We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel with free breakfast”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #67 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

For anyone looking for a glamorous hotel in the prime location of Hollywood, you'll be disappointed. The room is tight and not very modern. There is however complementary breakfast which may somewhat offset the lack of food choices in the typical LA neighborhood (busy & safe but not Beverly Hills).

An important safety issue to note is that you must make sure to fully close the door. Once I walked into the wrong room because that guest's room wasn't locked despite being closed. Later I discovered the door in my room was also not fully secured. I suspect the doors are old and quiet loose. Be sure to tighten the door handle when you go out.

This is really a hit and miss hotel depending on what rate you get the room at.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,509)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,509 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel and it's facilities were good, and it is well located near subway station. We booked through expedia and got the spa suite which advertised it slept up to 4 people and an infant. We'd stayed in similar rooms and assumed it had a sofa bed. It was paid for and closer to the date we arrived we were told that we would need to pay extra for a roll out bed. When we queried this they advised that the room only had a king bed and although it advertises for up to 4 people we would need to hire the extra bed.

Expedia were very helpful and eventually refunded that amount to us, but their advertising and charging left a sour taste.

Also, be careful if you hire from Advanced car, which is located at Hollywood Hotel. We booked a car after seeing the price advertised on the counter. When we went to collect it, the car actually cost $10 more than the advertised price. And despite the cars being parked at the hotel overnight when not rented, they charge for parking if you do rent the car. Doesn't make sense to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The Plpictures on the website looked good and it turned out to be really disappointing. The photo on website of the main entrance is from the rear car park.
Rooms are not great with a microwave on top of an oven. Seriously?! The hotel is old and the room we got into was even smelling of cooked food.


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank yogi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were supposed to have two queen beds, but they had change it to one king bed. This was dissapointing, and there were no more rooma available. Rooms were clean but tiny. There is a sauna and a pool, and nice garden. Breakfast was very good, custom made omelettes etc.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Topi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

i rarely write bad reviews, but really need to warn other potential victims not to be attracted by the glamorous name and location of this appalling place. It is miles away from Hollywood, in Vermont, or Downtown LA. it is on a main road. The staff are surly and unhelpful. When I asked whether someone could help my 2 daughters and I with our luggage, I may as well have been speaking a different language. Rooms old fashioned, uncomfortable and over priced. When we encountered a cockroach in our room ( I kid you not), the manageress seemed put out at my request to go to another room ( it was too late to transfer), and argued with me about whether the rate/cost would be waived. We obviously checked out first thing the next day. PS Avoid the breakfast. indescribably bad.WE have re named this 'the Cockroach Inn'.

Room Tip: some rooms have been modernised
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank 864amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A very nice staff, clean rooms and the best bed ever. Air condition worked great and was much needed. Only minus about the rooms was that there was no key to the bathroom. Location in west Hollywood was OK, and if you had a car it would take you roughly 1 hour to get to the beach, and 10 minutes to walk of fame... We were very happy...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amura91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June in a group of six. Hotel is fairly outdated but the staff are helpful and the limo driver is amazing. It has free wifi (a huge draw for us) decent free breakfast and the rooms are huge. They helped us hire cars, get pedicures and rent a limo driver for the night and was all so cheap. It's not exactly within walking distance of a lot of places but it wasn't too hard to get around in a hire car. Overall it was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole255333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,748 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#70 of 352 in Los Angeles
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,144 reviews
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 352 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £140 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing