We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most uncomfortable beds ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Ranked #24 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most uncomfortable beds ever”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

After a single night in this hotel I woke up with backache, feeling like a bit of chewed string. If you value a comfortable bed then, for the love of all that's holy, do not stay here.

The web site promises "the Sofitel Bed is a cocoon of comfort that transforms every night into a marvelously refreshing experience."

No, the Sofitel bed is a hard base with a feather topper on it. The feather topper is considerably smaller than the mattress, giving it the stepped effect of a Mayan pyramid, complete with a slope to throw the bodies down.

The hotel clearly doesn't turn the topper regularly, so it is lumpy and flattened down at the head of the bed but stays fluffy at the bottom. And so your feet end up about two inches higher than your head. Have a look at the accompanying photo - does it look like a cocoon of comfort?

It's a god-awful uncomfortable bed. The staff seem nice, the hotel is clean and attractive, but I prioritise a decent night's sleep over anything else. Three nights later and my back and legs still ache. Thanks, Sofitel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skew_lewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    863
    301
    114
    72
See reviews for
567
1,145
206
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

There are so many things right about this hotel it's hard to know where to begin. Staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are good sized with one of the most comfortable beds ever. Location is near a lot of popular tourist venues and some nice restaurant options. The concierge is helpful with a strong understanding of the area. The only negative for me was they only have valet parking so getting my car took some time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emo114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I had the opportunity to attend to a wonderful event from UC Santa Cruz at this location tonight and I was very impressed by the care and costumer service by Natasha Danna. Thank you Natasha for going out of the way to please our guests on table 18.
Michael Dergar.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDergar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent customer service from the moment I arrive. This is my first choice everytime I travel to LA. The staff is wonderful from the front desk to the greeters. I was casually speaking with one of them about looking for a particular place to eat and after I arrived from work that evening there was a note with the restarant suggestion, adress and directions. The fact that he took the time to research and leave those details speaks volumes. The rooms are comfortable, robe and slippers waiting after a long day at the office. I used to stay at another local hotel but once I experienced the service at the Sofitel I will never go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marlene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

When I arrived at my room I was happy to hear soft music playing on a Bose radio, the lights were on, and the room looked so elegant. The rain shower was a treat, the towels are huge, and a fresh robe was waiting with personal slippers. The bed was so comfortable that I overslept. The hotel staff was wonderful, when I returned from a walk the young lady even remembered my name ! Of course I will return when I travel to Los Angeles/Beverly Hills again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darla525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel really has the customer service down to a science! From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel, they were on their "A" game. The hotel is beautiful and classy. It is immaculate, both the common areas as well as our room. The location is great and there are numerous restaurants as well as 1st class shopping across the street. Would highly recommend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eft425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Every time we have stayed here, the staff has been friendly, warm and accommodating - not rude and condescending like in so many Beverly Hills hotels. The hotels location is great - it feels so "New York" to be able to walk to all the best designer stores in Beverly Center and yet have affordable gems right down the street like Jan's Coffee Shop, Ross and Nordstrom Rack right across the street. Sushi mon right across from Cedars Sinai Hospital is a great find. Its two blocks from the new Trader Joes and if you love night life, up La Cienega between Melrose and Sunset Blvd - east on Melrose, are many trendy bars where you can see movie stars galore. Its taxi close to the Grove and close to every L.A. tourist destination. Room service is also amazing. The food is killer in your room - The crispy french toast. The berry smoothie. But the staff MAKES the Sofitel. From valets to front desk greeters, they are helpful and sweet, capable and warm. The pool area could use a revamp but everywhere else, the hotel is sheer class with an elegant piano bar and beautiful photo opps in every artistic corner of the lobby and bar area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms come with small balconies but the upgrade to mountain view suite is worth the wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CandyeKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,686 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#6 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Property: Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Address: 8555 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills is a stunning hotel in LA offering elegant luxury accommodations and dramatic decor with an ambiance that combines see-and-be-seen excitement and the calm of an urban resort.Ideally situated on the corner of La Cienega and Beverly Boulevard opposite the Beverly Shopping Center this West Hollywood hotel is conveniently located near Cedar Sinai Medical Center Rodeo Drive Melrose Avenue and Sunset Boulevard.Discover a unique blend of French fashion mixed with Hollywood glamour at this elegant hotel.Choose from 295 rooms on 10 floors including 26 suites and two Imperial Suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feather top and duvet sleep system - SoBed.Savor the distinctive and delicious cuisine at Esterel, our new contemporary French restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Accor Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing