We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel is clean and quiet”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #44 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Hotel is clean and quiet”
Reviewed 5 February 2006

I stayed in this hotel which is in north hollywood, in the month of january. The hotel was clean and quiet...the neighborhood is a little edgy but not undesirable for a stay at least in my opinion.
The hotel room was large with basic furniture and the food was good. The carpet should be changed but overall i enjoyed my stay and you are close to places of interest..

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    957
    393
    155
    171
See reviews for
721
739
156
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 February 2006

I booked this hotel over the internet, and I was not familiar with Los Angeles at all.
Upon arrival, it was dusk, and the neighbourhood was very intimidating. We were less than pleased, and though we were booked for 5 nights we debated about moving hotels immediately. However we ventured out (in a car) and sunset and hollywood blvds. are only a minute drive.
The hotel was fine, the food was fine, and the nieghbourhood is a little rough around the edges, but follow the protocol you'd follow in any major city, and you'll be fine.
A car is handy as well.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 January 2006

My sisters and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights during our California vacation at the end of June 2005. Other than the pool being closed for renovations, we had no problems. The location is absolutely great! It was very easy to get to the major highways and there's a Metro station about a minute away. We were worried about the "noisy nightclub" that we'd read about in other TripAdvisor reviews of this hotel, but we slept soundly and noise-free every night. The buffet breakfast was waffles, eggs, sausage and fruit. It wasn't 5-star dining but it wasn't bad either. This Ramada was a great value for a hotel near Hollywood and Universal Studios! I'd stay at the Ramada Hollywood again.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 December 2005

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel itself is ok but in a very bad area, everthing closes at 9pm. No resturant onsite except for the average breakfast so dining elsewhere or calling dominos on Sunset for delivery is the only option. In room internet didn't work and the bedclothes were burned with cigarettes despite it being a non smoking room. Paying $9 a day for parking is also a bad point.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2005

We arrived at LAX and got the free shuttle bus to the green metro line - what an experience! - scary at first as two 20-something english ladies with huge suitcases stuck out like a sore thumb attracting a lot of attention but we found the people were really nice!

We found the Ramada easily - 2 minutes walk up from the Santa Monica metro stop (and about 4 minutes down from the perhaps less scary looking Sunset Boulevard stop) and first impressions thought it was a bad area, we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor overlooking a little courtyard. The room was clean, very comfortable bed with fridge and microwave and good shower. 3 star is about right for this hotel, although we've stayed in many 4 stars in england that are about of this standard and the 4 star in san diego we stayed in was worse than this. The hotel breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. The receptionists well helpful and friendly also.

We ventured out at night on the metro to Hollywood Boulevard to see the sights, only 3 or 4 stops away and it was fine, a few homeless people about but I'd say the area around the hotel is more of a poor area than a rough one, and people seemed to keep themselves to themselves.

The metro doesn't stretch to West Hollywood/Beverley Hills or Santa Monica and the coast so for the next 4 nights caught the number 4 bus or the 304 bus ($2.25 all day pass for all of LA metro AND bus) which runs along Santa Monica boulevard and to West Hollywood where we found a great restaurant called the Spanish Kitchen and many great gay bars.

The bus, like the metro, seemed scary at first but it was fine. The locals do tend to look you up and down a bit but I only think its because they don't get a lot of nice looking well dressed ladies on the bus after dark!

We also caught the bus to Santa Monica although with the awful traffic jams it did take over an hour.

You don't NEED a car in LA, we managed quite well with the bus and train, managing to get to Universal Studios in 10 minutes by metro, Hollywood Boulevard in less than 10 minutes and West Hollywood bars and restaurants in 25-30 minutes.

We even caught the Amtrak train to San Diego from Union Station for $25 each and it took about 2 and a half hours.

Overall an excellent stay in LA and I would recommend the hotel for people on a budget or travelling around the States.

We loved LA and Hollywood, we would definitely go again though would probably stay at the Ramada West Hollywood as this was more central for what we wanted to do.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kblt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2005

This was the second part of our LA Vacaction and having stayed here in the past both on business and pleasure, I knew the area and hotel well.

I did find the staff to be a little on the straightforward side. NOT overly friendly but professional.

Our room was immaculately clean but even with the DND sign on the door, the maid came in and cleaned anyhow.

For a hotel chain that is supposed to offer Complimentary wireless internet and oops bag (forgotton bathroom amenities), they lacked. I did get my high speed internet but it came with a price tag and No oops bag (Doesn't that dock QA points).

Although the neighborhood isn't the best, we didn't feel unsafe and even made use of the Metro (Subway) to spend the day at Universal Studios (beats the parking cost)and walked home in the late night after an evening at Universal City Walk.

Their complimentary continental breakfast was probably the best I have had in my travels. Good Job!

We will return in the future but I have found hotels closer to where I need to be too.

Helpful?
6 Thank ScottCowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 November 2005

I just wanted to take this opportunity to express the wonderful service I received on my recent visit to California. My stay at the Ramada Hollywood was somewhere between excellent and outstanding. It was just perfect. My husband and I were observing our 10th anniversary and we wanted to come to Hollywood. We were greeted with warmth, hospitality, and absolute courteous during our entire stay. In fact, we had problems with our initial room but were upgraded to even greater accommodations. We appreciate it and thank the staff. Grisel Hernandez at the front desk was excellent. She was knowledgeable and kind and had a wide smile to put anyone at ease. Ramada Hollywood management should be proud to have such wonderful representation. She is the best. In fact, all the staff was courteous and helpful. Grisel was just the lady we dealt with specifically. We liked her. It's nice to know that you can travel in this country and be met with honest and hard working people whose customer service is suberb. Thank you Ramada Hollywood for the opportunity of sharing in your hospitality and we will be returning again. We are telling our friends.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,596 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,870 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
611 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing