We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ranked #117 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Lake Butler, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Son and I spent a week in L.A. this past July and while there we stayed at the Days Inn on Sunset. It was a wonderful stay. Not only was the staff extremely friendly and helpful but we were close to everything. we were able to walk to Hollywood Blvd and for most other places take a short cab ride or catch the Metro. Our main reason for going was to see Queen + Adam Lambert in concert and was thrilled to learn we were only about 15 miles out from the venue.

We had a suite with a queen bed which was perfect for us. We had plenty of room to move around and was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. Our rooms were kept clean and well stocked everyday.

Breakfast was small just bagels, danishes, cereal along with juice, coffee and tea bit it was enough to keep us happy till lunch.

Overall our stay was a great one and when i go back this is my place of choice. Can't think of a better place to stay for such a great price.

Room Tip: Personally for me all the rooms are good ones however if you want a balcony to si on then ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello;

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our staff and management at the Days Inn Hollywood take pride in knowing that we were able to make your Hollywood vacation a pleasant experience. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service.
We are happy that you were able to enjoy our facilities and amenities as well, and that they were a great value for you. Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Hollywood a memorable one.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    574
    399
    120
    94
See reviews for
505
482
80
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located close to Chase ATM, IHOP, gas station, in and out burger and 10 min walk to Hollywood walk of fame. The nearest metro station is Hollywood/highland and it's about 10 min walk from the hotel. The hotel has basic breakfast/ no eggs. The pool was small but nice. The service at the front desk should be improved as I thought the lady working there didn't like what she was doing. Overall rooms were okay, so I'd stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Be_Melodyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello;

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations - as it is our goal to exceed the expectations of every one of our guests.
Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Hollywood your best vacation yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlet, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

For the price and location, this place was a home run. Being able to walk to all the Hollywood attractions made it worth its weight in gold. The room was clean, however, could use some upgrading. They are also on the small side, so keep that in mind if you have a family of more than 3. The underground parking garage for $10 per day was very convenienent. There is an inground pool which was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Days Inn Hollywood Hotel. We at the Days Inn Hollywood appreciate your time in sharing your experience with other. We hope to be able to see you back soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This property is only fair in my opinion. Rooms were clean but in need of repair - baseboards coming off wall, for example. Breakfast was standard continental fare, I suggest going somewhere else for breakfast (like Mel's Diner a few blocks away - schlocky fun and pretty good food). You're splurging going to Hollywood, spend a few bucks extra for a nice meal.

Speaking of location - this is what this property has going for it. It's literally two blocks from the Hollywood Walk of Fame (and all the stars in the sidewalk). Two blocks from Grauman's Chinese Theater. Three blocks from Dolby Theatre. Walk everywhere in Hollywood.

Pretty reasonable rates, much cheaper than the boutique hotels in the area - and if you're a tourist, you shouldn't be spending time in your room anyway! Get out there and check Hollywood out! Take the Ultimate Hollywood Tour. It's fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location, great rooms, staff very helpful and friendly and a great price.

Only problem I had was the use of paper plates and cups provided every morning for the breakfast- this is totally environmentally unfriendly and so wasteful.

I did see that they try to be environmentally friendly with the bedding , but hopefully they could re think for the future about not using paper plates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexisonfire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable. We are constantly doing our best to improve our property and to be environmentally friendly; it is only taking us a little longer because of the age of our hotel but we hope to make all these changes very soon. Thanks again.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first 3 nights of our US holiday. The check in was simple and quick although the guy that did our check in certainly couldn't be called friendly or helpful. The room we got was at the back so was nice and quiet, the room itself was clean and comfortable but not overly big. The bathroom was small and cramped but functional, and well appointed. The Queen size bed was very comfortable one of the better ones I've had anywhere.
Free WiFi in the rooms was advertised but I think our room was too far away as the signal stopped as soon as we walked into the room, I spoke to reception everyday and they promised to get it sorted out but it never happened.
All in all a nice clean and comfortable place to stay that's only 5 minutes walk to Hollywood Boulevard and the 'Walk of Fame'. The hotel name infers it is close to Universal Studios, it certainly ISN'T. Not a huge distance but a $15.00 cab ride and 10 to 15 minutes can't be called close. Would we stay here again? Yes but it wouldn't be our first pick.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but have no views, Rooms around the pool looked great and the pool close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mundo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We are sorry to hear you were not greeted appropriately and we will address your concerns to the corresponding agent on duty as we will also check with our IT department to correct the Internet connection. Thank you so much for bringing this up to our attention.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedy Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Rooms are aged but clean and the beds are comfortable. Showers are good and comes with a free limited self service breakfast. The pools is fairly small but plenty of sun beds. Good value for money. Location is one block back from the Chinese Theatre with the hand-prints of the stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive_Sally_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello;

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations - as it is our goal to exceed the expectations of every one of our guests.
Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Hollywood your best vacation yet.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#65 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Property: Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Address: 7023 W Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-7509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios Hotel Los Angeles
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing