We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #3 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect for sightseeing around Hollywood and for the places to eat and people watching! The underground parking is an added bonus for safety and security. Lots of shopping and places to eat within a block or two of walking.

Room Tip: The hotel is old but is maintained well... the walls are thin and depending on who your neighbours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    782
    124
    23
    9
See reviews for
950
574
95
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The main reason I give this place 4 stars is that it's you can't get a better deal for your money. It's a small hotel right behind Hollywood boulevard and that's what's great about it. You step out the door and walk through Highland Center and you're on the boulevard of the stars. Parking is for a small fee - $10/day - and is also something you won't find at that price anywhere else in the area. The rooms are decent, a bit old, but clean and the bed was comfortable. There were odds and ends in the room that didn't seem to work - like some of the outlets (but some enough worked fine) and it's a bit annoying that there's no maintenance after 5 pm, but for the price, you get a little apartment with full kitchen and utensils, full size fridge, microwave, toaster oven - you just can't beat it. And another nice thing - the breakfast. It's a continental breakfast, but has all the necessary - fruit, cereals, breads, muffins, juices and coffee and the woman who serves it is really sweet. The service in general is decent, nothing to rave about, but tries to do it's best. I would definitely recommend this place for a family or group of friends looking for a decent stay in LA.

Room Tip: all the rooms are a little bit noisy. the doors are thin and you can hear people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, clean and spacious room on ground floor with a nice outdoor seating area. Complimentary continental breakfast was a plus and adequate selection (bagels, pastries, fruits, yogurts, hot and cold drinks) to get the day going. A no frill, no fuss hotel that is close to all amenities and Hollywood boulevard (appx 5 minutes walking distance). The check in process was smooth, front desk staff was friendly enough, we didn’t spend a lot of time in the room, only used it for sleeping and freshening, our minimum expectations are daily room service, spacious and comfortable bed and the hotel delivered those expectations perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momocha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, close to all the sights. Rooms are clean and serviced and large. Stayed in the king suite.. It was perfect! Adam on reception is helpful and accommodating. The lady who runs breakfast is delightful and welcoming and breakfast is plentiful and with a good selection. Parking is an additional $10 per night and it's undercover and secure. My only complaint is the noise from housekeeping. Don't get a room down the back on the 1st floor.. There is plenty of chatter and banging as the day begins .. If you want to sleep till nine forget it! Definitely will stay here again, but on another floor :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Keffali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lathrop, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

All in all I have to say our experience was great. We stayed two nights from Friday to Sunday. The price was right and I can only enforce, you can not beat the location. You basically walk to the Highland Center in literally less than a minute. The beds are very, very comfortable. Not too soft, not too hard. They are perfect. The room we stayed in was like an apartment. kitchen, bathroom, living room couch with pull out bed and a separate bedroom with a King size bed. Everything was clean and kind of old school cozy. The staff and service from check in until check out was flawless, prompt and very courteous. For just a small extra charge I would recommend the hotel parking. It can be very expensive and unsafe to park your car in other areas. My only two small complaints are that the shower head in the bathroom is way too high, because even if you don't feel like washing your hair you kinda have to, because it will get wet. And 2nd the breakfast would be much better if there was somthing warm offered like bacon, eggs and potatoes or pancakes or anything hotter than room temperature ;) Besides that I would definately recommend this place and if I go to Hollywood again...This is where I would be.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexkruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I have now stayed at the Hollywood orchid suites on 2 different occasions during my 3 weeks in America and it was honestly the best place I stayed my whole trip.
The staff are on there game..friendly great service,giving me directions,recommendations and even printing things for me.
There is a computer available to use in the kitchen/dining area as well on top of there beyond the call service.
The room and bathroom is clean,kitchen well stocked and overall the whole hotel is well cared for and maintained.
The pool is heated and a lovely place to chill.
But most of all the best continental breakfast I've had hands down ...bagels,muffins,cereal,yoghurt and fresh fruit and more..Everything was lovely and more great service n a beautiful smile n chat every morning.
I started n finished my trip there and was sorely disappointed at what experienced in between staying there...
I would recommend this place to anyone who is coming to LA it's one street back from Hollywood boulevard n u can't get better value for such a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solomon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have now stayed at the Hollywood orchid suites on 2 different occasions during my 3 weeks in America and it was honestly the best place I stayed my whole trip.
The staff are on there game..friendly great service,giving me directions,recommendations and even printing things for me.
There is a computer available to use in the kitchen/dining area as well on top of there beyond the call service.
The room and bathroom is clean,kitchen well stocked and overall the whole hotel is well cared for and maintained.
The pool is heated and a lovely place to chill.
But most of all the best continental breakfast I've had hands down ...bagels,muffins,cereal,yoghurt and fresh fruit and more..Everything was lovely and more great service n a beautiful smile n chat every morning.
I started n finished my trip there and was sorely disappointed at what experienced in between staying there...
I would recommend this place to anyone who is coming to LA it's one street back from Hollywood boulevard n u can't get better value for such a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solomon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing