We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #44 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Breakfasts have been great - cooked to your preferences. Chef Hugo and his associates are customer friendly and their meals are delicious.

Front desk tries to meet all needs in a very professional, thoughtful manner.

The facility is very comfortable, clean and has great amenities, including its pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FromAngie2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    957
    393
    155
    171
See reviews for
721
739
156
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have been a lot hotels with fewer stars but with better accomondations than The Holywood Hotel..., i would have rated with three stars because of useless internet and partly out of order fittness room (neither which couldn't be solved in ten days), the plumming was worn out and ventilation was loud with little or no effect...
BUT... The kindness and willing service I recieved from Gisel gives the hotel the last to stars in my rating.. Allways helpful, thinking for herself, ever smiling, involving and problemsolving.... She made up for all the dispointment I had in entering a four-star hotel barely worth three..
I will properly use the hotel again, if I go back to Hollywood..:)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good wifi connection..
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not see anything that is not common in that line of business...
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Novdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent spot. Great breakfast, it's free every day and the chef Hugo is great with guests!!! He makes a Great omelette! Staff was all very helpful and I will be coming back next year!! Location was great


Room Tip: Very good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Worst customer service ever!!!!
Gisel hernandez and the kitchen staff provided the worst customer service. The breakfast is terrible. They watch you like a hawk and you get only one omellete, even though it says breakfast buffet. The rooms looks better on pictures but in reality its like a motel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1205polyqween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The room was clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. Hugo, the guy manning the omelette station made great food and was very personable. The only issue was the computers weren't working when I checked in so that sort of set us back 20 minutes but that's it.

Overall I had a great experience.

Craig.kotte@gmail.com

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We returned once again to the Hollywood Hotel. The room we stay in is perfect as it has a slider door to the outside and I travel with a service dog. The breakfast is still good and the room is large and clean. Issues still remain. The front desk staff especially Michael G is rude. On two separate days maid service skipped us entirely. The bordering street Lexington was loud on the weekend. Good luck. Never quite sure what you'll find.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here one night. The hotel room was clean and comfortable and it was great to have breakfast included. Location is not as great as other reviews suggest. Good for Griffith Park and observatory but quite a drive from anything else. Parking is not free which I would expect to have included - $22. We did not realise there was a pool until we were leaving which was a shame. The hotel staff could have pointed this out but then we had such an unhelpful and rude receptionist which unfortunately has coloured our view of this hotel. I cannot really recommend and would not return. There are plenty of other hotels in LA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prince03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,596 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,870 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
611 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing