We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugo rules!”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #52 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel was better than I expected and the breakfast was awesome. Hugo is very pleasant and takes care of the customers by making you a custom omelet. He's the man! Hugo rules!
The room was clean and maid service was awesome. My microwave didn't work and they put a brand new one in my room within minutes. Good staff.

Room Tip: I think if you're facing the courtyard it will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FootballJohnnyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We missed our flight and only can stay for few hours in this hotel, however the receptionist let us stay till the evening without extra charge.
The 1st impression was about the location which is very near to Hollywood sign and the Walk of Fame too. The bed was comfortable and it was King size, with everything is clean and clear.
The hotel also can arrange the tour for you within few hours as your wish, I guess they partner with different tour agents here so very convenience to us.
To sum up, we love this hotel as their service and their location ;)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a great weeks stay here. Awesome breakfast everyday and the staff were always happy to help. Rooms were very clean. Only down side we could see was there were no nearby attractions but we had a car so it did not affect us at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Hotel says non-smoking, but the whole hotel smelled of pot and cigarettes... The bed was so hard. It's in a shady area and no where near tourists attractions. The service was also terrible. Just stay away from this place !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah4577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisel M, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest...

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the conditions described in your review. There is certainly no excuse so I will not try to offer one.

I can assure you that we are focused on continually improving everything about the hotel and I do hope that you will give us another chance.


Sincerely

Gisel Miller
Hollywood Hotel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a good stay for a week here. The best part was the morning breakfast until 10:30. Hugo was great and makes the best omelets around. Close to the metro. The only negative was that even if you have the do not disturb sign on the door cleaning service will come in anyway so don't bother.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Positives: close to metro. Awesome breakfast.. waffles and omlettes everyday! Nice courtyard. Friendly helpfull staff. Rental cars on site.
Negatives: I specifically asked for a high courtyard renovated room. (From other comments on trip advisor) however they put us in a road room. I complained and told them but they had not kept my note on file. They moved us to courtyard room. However it was not renovated. They also charged us twice which put our account in overdraft. This took 12 days to refund us back... as they wouldnt put a credit through and we had to wait for the hold transaction to expire (useless). The areas a bit dodgey... a homeless man lives right outside. Rooms need renovated... they are a bit rough. Carpet in corridoors smells....
Ill let u decide but I wont be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank builder4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisel M, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest...

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the conditions described in your review. There is certainly no excuse so I will not try to offer one.

I can assure you that we are focused on continually improving everything about the hotel and I do hope that you will give us another chance.


Sincerely

Gisel Miller
Hollywood Hotel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hollywood Hotel for 4 nights and found the hotel to be a bit far from anywhere. Having only a few days to explore the tourist areas, we had to catch a subway down to the main area. The hotel seemed to be in a bit of a dodgy area for a hotel we thought was in the heart of Hollywood!
The hotel itself was nice- comfy bed, good breakfast and amenities like pool and gym. Next time we will look for somewhere walking distance to restaurants, shops and tourist sites. If it was just a little closer to the main area we would have been very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,188 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#13 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,212 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#80 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029-1729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £125 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing