We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in LA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Ranked #24 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“One of the best in LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Our second stay here and it just gets better and better. Simply put, this is one the best hotels in LA. Very trndy, SUPERIOR service from 99% of the staff. Acknowledgemnt of A-club status (GOLD) and great conceirge.

On one little issue at check-out (rude front desk staff member) at 6.30am check-out. Have been contacted by hotel GM since reporting this on Sofitels own internal customer satisfaction survey and this was a nice acknowledgement of my concerns. As yet, have not replied to his email given time restraints but this is the only negative to have happened to us on two stays at this hotel.

My only hotel in LA.

keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    839
    296
    107
    66
See reviews for
544
1,113
200
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

I stayed at the Sofitel LA twice on business trips, for about 5 nights each visit. I had a mixed experience. Not horrible, but you should know what you're getting into. Beds are very comfortable and sleep-conducive -- and good thing because the restaurant downstairs is very noisy well past 2 am most nights. Nice fitness center, pool, and outdoor sitting area above the pool where you can enjoy a drink in the evening. I never sat down at the restaurant but the food they send up to the rooms is very, very good, and comes up unbelievably fast. (So don't take a quick shower after you order.)

My biggest complaint about this hotel is that the staff, while abundant, seem poorly trained or maybe just slow upstairs. Example: On my second trip, my colleague and I arrived very late (around 4 am) due to a delayed flight. We called ahead to make sure our reservations weren't lost, but when we arrived, they only had one room booked. I said that was an error and we'd like two rooms, but the check in attendant told us we were out of luck, that the hotel was fully booked, and maybe I could arrange to get a second room the following day. Well, the one available room had only one king bed, so I asked whether we could change that to two doubles. And the guy said, "yes, I'll give you a different room." ! So obviously I replied, "that means you have two rooms available and you're NOT fully booked." So we got the two rooms.

Anyway, it was irritating because it was very late, we were dog-tired, and the whole process actually took like half an hour. It was so unnecessary and somewhat embarrassing because under the circumstances, it would have been really inappropriate for my colleague and I to share a room. I complained about the guy the following day, but the morning staff seemed surprisingly blase about it -- their attitude was like oh well, this kind of thing just happens from time to time. No apology, just "ohhh . . . but you ended up getting the room, right?" Big smile.

Anyway, to end on a positive note, the pillow menu is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hinalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

The hotel itself is nice and the rooms as well, but...I wasn't able to sleep for a couple of nights due to loud noises in the hallway from people who stumbled home at around 3am-4am. It almost felt like a college dorm when I heard people talking loudly outside my room. For the price that I pay, the hotel chain's reputation and the location, I expected other guests to be courteous and respectful but unfortunately that wasn't the case. I told the front desk about this situation, but they couldn't transfer me to another room and adviced to call the next time people were noisy again. Overall, I think the experience was a mixed bag: a nice hotel with friendly staff members, but for a good night's sleep, I recommend earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed overnight in transit back to Toronto after an 18 hour flight from Sydney. The hotel is about a half hour from the airport but we wanted to hit either Santa Monica or Hollywood for the afternoon, so location was good. Hotel was very nicely appointed and guest rooms were a dream - we had the best night sleep during our three week trip. The bathroom was also to die for with a lovely big shower stall with rainshower and handshower. No detail seemed to be missed and would stay here again.

We had breakfast the next morning the Studio LA restaurant which also topped our list for the many hotel breakfasts we'd had over the previous weeks. The waiter who looked after us "Sandra" was exceptional - 10 out of 10! Service staff on front desk failed to impress.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Hotel stays always go well when the room you walk into is better than the one you reserved.
We arrived for the last night of our holiday somewhat regretting not having stayed for three nights in Santa Barbara and just driving to the airport from there. I am so glad we decided to stay at the Sofitel. The suite we were given was fantastically clean, well equipped and so comfortable.
A quick unpack of the case into the walk in wardrobe with case space and large storage drawers, a tryout of the three TV sets (one over the bath), and photographic session of the hills from the balcony was followed by a short visit to the Beverly Centre across the road.
Unusually we decided to have room service – it arrived promptly, served with a smile and was excellent.
An excellent night’s sleep in a fantastically comfortable Sofitel bed was followed by breakfast in the restaurant. We decided to eat outside – complementary small smoothy and French breads, good coffee and the sounds of a waterfall masking the road noise of Beverly Boulevard. My husband is already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mostyn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastienpfeiffer, Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel Los Angeles. Our goal is to always exceed our guest's expectations and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, U.K
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We were allocated this hotel through hotwire, and the deal was good (around 500 EUR for 5 nights).
The location of the hotel is perfect if you intend to do some sightseeing since the redline tour bus stops across the road from the hotel, at the Beverley centre. There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel, taco bel, johnny rockets etc. The room service food is amazing! If you want to venture further and don't have a car, it's possible to rent one through concierge at a reasonable price.
The room we stayed in was spacious for 2 people, hdtv, a very comfortable bed and i-pod docking station amongst other amenities. The bathroom was really nice, and the l'occitane products were a nice touch.
In terms of property amenities, the swimming pool is quite small, but by far the best part was the gym. There's a variety of equipment and it is virtually empty after 12pm, which means a peaceful gym session!
I only have one complaint about the hotel. On our last night, the stone lounge was hosting an event (I think as part of the BET awards) and the noise coming up to the room was pretty loud. After finally getting myself to sleep at 3am a member of security came up knocking at the room door, and asked whether we had been throwing cigarettes down since people in the lounge were complaining. First of all, we don't smoke, never have, and secondly, there was not a single openable window in our room! I would have thought they would have maybe checked which rooms had balconies and windows before waking us all up!
Aside from that incident, the stay was excellent, staff courteous and quality of service outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepi321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was our 1st leg stop of our brilliant honeymoon and the Sofitel Hotel gave us a brilliant start.

Upon arrival the bell boys were on hand straight away to help us with our luggage and was extremely friendly. The person who checked us in was also very friendly and helpfull and provided us an upgrade on our room upon hearing we were on our honeymoon and also helped us with information on how to get to Universal Studios, as we only had 2 days in LA and had a city, movies and beach tour the next day.

The room that we had was located at the top of the hotel where all the special suites are located. It was very spacious had a king size bed that was out of this world comfort, (the best bed I have ever slept in), there was a seperate sofa to chill out on with an ipod dock system on hand. All the usual amenities kettle, coffee, glasses etc. Flat screen HD TV.

The bathroom was fantastic especially the shower as it was enormous and even had a seating area inside. There is a window from the shower looking into the room that can go from see-through to frosted if you wanted your privacy. Also there were dimmers on the lights so you could adhust according to the mood.

The Simon LA restaurant breakfast was amazing, the food tasted very nice and fresh and the staff made us feel at home.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone, the service we received was great and there are pick up services available if you are planning tours around LA from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Property: Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Address: 8555 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills is a stunning hotel in LA offering elegant luxury accommodations and dramatic decor with an ambiance that combines see-and-be-seen excitement and the calm of an urban resort.Ideally situated on the corner of La Cienega and Beverly Boulevard opposite the Beverly Shopping Center this West Hollywood hotel is conveniently located near Cedar Sinai Medical Center Rodeo Drive Melrose Avenue and Sunset Boulevard.Discover a unique blend of French fashion mixed with Hollywood glamour at this elegant hotel.Choose from 295 rooms on 10 floors including 26 suites and two Imperial Suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feather top and duvet sleep system - SoBed.Savor the distinctive and delicious cuisine at Esterel, our new contemporary French restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Accor Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing