We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ranked #117 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old and bad service”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

According to the reviews the hotel was good. No! The hotel is not good! Apart from the location, which is great, there's nothing worth the price paid. The service of front desk staff is very bad: they are rude and make no effort to help, at all. The breakfast was poor and always the same. Most times the buns/ bread was served almost frozen! The only good thing was the cleanliness of our room (made ​​by Mary I) that although old, was very large and very well cleaned every day. Thank you Mary!
As a suggestion, the hotel must urgently renew all carpets (rooms, the breakfast area and lobby / hall).
Just for the record: they charge about $ 8/day for parking your car, which is not a big deal, since parking is a rarity in LA.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hello Dear;
I am so sorry to hear we have failed to meet your expectations. I do want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as this tells us what an Amazing opportunity for Growth we have. I will share your comments with my staff and ownership to cure such defaults hoping no one experiences shuch a horrible stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    592
    413
    126
    95
See reviews for
520
497
83
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Days Inn. It was within walking distance to many tourist sites, clean and the staff friendly and helpful. $8/day for parking is a great deal in this area and there are many places to eat nearby (In & Out Burger right next door, IHOP across the street). I'd definately go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgrl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hello;

Thank you so much for sharing your experince about your most recent stay with us! We sure hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This hotel is located in a good location if you want to see the sights of hollywood. It is only a few minutes walk to where the tourist buses leave from. It was also only one underground stop to Universal Studios. The hotel was clean but was nothing spectacular. I found it a bit odd that the window in our room was in front of the hotel corridor. It made you feel a little penned in. Overall I would stay here again although if you do, do not expect anything luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hello;
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us during your most recent visit to our City. All of our Standard Rooms have a windos that faces our interior corridors. We hope to have you back soon and please be sure to ask for a Pool View room or an Upgraded room. Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Average chain hotel, staff were nice, the room was quite clean and I was surprised to get a fridge and microwave, both of which were nice and clean. The bathroom was decent sized and clean. I had a strange room where the window opened into an interior hallway, but that didn't bother me, the AC worked fine and there were thick curtains to pull over the windows.

The best part is the location, I like being able to walk to major sites and wander through hollywood, easy access to main routes and roads make it a great central spot to see LA and area. It was easy to get to the airport, highways, and all the site seeing, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capatillergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hello;

Thank you so much for your cooments about our hotel and glad to hear you had a great stay for the most part. Our Standard rooms have a window facing the hallways however; on your next visit which we hope is soon; remember to ask for a room with a pool view or an Upgraded Room. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great location within easy walking distance to Hollywood Blvd attractions and metro station (take to Universal Studios). Also convenient for hop on hop off sightseeing bus.
Room was a bit small (difficulty fitting 2 adult suitcases in) but was clean & bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful, free wifi and free breakfast were added bonus and very convenient. Plenty of take away options around the hotel as well.
Good value for the area and can't beat the location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dskwm_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hello;

Thank you for commenting about your stay at our hotel during your most recent visit to our City! We are Grateful you decided to stay with us and hope to see you back soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN DIEGO
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This place was everything i expected....nothing real fancy just good hotel and conveinient location.Room was clean and had decent little breakfast.Close to everything!!Parking for $8 dollars is well worth it.Lots of places to eat are very near by as well!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenssong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hello Steven;
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us! Glad to hear your enjoyed your stay. Please allow us to assit you with your lodging needs on your next visit which we hope is soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This was my first visit to LA and I was delighted with the location of this hotel. We were within a short walk of the main sites on Hollywood Boulevard and we used the nearby metro station to visit other attractions including universal studios. This is a great hotel to stay in if you're not planning on renting a car because of its central Hollywood location. We were in LA for 5 days and walked to all the local sites and used public transport to get around with very little difficulty.
The free hotel breakfast was good and there was a choice of juices, tea, coffee, bagels, pastries, cereal, fruit, etc. The vending machines in the hotel were very reasonably priced and had a good range of drinks and snacks. There are a few places to eat nearby, including the ihop across the road, the In n Out burger next door and a 24 hour Subway a short walk away.
The room itself was excellent value. It was clean and comfortable and the free wifi was useful but a little inconsistent. Our room faced into the pool area so this was a little noisy sometimes during the day. Overall however we were delighted with this hotel and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfishkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your most recent visit to our City! We are so Gratefull you made the choice to stay with us and we hope to see you back soon! Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,112 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#76 of 351 in Los Angeles
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 351 in Los Angeles
398 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#180 of 351 in Los Angeles
374 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#192 of 351 in Los Angeles
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Property: Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Address: 7023 W Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-7509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios Hotel Los Angeles
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing