We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Views Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Ranked #26 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Views Best Location”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

What a great place, I have never felt so pampered in my life! The resturant had the best breakfast I have ever had in my life... I mean really... both my children and husband thought so also! I am very impressed with the Sofitel brand and would love to visit some of the their other hotels. The room had had the best views, the bathroom was large and it had all the little ammenities I look for in a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchorruud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,507
    851
    298
    113
    66
See reviews for
552
1,129
205
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My son and I stayed here while doing college visits and found it the perfect location in L.A.

We had a superior double double room on the 5th floor with a Beverly Center view. We found it to be perfectly quiet. The rooms were extremely clean and roomy enough for our needs. The beds were so comfortable, but I do wish there was a separate sheet under the duvet. The bathroom was sparkling, with a fantastic shower and great amenities.

I loved that they had 24 hour room service, so that I was able to get a pot of coffee when I woke up at 4 in the moring.

We were very kindly treated by everyone from reception to concierge to the doormen.

The hotel's location was perfect for us as we didn't have a car during our stay. We simply walked out the door, and the wonderful doormen would whistle for a cab from across the street. They were always readily available and we were able to get everywhere by cab.

We did find a great spot for breakfast and lunch within walking distance of the hotel-- Joan's on Third.

I am very glad that we chose this hotel and would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpakl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This Sofitel is what you'd expect from this chain, it is clean, modern, efficient and the service is good, though the formality of the staff can be a little off-putting at times. Location is great for shopping, it is opposite the Beverley Center, and the Grove and Beverly Hills shops are not too far to get to.
First timers to LA might like to know the Silverline bus tours pick up there as well.
The views on the north side of the hotel on the upper floors are great. We were originally put on a lower floor on the other side, having been told that a non-smoking king bed was not available only two doubles. It didn't take long to realise that the layout of that room with the two beds one against a wall and the other too close to the large windows was not ideal. After a short and polite complaint they offered us an upgraded room on a higher floor and on the north side, which id a great mark of their service, and the roon was excellent.

Only slight disappointment was the bar, it was overly large and dark, the range of beer in particular was poor, and the service was relatively lacking.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venatoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed here since it's just a few block from our daughter's new apartment in the Beverly/Fairfax area and we wanted to stay at a really nice place after five days of driving cross country.

Plus side: #1. Location is great, right across from the Beverly Center and convenient to everything. #2. The room, though smallish, was beautiful, with plush bedding and swanky furnishings. The shower is large and the view was too cool - the Hollywood sign gleaming in the distance. The air conditioning is quiet and efficient, and the balcony doors really open! #3. The bar, though pricey, is worth it just to hang out on the over stuffed sofas and chairs. #4. Outstanding fitness center! Excellent equipment.

Negative side: #1. Turn down service offered too early - on two nights the housekeeping staff showed up for turn down around 5PM when we were still getting ready to go out. On BOTH occasions, we said, "Can you please come back later?" They never did, so we didn't get fresh towels either night.
#2. Previously worn bath robe? - after a shower my husband went to the closet and put on a large, fluffy robe and reached into the pocket where he found someone's swim goggles. We could only conclude that this robe had been used by a previous occupant. We called to report the problem and a staff member came to our room and presented us with two bars of soap and some shampoo and conditioner! Huh?? We called again and they came back to the room with two bath robes and asked us to produce the swim goggles as evidence. I hope some poor housekeeper didn't get flogged with them....
#3. Valet took our car out and left it sitting in the driveway - our daughter picked us up in her own car and as we were leaving I noticed our car sitting next to the Valet stand with all the windows rolled down. My husband asked them why our car was there and they said we had called for it. Obviously we had not. We asked them to put it back. To their credit, they didn't charge us for one night's parking.

These were really minor issues and I would definitely say the pluses outweighed the negatives. It's a beautiful property.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We decided to splurge and stay at the Sofitel this time in LA when we came for a wedding. We usually stay in budget (Holiday Inn Express or Best Western) level hotels, because we're not in the room much, but since it was a special occasion and we were staying for 5 nights, we spent the extra money and treated ourselves. The door, front desk, conceirge and valet service from the time we pulled up in a cab to the time we left in our rental car was great and very friendly. I have several complaints that might seem a little nit-picky, but they did effect our experience. First off, we reserved their "superior" room which I guess is the smallest room they have and the smallness was uncomfortable. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was cool and the bed super comfy, but because the bed is a platform bed and because the room is small and they put a chair at the end of the bed, I left there with a huge bump and bruise on my left shin and one on my right calf from banging into the corner of the bed. Nice look with a cocktail dress for a wedding.... I found it very annoying - and painful. Two weeks later I still have the bruises. The shower is a rain shower, which is incredibly relaxing and I loved it, but again it's the little things that make the difference. It was nearly impossible to shave one's legs in the shower because it's a stall shower and there is no foot rest, which might seem like a petty thing, but any woman over 35 knows what I mean. Finally, they have the duvet thing going on. I don't understand the obsession with duvets these days, because you have a choice of being hot or cold with nothing in between. So, in the Sofitel on the bed they have a bottom sheet and a duvet. No sheet in between your body and the duvet. I hope they clean them everytime someone checks out. So, because I'm always hot and my husband is always cold, we did not sleep well that first night. The second day we called housekeeping, but you can't talk to housekeeping, only the front desk and asked for a top sheet in addition to the bottom sheet and duvet. We got a scratchy blanket. It was too late to do anything that night, so another uncomfortable night. Third day we asked for a top sheet, no blanket and received another blanket. We called again and asked for a top sheet and have the 3 blankets taken away. The housekeeper showed up with 2 more blankets. At least this time we could explain what we wanted and the poor woman had to strip the bed and add the top sheet. After that we were comfortable and slept well.

On the positive side, we requested by email and were given a room with a view of the hills and the hotel was really very quiet.

For service (except for passing messages along to housekeeping), location and amenities, I give this hotel two thumbs up. For the size of a regular room, thumbs down.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejboldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The most important part of this hotel -- the bed and the bathroom -- were outstanding. The service was excellent if you enjoy overstaffed slavish fawning. Personally, I found it annoying and unprofessional, but I'm not an LA native, so perhaps I wasn't acclimated. Room service food was good and valets were quick, and everything was overpriced. The gym was only ok. They ran out of towels and water frequently.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights last November, and I must say the hotel is very modern and beautiful. While I generally like modern hotels, this one just seemed a little cold to me. Maybe it was the black everywhere (furniture, employee clothing) or the club line out of the door, but something about it annoyed me, though I can't put my finger on it. For someone who is single and looking for a fun night out on the town, the Sofitel is great, with a hot club on the bottom floor. It is right across from the Beverly Center for great shopping, and is just a short cab ride from all the main LA attractions, as well as Beverly Hills. The rooms were modern with very comfortable beds, amazing showers, and a great view of the Hollywood sign. Very nice hotel , but defnitely more for business or singles. Internet was not free, although from my room I was able to pick up a wireless signal from outside, so I never had to pay for internet. They also have a nice pool, although it was a little too cool for swimming in November. All around a nice hotel in a great location. If you have any questions please feel free to email me at yoshapman@hotmail.com

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoshapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Property: Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Address: 8555 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills is a stunning hotel in LA offering elegant luxury accommodations and dramatic decor with an ambiance that combines see-and-be-seen excitement and the calm of an urban resort.Ideally situated on the corner of La Cienega and Beverly Boulevard opposite the Beverly Shopping Center this West Hollywood hotel is conveniently located near Cedar Sinai Medical Center Rodeo Drive Melrose Avenue and Sunset Boulevard.Discover a unique blend of French fashion mixed with Hollywood glamour at this elegant hotel.Choose from 295 rooms on 10 floors including 26 suites and two Imperial Suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feather top and duvet sleep system - SoBed.Savor the distinctive and delicious cuisine at Esterel, our new contemporary French restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Accor Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing