

Room Tip: 207 : with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    68
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
231
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The staff were the best!! They went out of there way for us every day we were there. The food was great and the rooms lovely, but the standout here are the people. We enjoyed walks on the beach and they have free bikes for you to use.

Room Tip: We had a room near the road and we still didn't hear anything, but for a view pay a bit more and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireM277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fran Bay Area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I had a last minute business trip to Santa Monica and couldn't find a room in immediate SM area for less than $500 night so gave new app a try called hoteltonight. This Inn at Playa del Rey was listed and while I had no familiarity with Play del Rey, the property looked charming from the photos featured with good ratings and appeared not that far from where I was in Santa Monica so I thought would give it a whirl. Wow, what a delightful surprise and find this place turned out to be.

It was late and I was tired and luckily it was not hard to find property in the dark even though it is located on a bit of an oasis. It felt welcoming from the moment I stepped inside with its lovely light beachy décor. The woman at the front desk even gave me a glass of wine within minutes of arriving.

I scored a nice large room with very comfortable bed with deck overlooking the wetland grounds near marina (and apparently some bird sanctuary). Two chocolate chip cookies also awaited me and Wifi was also available in room.

While I unfortunately didn't have time to enjoy the home-cooked breakfast, had flight out to catch, I really appreciated access to hot coffee and some baked good available in the reception area at 5 AM when had to get up to finish some work before heading to the airport.

And that was another fabulous surprise. LAX was literally straight up the road only 10 minutes away! I had no idea it was that close. In fact, road took me straight to where I had to return rental car.

I will definitely be back! Super pleasant for bit of respite when traveling for work.

Room Tip: Ask for room with deck overlooking the wetlands
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polo-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I used to stay here a lot for business when I lived out of town, but now that I'm back living in LA, there was little reason. Nevertheless, I decided to take myself out for a weekend treat, and went to my favorite hideaway - the Inn. Summer vacation, at last!

It was just as I remembered: beautiful rooms, friendly staff, tranquil surroundings, and delicious food. I love the new observation deck. Everything looked crisp and fresh.

I always stayed in one of the rooms that face the marsh, and this time was no different. Got there in the late afternoon. Ate my cookies (oh yes, I said cookies!), lounged on my balcony, wine in the lobby, walked to Cantalini's for dinner. Then back for a good night's sleep. Wow. Talk about a comfortable bed! I never wanted to leave it. But I did. Breakfast beckoned. And then a bike ride and peaceful afternoon at the beach. And afternoon wine with some lovely people. Walked to dinner at the still new Playa Provisions (um, yum!). Back to bed (hooray!). One more breakfast, then back to real life.

No, it's not inexpensive (especially in the summertime), but it is worth it. I'm hoping they'll let me live there... then I can really call it home. I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay a little extra, get a room that faces the marsh. All the rooms are pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

As a mother of three kids under 10, I sometimes consider myself an expert for rating hotels that are good to or with kids. Sometimes we have had to wait hours for a room to be ready when check in was supposed to be at three. Another time, we missed breakfast because we came down TWO MINUTES too late, as we had just switched time zones.

But…the Inn at Playa del Rey, well, they went above and beyond to make our entire family feel welcomed and catered to. First, we came in too late for wine and cheese (for mommy here) – no problem. Melissa poured me a nice glass of wine and offered all the kids some lemonade and snacks.

Then she hauled out the Inn’s “toy wagon” which had something special for each one of mine- not withstanding that they each already had a steamer truck full of new stuff from Disneyland.
Which brings be to my next point. After a three days and nights at Disneyland, then driving up to the Inn on the freeways during rush hour, I really needed peace and quiet and fresh air. The Inn was magically quiet with a little deck off the living room that overlooked a bird sanctuary and the Marina. The kids and I used their little bird book to learn the identity of several of the birds out there on the wetlands.

I had reserved a less expensive standard room which did face the street. But, it had a double set of doors to the outside so with them closed, the room was quiet. Our little radio alarm did not seem to be working so I called down to front desk (before they would think my kids broke it) and someone else came within five minutes with a new one.
Breakfast was fabulous and healthy with great oat meal and fruit choices for my children and a hot egg dish for me.

Then we all headed straight for the beach with towels buckets and shovels, even a beach umbrella all provided by the Inn.
I LOVED the staff. I loved the Inn. It was a great end to a wonderful Southern California trip for a mother and three children.

Did I mention the chocolate chip cookies? I think my kids ate mine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermomldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We always look forward to returning to the Inn. It is refreshing and relaxing to be able to sit outside on the balcony and enjoy morning coffee or evening wine. The best location is the back of the inn, overlooking the marina and wetlands. For all of our stays we request the same marina view room; the inn keepers, always accommodating, have never disappointed us. The personalized note and cookies in our room are very welcoming. We love coming back to the Inn.

Every time we return to the Inn, we notice the consistent updating and improvements that add comfort, convenience and enjoyment for guests, such projects as simple as furniture being changed out in the rooms to building a larger deck facing the wetlands.

Early morning coffee is available, we love sitting outside on the balcony and watch nature wake up. Of course, breakfast is always terrific, with a selection of fresh fruits, yogurt, homemade coffee cakes and pastry as well as delicious french toast or egg casseroles.

The best part is being near LA, but a world apart. We park our car in their secure garage and try not to move it for a few days. We are fortunate enough to live in a day's drive, thus we can bring our own bikes and head for the beach bike trails every day. The inn has bikes to loan to guests, which we used to take advantage of when we had to fly into LA. We enjoy the wine and cheese "happy hour" every evening when we can casually chat with other guests. There are some very nice restaurants in walking distance, some long term local favorites as well as fun new ones that have opened in the last couple of years.

This beautiful, comfortable inn is terrific because of the amazing staff. The hosts are attentive, knowledgeable, and very accommodating. The entire staff, from hosts, reception, cooks, to housekeeping, make you feel like welcome guests.

We can hardly wait for our return trip in a couple of months. We always recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the wetlands are quiet with interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The front desk attendants were very welcoming. We were shown around the inn quickly upon our arrival. The inn is very cute and peaceful. Reminded me of an inn you may find on the ocean in Maine. Our bed was very comfortable, the mattress was the best! Found the hotel airy and charming. the breakfast room faces the wetlands and has large windows. You help yourself to the little buffet and the places are set with nice china. There is also a large common area and porch you can use. We took advantage of the opportunity to borrow the bikes from the hotel and biked along the bike trail adjacent to the beach. There were some homeless people in the area, but it is Los Angeles and the inn felt safe and secure. I liked the personalized touches of music playing softly on the Bose when you enter you room, a personalized note welcoming us, and fresh baked cookies. Room was very clean, pleasant stay, would recommend to others

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Playa Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Playa Del Rey

Property: Inn at Playa Del Rey
Address: 435 Culver Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Playa Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at exquisite lodging near Los Angeles. Enjoy bike rides, country breakfasts, walks on the beach, luxurious amenities, private sunbathing gardens, and the serenity of nature at this elegant inn. Many rooms come complete with fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and private decks. Rated one of the "Ten Best Urban Inns" by Forbes.com, our Inn is sure to please. Look online to learn more about our convenient location, superb accommodations, and to book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Playa Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Playa Del Rey Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing