We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ranked #120 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Brighton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. When we checked in, we realized our room faced the back of the hotel. We immediately requested a street-facing room and were told one wouldn't be clean for about another hour, but the staff would hold our bags and deliver them to the room ASAP. We went about our afternoon and came back to a comfortable room with our bags lined up in the closet. The breakfast was adequate. Parking was horrible. The spaces (much like the rest of LA) were all designed for small cars. I had to continually let me passengers out before parking our rented Nissan Altima and then squeeze myself out after parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello;

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Days Inn Hollywood-Universal Hotel. We are happy we were able to meet your expectation with the exemption of our parking spaces. Thank you so much and we hope to be able to serve you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    594
    418
    129
    95
See reviews for
526
499
85
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Attended the Playboy Jazz Festival (before going to the beach) & this hotel was right in the center of things - next to fast food & other restaurants - and it was actually walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl - as I found out - by following the crowd - and a street over from the bus/shuttle to the event. We felt SO safe there, as we needed to use our reader card for everything, rooms, doors to the rooms - elevators... & we liked that because of the busyness in Hollywood - you felt no one could just go through the building. My daughter enjoyed the pool.

Room Tip: If you're booking - maybe you'll want to stay on the 2nd floor for a slight view or good bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saleemah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello;

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our staff and management take pride in knowing that we were able to make your Hollywood vacation a pleasant experience. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service.
We are happy that you were able to enjoy our facilities and amenities as well, and that they were a great value for you. Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Hollywood a memorable one.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We picked this Hotel for it's location and for this it's perfect. Arround the corner from the Chinese theatre and walking distance from supermarkets and most hollywood attractions. Also next to what we discovered are the yummiest hamburger chain In and out. Our room was a good size and overlooked the pool. It was clean but alittle dated and in need of a makeover. I really can't say enough about the staff, they where just wonderful. So friendly and helpful. As it was really hot the pool was a godsend. Hotel was just tired but as we didn't spend alot of thime there didn't really matter. Also had good sized fridge so we could bring in food to eat.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and was cooler for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us at the Days Inn Hollywood-Universal Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and our service. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have stayed at this this hotel many times. It is a clean and comfortable, the staff are very helpful and it is close to transport and 2 min walk to Hollywood Blvd. Would recommend this hotel for a stay in LA.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello;

Thank you so much for your continuing support and for sharing your experience during your stays at our Days Inn Hollywood-Universla Hotel. We are glad to be of service and hope to be able to serve you in many more stays! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We were quite happy with this hotel. We were travelling with a family of 5 and only spent 1 night there. It is in a great location close to the Hollywood Boulevard - 5 minute easy walk. The breakfast was ample with a bit of variety compared to some places we have stayed at. Was an easy drive to Universal Studios.

Our room was quite large, plenty of room for 2 adults 3 kids. Reception staff were pleasant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bristraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us at the Days Inn Hollywood-Universal Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leer
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the D.I. for one night (we planned to stay two, but left early). Although the location is ok for sightseeing etc. and parking at 10$ is affordable, the rooms are tiny. We got a room at 1st floor with no outside window and very thin walls! Maybe it´s better at 2nd floor, who knows...would not do it again, sorry!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello;

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your most recent experience at our hotel. We are sorry to hear we failed to meet your expectations. We do our best in providing all of our guests with a high standard of service, comfort and quality at affordable prices; we are disappointed we failed.
Please know if you wish to give us another opportunity sometime in the near future; we would be more than happy to have you as our guest. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Mount Vernon, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am normally very optimstic and complimentary when it comes to writing reviews, but I just can't muster it up for this location. Although it is pretty central to everything, it really was an awful stay for us. The walls are paper thin (truly) and you can hear everyone around you. We had a bottom floor room near the pool (Room 127) and we couldn't escape the noise. We could hear the floors creaking from the people above us, people yelling near the pool, people int he hallway, etc. The air conditioner (which was an upper wall mounted unit right over the walkway into the room) leaked so much that we had to put the ice bin on the floor underneath it. The beds were not comfortable and the pillows were air-filled/lumpy. The bathroom was TINY. My father, who is 6'4" and a little larger than most men, would not have fared well in this room. The carpets were stained, the walls were missing paint... it just seemed outdated.

As for the surrounding areas, I was very grateful as a younger woman that my fiancee was with me because the surrounding blocks become very seedy at night. Example: Even driving our rental, there was a man sitting right behind the garage door opening where you slide your room key into and he was obviously out of sorts (drugged or otherwise). It made me feel very uncomfortable. We also walked quite a bit and there are homeless people on every park bench, bus stop, front lawn, etc. that you can imagine. We both felt uncomfortable.

Pros:
It IS a central location.
They do provide indoor parking at a $10 per day rate which is worth it for this area. We saw a lot of cars being towed...like 3 at a time. They're serious about it.
They provide a continental breakfast which is mainly bagels, toast, bananas, yogurt, coffee.
The front desk area is very clean and the woman who helped us was very pleasant.
They have a pool.
In N Out burger is literally right next door and there is an IHOP immediately across the street.

We paid $150 or so for the room per night + tax + tourism fee + parking and we wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello;

Thank you for letting us know of your recent experience at our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to restate our mission to provide excellent service to every one of our guests.
I apologize deeply for any inconveniences that you experienced with us. Let it be known that your opinion counts and we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. The quality of our service is of the utmost importance to us - as you can see from all other reviews - and we work diligently to maintain our high standards by recruiting and training the right people for the job.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again sometime in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,130 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#187 of 350 in Los Angeles
583 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#77 of 350 in Los Angeles
334 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 350 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Property: Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Address: 7023 W Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-7509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios Hotel Los Angeles
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing