We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, clean and close to attractions”
Review of Dunes Inn - Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Ranked #103 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable, clean and close to attractions”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We loved our stay at the dunes. The rooms were very clean and the clerks were extremely friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant and lounge on location and the food was very good and the people very friendly. I would stay here again and hope to do so in the future. I'm glad we picked the dunes for our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are being remodeled so they are probably all just as good as ours. A nice place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    196
    132
    42
    18
See reviews for
114
184
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
la crescenta
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I recently stayed at the dunes inn sunset and i loved the room renovation. Plenty of room and the bathrooms is a big upgrade. I will stay there again for sure. Great rates too and it is within minutes from the heart of Hollywood.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luistorres1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I spent two nights at Dunes Inn Sunset, 21 and 22 March 2012, having found it on the internet.
The hotel is very comfortable, with great beds ( my most important measurement) and bathrooms. The internt worked fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a good location for me in west Hollywood - close to shopping places I needed to visit, and restaurant Bossa Nova, they I like very much.
Highly recommended, and very affordable.
Chris Boylan, Sydney, Australia.

Room Tip: I liked the upper level rooms, away from the carpark. I did not have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Room was clean, bathroom was in working order, it was a close walk to the bus stop, there was a 7-11, a Burger King and a Denny's nearby for emergencies and staff were pretty pleasant (though the man on desk when we checked out didn't seem all that interested in us at all, he made it a very quick, easy check out)

Would we stay here again? If the rates were as low as they were when we stayed? Yes we would.

Stayed November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Neata_Skeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here last week for 10 nights and the staff were friendly, helpful; the room was clean with great bathroom, and very secure. Also close to public transportation (bus stop a few feet away, subway 1/2 mile away); laundromat next door, a Walgreen's and CVS 5-15 mins. walk away. Walk (or drive) approx. 1/2 mile north to Hollywood Blvd and there's excellent Peruvian seafood and Thai restaurants next door to each other (on Hollywood just west of Wilton). Plenty of parking at the Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgwodeshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We arrived tired and stressed but the welcome at the desk could not have been better. We had booked for 2 nights and were given a choice of ground or first floor room and chose the latter, which had been refurbished. It was v.clean, the bed excellent, the bathroom also clean and bright. The Dreams restaurant was very good value and the waitress (? Dora) was friendly, helpful and welcoming. It was a shame that this was closed over the weekend, but ample alternatives close by. The guys at reception were more than happy to look after our luggage after we had booked out and also booked a taxi for us to LAX. Altogether a great start to our round the world trip. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilarity1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Dunes Inn on Sunset Boulevard for 3 nights. We were a little worried about the security of the room considering it is across the road from a home depot store and we noticed a lot of people lingering around the area when we checked in, but we had no issues. Upon checkin we were given our room keys and the tv remote (you had to return it upon check out). Once we got in the room we were pleasently suprised at the size given the price, big open style bathroom with the option of shower head or hand held, a fridge at no extra cost, and a comfy bed and clean, one thing it was missing was an alarm clock. The location is a little bit further than expected to get to the hot spots in Hollywood, but considering we were there for 3 nights and going to Downtown LA for the basketball for 2 of those nights we didnt really mind.

The only downfall we had was from the attitude from one of the people at the front desk. Checkout is not until 11am, and considering we were leaving for Australia that day we wanted to use all our time wisley as our flight was not until 10:45pm that same day so we wanted to be organised. At about 10:30am we got a call from the front desk asking us why we hadn't checked out yet, then we got told that checkout was at 11am which we already knew. My fiance had rang the front desk the previous day and asked if it was okay for us to store our luggage there and had explained that we had 4 big suitcases (LA was our last stop on a month trip to america) and our flight was later, they had told us that there would be no problem storing our bags there and were quite nice about it, until we checked out. We handed back our keys and the tv remote to the rude person (not the same person my fiance was talking to the previous day) and then asked if we could store our bags, he looked at us blankly and said "theres no room, we already have too many bags", we explained that we called the day earlier and they said it was fine. He replied with an attitude like it was too much hassle and asked us how long our bags would be there for, then proceeded to open the door and told us "well come on, im not going to carry your bags for you", we didnt expect him to anyway we were just waiting for him to tell us where to put them.

Room Tip: Ask for room 125, as it is not facing the road and it is behind the restaurant so more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keljam731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#122 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#63 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#159 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
#201 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Property: Dunes Inn - Sunset
Address: 5625 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dunes Inn on Sunset, you can enjoy the charms of historic Hollywood during your stay in Los Angeles. You can choose from a single Queen size, two Double beds or two Queen beds. Each room is equipped with satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating unit and hairdryer for your convenience. Every room projects a tranquil environment so that you can feel at home after a long day exploring the thrills of Los Angeles. All of our rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. Our Hollywood CA hotel is located half a block east of the 101 freeway in Hollywood on famous Sunset Boulevard. In-hotel services include free wireless internet, parking, ice & vending machines on-site and a laundromat down the street. Some members of our helpful and friendly staff have been working as long as 20 years to make our guests feel comfortable. Our front desk is open 24 hours to accommodate your needs at any time. We can answer questions, booking tours and some shows, as well as assist with shuttle service ( including a surcharge) to any destination. For your dining needs, we suggest choosing the Dreams Café and Lounge next door to the Dunes Inn Sunset. Our Sunset location is located very close to the famous Hollywood, so it is ideal for business travelers looking to catch a show or concert at the Pantages, Fonda, Dolby Theatre or Hollywood Bowl. Those looking to experience Hollywood through Hollywood and Highland, the Walk of Fame and the Wax Museum can purchase discount tickets through our front desk. You can also take an early morning jog or hike through Griffith Park, or explore the wonders of the Observatory. You can also take the Metro from Hollywood/Western to downtown Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Santa Monica and many more locations around Los Angeles. We are located 17 miles from the Los Angeles International airport and 8 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank airport. At the Dunes Inn, we take pride in accommodating guests as if they are family. Book a room at our Sunset location today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing