We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Ever Again...”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #44 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Never Ever Again...”
Reviewed 16 August 2005

I am an avid traveler who does not need 5 star accomadations to be happy, but I do expect to get what I pay for, and this was not the case... They did not tell me that hotel was on the outskirts of Hollywood, hard to find, and it was not anywhere I would walk around outside at anytime of the day, all of the business around had bars up on the windows and doors.

We found old strawberries in our fridge in the room, the beds were awful, they left signs in the bathrooms stating exactly what you would be charged if you stole one their sand paper towels, and another sign next to the toilet saying not to call them if you pluged it up.

The fron desk was also no help, I asked on Saturday what time Universal was open until, they told me 8:00 ( with little confidence) and after checking my self it was 9:00. They were also very slow, no one was any hurry to help you out.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    957
    393
    155
    171
See reviews for
721
739
156
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2005

decent hotel at a decent price. close enough to the sights.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markgasmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2005

Booked a TWIN room because we're two guys travelling together. The reservations centre confirmed this however on arrival they told us we would have to share a bed. No offer of helping us out with a roll away bed or any other option. The staff are rude, the rooms very worn - it's basically a low cost, low quality option. The property is in a really sketchy part of town with loads of street people around. I didn't feel safe at all. Additionally the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door meant nothing to housekeepers......they just come in. Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamonixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 July 2005

old facility, needs cosmetic updates all around. If your purpose is the beach, this is a good inexpensive location. If you're looking for a true resort, look elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 June 2005

First of all, its a stretch to call this Hollywood. This is a VERY funky part of the west part of downtown. You can get better deals just looking for a hotel downtown. I woud not walk to this Metro station.

Its not a 3 star hotel - -its a converted motor court. It has no on-site restaurant and you should NOT venture out at night. It has a breakfast that you should really skip - little squares of powdered eggs with toast is not breakfast. The coffee tasted like it was filtered through nicotine. But maybe thats because the stench of nicotine covered me in my "non-smoking" room. The sheets and pillows were saturated with cigarette smell. Perhaps the most delightful feature was the flickering blue flourescent light found outside your barred window at night that was reminiscent of a flophouse. It was horrid. Parking here is about $10 a night.

I couldn't wait to leave. I danced a jig.

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2005

We stayed here on the last 2 nights of our holiday around the west and had a pleasant experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was modern and clean. Breakfast was good and had plenty of choice. Dissappointed that the pool was closed but we did not get time to use it anyway. The hotel was easy to find despite Vermont Avenue being about 20 miles long! By looking at the map we thought we could walk to places of interest but upon arrival we realised this would be impossible. We did not leave the hotel except by car or on a tour bus although the area looked quite safe. Universal Studios and Hollywood are about 10 minutes in the car so location is good. The tour buses are a bit over priced for what they are but they save you having to drive and look at the sights at the same time. Hollywood was not what we expected and we are not in much hurry to rush back.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oandl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 June 2005

After staying in Vegas and Anaheim we were looking forward to Los Angeles.
When we arrived the hotel receptionist was in a full blown arguement with a guest...what ever happened to the customer always being right.
The room on first impressions was ok. But after three days of the toilet not flushing and the TV working when it wanted, it got a bit annoying.
These defects were reported every morning, but the toilet only ever flushed twice until not working again until the next morning.
Unfortunately we had two young children, who were asleep very soon after returning from a day out, and the option of getting a plumber in to fix the toilet in the evenings was impractical as it would of woke our children.
On asking the reception staff for directions or advice on were to go, it was very obvious that they had better things to do, unless you payed them for one of there trips.
As for leaving the hotel room at night....forget it. This truely is not a tourist area and I live in Glasgow.
I would recommend this hotel to NOBODY in fact I would not recommend Los Angeles to anyone either. The only nice part of Los Angeles is Universal, Six Flags and going home. We will never visit again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,596 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,870 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
611 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing