We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, Quiet, Clean”
Review of Dunes Inn - Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Ranked #104 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfy, Quiet, Clean”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I searched for 2 days for the location/price of a motel/hotel in the hollywood area. I knew we'd just need a clean, comfortable, quiet place. No frills, no thrills, which was fine. This is the place. The units are newly renovated with paint, carpet, shutters, counter tops, tub and shower enclosure tiled, new toilet. The only thing not new was the t.v. We got in after 1:00 a.m. so who cared? The bed was perfect, it was quiet. And the location! Fantastic! I will definitely recommend this to my friends/family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    205
    137
    43
    20
See reviews for
122
197
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Whilst clean and friendly, this hotel is located way down the easy end of sunset bvld which is basically the ghetto. I felt unsafe going outside by myself after dark and there were lots of homeless and vagrant people around the local streets. Good access to metro to Hollywood and universal studios but I recommend staying much further west.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Comfortable room; wi-fi worked great. Reasonably priced, ample parking, close to all the places I like to visit when in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jde1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were going to a comedy show off Sunset and vine and my wife was searching for a reasonably priced hotel in Hollywood that was not scary. The room was nice and clean, airy and the staff was great. There is a cafe that gives you 10% off as a hotel guest so that was a plus. Only thing was I should have asked for more pillows.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigblkdisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here well working in the area for 2 months. The Dunes is an excellent place and has a very friendly staff. Nice newly remodel rooms. I would recommend the Dunes for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaysonM1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Hotel was very clean and has just been renovated. The rooms are very small and have nothing that is not bolted to the wall, if you want an iron go to the front desk, no lamps or alarm clock. The man at the front desk for check in was not so friendly - not a good impression.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We loved our stay at the dunes. The rooms were very clean and the clerks were extremely friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant and lounge on location and the food was very good and the people very friendly. I would stay here again and hope to do so in the future. I'm glad we picked the dunes for our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are being remodeled so they are probably all just as good as ours. A nice place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#116 of 350 in Los Angeles
671 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#117 of 350 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#115 of 350 in Los Angeles
190 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#61 of 350 in Los Angeles
954 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Property: Dunes Inn - Sunset
Address: 5625 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dunes Inn on Sunset, you can enjoy the charms of historic Hollywood during your stay in Los Angeles. You can choose from a single Queen size, two Double beds or two Queen beds. Each room is equipped with satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating unit and hairdryer for your convenience. Every room projects a tranquil environment so that you can feel at home after a long day exploring the thrills of Los Angeles. All of our rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. Our Hollywood CA hotel is located half a block east of the 101 freeway in Hollywood on famous Sunset Boulevard. In-hotel services include free wireless internet, parking, ice & vending machines on-site and a laundromat down the street. Some members of our helpful and friendly staff have been working as long as 20 years to make our guests feel comfortable. Our front desk is open 24 hours to accommodate your needs at any time. We can answer questions, booking tours and some shows, as well as assist with shuttle service ( including a surcharge) to any destination. For your dining needs, we suggest choosing the Dreams Café and Lounge next door to the Dunes Inn Sunset. Our Sunset location is located very close to the famous Hollywood, so it is ideal for business travelers looking to catch a show or concert at the Pantages, Fonda, Dolby Theatre or Hollywood Bowl. Those looking to experience Hollywood through Hollywood and Highland, the Walk of Fame and the Wax Museum can purchase discount tickets through our front desk. You can also take an early morning jog or hike through Griffith Park, or explore the wonders of the Observatory. You can also take the Metro from Hollywood/Western to downtown Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Santa Monica and many more locations around Los Angeles. We are located 17 miles from the Los Angeles International airport and 8 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank airport. At the Dunes Inn, we take pride in accommodating guests as if they are family. Book a room at our Sunset location today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing