We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Nice Surprise!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #55 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
17
Reviewed 19 April 2005

I must start by saying that a four point review, such as this, means "Above average". Anyway, that being said; this hotel was surprisingly lovely!! I only say "surprisingly" because after we booked the hotel, I was still looking around, and found some really bad reviews of this Hotel. Nevertheless, we were attending the GRAMMY'S and time was running out.

We stayed there from the 10th of Feb thru the 15th, and the accommodations,especially for the price, were just fantastic! We had a mini-fridge and microwave, and may I add, a very nice clean room. The hotel staff were all very pleasant as well.

After reading some reviews, I was a bit scared. Thankfully, it was more of a dream stay, than a nightmare!

BOTTOM LINE: If you are going to a hotel in C.A., (which is literally next to just about every tourist attraction in Hollywood and L.A.), to just stay in the room, please pick another hotel. However, if you're looking for a great hotel at an awesome price, this is the one!

If anyone's interested; Sad to say, no GRAMMY"S were won, but, we did win at the Ramada Inn-Hollywoood!!!

Hope this review helps!

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,932 - 1,938 of 2,601 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Essex, UK
13
Reviewed 17 April 2005

I was a bit nervous about staying at this hotel due to the bad reviews on here, but I was pleasently surprised. I will agree that it's not the nicest neighbourhood for a hotel to be situated in, but in no way is it dangerous. Me and my friend walked every night to the Wendy's, which is only a five minute walk away, and the only thing we encountered was alot of homeless people asking for change.

We found the staff to be very helpful, even sometimes going out of there way to help. Just before our trip to Six Flags, a woman behind reception spent the best part of 30 minutes trying to find ways to save us money on the admission fee, and she did. She went onto Six Flags' website and found out about an offer Burger King were running which saved us around $30 on the entrance fee.

The hotel is in a great location, near to Universal Studios, Hollywood Boulevard and the Staples Center. As I mentioned before there is a Wendy's restaurent a five minute walk away and also a Rite Aid for picking up snacks and drinks for your room.

The only slight problem we had was our keycards decided not to work, and we had to have reception re-encode almost daily.

Apart from that small problem, we had a great time and I'd recommend it to most people.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Marseille , France
11
Reviewed 15 March 2005

We stayed there 4 nights after having prepaid with Expedia for 5 nights. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionnist told us that it was all sold out.
So, he sent us to another place, a Best Western Hotel, where we had to pay another 150$ plus taxi and breakfast.

The next day, we went back to the Ramada where finally we could have a room for the rest of the stay. But the guy in charge, the front desk "manager" was unfair and rude, he said that he would for sure compensate for nothing. We are now trying to have Expedia sending us the money back.The rest of the staff, especially at breakfast, are extremely friendly and helpful, but management should learn some good customer service skills.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Canada
14
Reviewed 5 March 2005

My friend and I stayed between Feb 22-27. The staff were friendly and accomadating, the breakfast was more than contentinal. It is close to a metro stop and the staff know the town fairly well. Overall it was exactly what you would expect from a name brand hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2005

Wow, not sure how it got a bad wrap. I had prepaid for the room before reading the comments, so I was a little scared before going on my trip. I was very pleasantly surprised, it was beautiful. The lobby was like a 5 star hotel. My room was lovely and included a free breakfast, I think I got a very good deal on the room.

4  Thank ChefGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Canada
14
Reviewed 14 February 2005

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2005

7  Thank lilfish5626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,861 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,039 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#67 of 355 in Los Angeles
679 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#81 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,793 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029-1729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £131 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing