We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worked or me”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #158 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“worked or me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here in 2011. Was good for us with what we needed it for, sleep. I guess we lucked out and got a quiet weekend. When waiting for our airport taxi some hookers were getting harrassed by cops out on the sidewalk for screaming and one looked like they had gotten pimp slapped.
Good entertainment. Better than those cheesy wax museums.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    36
    46
    24
    12
See reviews for
28
44
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa mesa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The reason for what I aimed this hotel it was because I saw the sign of rodeway inn and due to the experience in another hotel of the same chain I decided to stay (first mistake)

First of all they didn't have a one bed room, so I didn't care to pay a few bucks more for a extra bed that I wouldn't be needing ( second mistake), then the lady in the desk it was so unfriendly, the moment I asked her for a room she gave me the look, like if I was interrupting her break , she never smiled and for moments made me feel, like as was asking her for a favor. However I got the keys and went upstairs, in my way there I noticed that the hallways were filthy, consequently the carpet inside the room had dark spots (steam cleaning needed) we found flies in the room, the maintenance of the bathroom and some repairs in the room are poorly done.
I was running late for the show that I was going to attend, otherwise I would have asked for my money back.
This place it's not even in the level of motel 6 and at least in motel 6 you pay less, if you are thinking to stay here think twice. For the record I paid $104.00 even $70 would be expensive .

Bad experience overall

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Whitley Bay, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The location was useful. You can walk to Hollywood/Vine and Larchmont Village. Pavillions supermarket and CVS both next door. The room was clean. Breakfast was poor.There were plastic wrapped Danishes and English muffins but the toaster didn't toast. Appeared popular at weekends and we were woken up by late night returning guests going past our room. Adequate parking and free - rare in Hollywood. The wifi worked but was very slow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ygale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hotel is OK. Big rooms. I could not sleep because there was a drunk guy next to our room who was alone and was singing war songs during all the night. He also spoke alone like a priest during the night. I called the night front desk and they told me they could not do anything about the situation.
The front desk service was not good also.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inakijav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Important note: Meanwhile the hotel has changed his name into Rodeway Inn Hollywood. We chose this budget motel as last accomodation on our round-the-world-trip. Our room on the upper floor was of medium size, simply appointed, but nice. It featured two queen size beds. Since the weather was nice, in the morning we took the free breakfast on the terrace in front of our room with a view on the pool:-) Good way to start the day! Since we had a rental car, we were glad the hotel offered also free parking. It's a good place to stay for a couple of nights. It's a motel and you cannot have high expectations.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulurusunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was such a good experience. When I arrived, my reservation (though I had a confirmation at home) did not show up on the records of the hotel. The Clerk was extremely helpful, and got me settled into a nice, clean, secure, quiet room. I was in town to see an Irish tenor (Paul Byrom), and I noticed directly across the street from the hotel was an Irish Gift Shop. It was a perfect location for me, for the tone of my event. The property is located next to Vons market, and Starbucks very close by, not to mention the close proximity of the theatre, Melrose shopping district, Farmers Market, and all the beautiful Hollywood stately homes. I enjoyed the whole trip, and the comfort of the (now) RodewayInn at 777 Vine...was just great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris32051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We read the reviews and booked this hotel at the last minute. Other places were a little expensive. Pros: good location near Hollywood with ample gated parking at the back. A convenience store, subway, panda express and Starbucks next door. This is probably not a neighborhood to walk around at nite but we had a car and had no problems driving a short distance to the Hollywood attractions. Breakfast isn't really anything except coffee and stale pastries. The wifi is good and bed and room were adequate. Overall a good bargain for money and location. I guess this was earlier and econolodge bu now it is branded as rodeway inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back side so that you are not facing vine street. that will help with the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#189 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#191 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Hollywood Historic Hotel
#109 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#157 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
#204 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
#200 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 777 N. Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90038 (Formerly Econo Lodge Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hollywood CA hotel near Paramount Pictures - Rodeway Inn The Hollywood, CA Rodeway Inn(R) hotel is located within half a mile of Paramount Pictures and two mile of Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Kodak Theatre, Hollywood Wax Museum, Pantages Theatre and the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Paramount Pictures, CBS Television City, Universal Studios Hollywood, Hollywood Bowl, Beverly Hills, Rodeo Drive, Los Angeles Zoo and The Greek Theatre are all within five miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Econolodge Los Angeles
Econo Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing