We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #5 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have just stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. Sandra and her staff are warm, friendly, accommodating and efficient. The room we had couldn't have been more perfect. It fit my friend and I marvelously.
If you are looking for a place to stay that is within walking distance to all the glitz that Hollywood has to offer, this is the place for you. It's less than a 1/2 block from Hollywood and Highland and you can access all other venues with a convenient and inexpensive cab ride.
The parking is secure and easily accessed. There are full kitchens and clean fresh and comfortable bedding. The housekeeping staff is super! Best value in the Hollywood area by far!

Room Tip: If you are looking for more quiet, request a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genoa816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

As part of a west coast trip, we were only staying in LA for a couple of days, and were therefore looking for a hotel with a central location. We booked the Hollywood Orchid on the basis of Tripadvisor recommendations, and were delighted with our choice. As others have said, the location is brilliant, literally only a step away from the Boulevard; nonetheless, felt very safe. Easy access to the subway and onward travel to other areas of the city. The building itself isn't attractive and looks like what it is; an older style apartment block. Don't let this put you off; the suites are spacious and well equipped and we made full use of the kitchen. My husband and I had the bedroom at the back(which was surprisingly quiet), whilst our teenagers had the front room next to the walkway. This leads me to the only negative: any noise from others walking past was very audible and some guests were not as considerate as we would have liked. This was a very minor issue and in no way affected our enjoyment of the stay. There is an underground car park (no longer free) but we had a high vehicle and were unable to gain access. This wasn't a problem as there is parking at the mall opposite. Finally, breakfast was ample and the kids enjoyed relaxing the pool at the end of a day's sightseeing. Fantastic value all round!

Room Tip: Rooms with fewer people passing likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Very homely feel to it the beds and pillows were comfortable. It had a nice kitchen and balcony the bathroom was nice and clean you tip the housekeeper there but they do a good job. The only bad thing I can say is the water pressure can be low and the walls are thin but other then that the location of it was smack bang on right behind Dolby theatre which you take a short walk way through to highland mall or you can walk behind Chinese manns theatre if you want to miss the crowd.the front desk are very helpful and nothing's to much to ask about they will tell you the best way to get around as well.there is a fresh and clean supermarket as well which is only about a 5 min walk it is a actual supermarket so they sell the normal stuff I would stay there again for the location

Stayed: November 2013
Thank cheslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

wonderful place to stay right in the heart of Hollywood. A wee bit hard to find at first and don't be put off from the look of the outside. The rooms are huge. We had one with a separate kitchen and dining room. The pool is really great. The breakfast is amazing and you can have it downstairs or take it back to your room. All the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay great. This place is at the back of the Chinese Theater and so very close to many restaurants and the Hollywood walk of fame. Highly recommend staying here and we will when we go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy22NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect for sightseeing around Hollywood and for the places to eat and people watching! The underground parking is an added bonus for safety and security. Lots of shopping and places to eat within a block or two of walking.

Room Tip: The hotel is old but is maintained well... the walls are thin and depending on who your neighbours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The main reason I give this place 4 stars is that it's you can't get a better deal for your money. It's a small hotel right behind Hollywood boulevard and that's what's great about it. You step out the door and walk through Highland Center and you're on the boulevard of the stars. Parking is for a small fee - $10/day - and is also something you won't find at that price anywhere else in the area. The rooms are decent, a bit old, but clean and the bed was comfortable. There were odds and ends in the room that didn't seem to work - like some of the outlets (but some enough worked fine) and it's a bit annoying that there's no maintenance after 5 pm, but for the price, you get a little apartment with full kitchen and utensils, full size fridge, microwave, toaster oven - you just can't beat it. And another nice thing - the breakfast. It's a continental breakfast, but has all the necessary - fruit, cereals, breads, muffins, juices and coffee and the woman who serves it is really sweet. The service in general is decent, nothing to rave about, but tries to do it's best. I would definitely recommend this place for a family or group of friends looking for a decent stay in LA.

Room Tip: all the rooms are a little bit noisy. the doors are thin and you can hear people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, clean and spacious room on ground floor with a nice outdoor seating area. Complimentary continental breakfast was a plus and adequate selection (bagels, pastries, fruits, yogurts, hot and cold drinks) to get the day going. A no frill, no fuss hotel that is close to all amenities and Hollywood boulevard (appx 5 minutes walking distance). The check in process was smooth, front desk staff was friendly enough, we didn’t spend a lot of time in the room, only used it for sleeping and freshening, our minimum expectations are daily room service, spacious and comfortable bed and the hotel delivered those expectations perfectly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momocha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,198 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,136 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#3 of 358 in Los Angeles
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 358 in Los Angeles
3,961 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#1 of 358 in Los Angeles
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £133 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing