We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #4 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic. ”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stated here in April. The room was spacious and clean. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was super comfy. We would defiantly stay here again. It is like a home away from home. Great location, right in the heart of Hollywood. ..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    801
    127
    23
    9
See reviews for
985
590
97
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel really is wonderful. Don’t be fooled by the 2 star rating and even the outside appearance it really is a gem. What makes this so nice is the wonderful service you receive. Everyone from the people at reception to the breakfast lady make you feel so welcome you cant help but enjoy your stay.
The rooms are very big. We had a 2 queen room and it was so big. There was even a huge fully stocked kitchen which we didn’t use but could be useful to others. The rooms are abit dated but cleaned very well and that is actually what is most important. The selection at breakfast is vast. There are packet oats, muffins, bagels, croissants, fruit and all beverages. The breakfast lady is wonderful and even sitting and chatting with the other guests was enjoyable. They even provide bags for you to take away things for later, you don’t get that at most hotels. There is also a computer and printer that you can use at anytime for anything, also something you don’t get at all hotels. The wifi is free and worked very well.
The location is fantastic as a tourist. You are right by the mall with many places to eat, the tour busses leave right there as well as there are lots of other Hollywood attractions nearby. My only suggestion is for breakfast to start earlier, 7:30 seems abit late when you want to be out and about. We left the hotel very satisfied with our stay and it really ranks up there even compared to some of the five star hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suds44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel has everything you need to make your vacation your own. The staff is helpful from the moment you walk in the door!
They have free Wireless internet for all guests too.
Parking is priced fairly and you can drive in-and-out as you want. The easy access to our car was fantastic. Here you don't have to wait for someone to bring your car to you--you can go down the secure garage as often as you need.
The hotel is located next to a walkway that leads you all that Hollywood Blvd has to offer! There is luxury shopping, the Stars Walk of Fame, the (former Grauman) Chinese Theater where you can see the Stars handprints, footprints, signatures, etc, Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum, along with souvenirs & restaurants of every kind and price!
The staff will provide you with a very nice continental breakfast. There are tables and chairs inside & out where you can eat the food or you can take it to your room (or in a bag "to-go"). Our hostess, Patricia, treated us like family! She had put out trays of bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, oatmeal, fruit, etc.-- a nice selection of ready to eat breakfast foods with juices, milk, coffee or hot water for other beverages. She had time to even toast the croissants / bagels for me and other guests! There was coffee available for much of the day... but if they had run out there is (of course) a coffee maker and coffee in the suite.
The room/suites are converted apartments. Ours was clean, light and airy. We had adequate lighting, two queen-sized beds, a comfy chair, a TV, dining room table & four chairs in an "L" shaped room. We had a full kitchen with a few pots, dishes, flatware, glasses which made eating our left-over food not only possible, but really a treat! There is a full-sized mirror, plenty of closet space and a private bathroom.
They have a roof-top patio where you can relax, tan, or eat your breakfast. The pool is nice. It is outdoors and is heated. We enjoyed it each day we were there. Towels available at the front desk on your way to the pool. It was never crowded.
The staff will print out directions for you to wherever you need to go! We went to tour Paramount Studios -- less than 15 minutes by car in LA!!! They gave us a printout with directions to LAX when we left. AND to PINK's for their famous hot dogs!
We felt secure with the lock on the front door of the hotel's lobby. Most of the time the desk person would buzz us right in, so we only used our key there a few times!
We did not use it, but they have a laundry room with a couple of washers and dryers for guest use.
There were a LOT of returning guests from around the world staying at the hotel while we were there. It does feel like a home away from home. I would stay there again. The staff asks you to try to be a little quiet after 10pm for the comfort of the other guests. FOR ME that translated into meaning that the others would be quiet for my comfort, too.
Our stay really was quiet & peaceful. Nice, homey, private, and quiet, this hotel is all that. If you want elegant... fancy... room-service... you might want to find a different place. But if good & friendly service--for a reasonable price--in an incredibly good location for walking to all the tourist spots on Hollywood Blvd and a central location for driving to the others this is it. In fact my son & husband said this may have been one of the all-time favorite hotels we have stayed at on vacation!
Next time we go to Hollywood we will stay here again. Normally we stay at the Hilton, Hamptons, Embassy suites. We like the space & service at those hotels--and the breakfasts too. But the staff here was equal to the service at the Hiltons--just without the fancy lobbies and brass fixtures!
If you still can't decide if you should stay here... give them a call. I did, they answered all my questions, and that is what sold me on the place. I am happy I read the reviews here and spoke to the staff there. It is a nice choice for adults. We don't have kids... so I can't speak about their experiences.

Room Tip: When I made the reservations I just asked for a "quiet room" and ended up with one. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kowalisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed for 4 nights at this fantastic place. We had a 2 king bed suite, with a bed in the living area and the other in the bedroom.The beds were really comfortable, the room very clean and a kitchenette to make meals. The location is perfect and within a short walk to all the tourist attractions. The staff couldn't have done more for us and were so friendly. We would recommend this place to anyone wanting value for money, great location and lovely staff. We'll stay here again for sure

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank avarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Hollywood Orchid Suites, and we were not disappointed. It's not just the perfect location - right behind the Highland Centre and less than 5 minutes from the metro station but it's peaceful, homey and welcoming. The staff (front office, housekeeping) are very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and very clean with a full kitchen, comfortable beds and good amenities. The roof garden is great for relaxing and the pool is kept in pristine condition. The included continental breakfast has improved greatly since our last visit - you can eat in the small dining area or make up a tray and take it back to your room. This is truly a hidden treasure and perfect for families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sure the location is perfect for sightseeing about hollywood, but its the staff that makes it!! We keep returning to the orchid suites because the staff are so helpful and courteous. Special thanks to them for providing us with another exceptional stay :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

At first didnt know what to expect but am so glad I stayed here.

Everything about this place was exquisite and I cpuldnt be more happier to have my family stay here.

The front staff were very nice professional and helpful.

The room was 2 kings and pull out bed with full kitchen and large fridge and oven too. Shower is over bath tub and toilet is in same room.

Breakfast was the usual pastrys cakes bagels and fruit yoghurt and coffee. Simple yet awesome but the lady who organises everything there I think her name was Patricia was so beautiful and super nice. She cooked and served you plus made u feel at home. This was special in its self.

The hotel does have a pool and that surely kept my kids occupied.

Hotel is only a 5 minute walk from hollywood walk of fame and defnately a gem hidden away from everything.

Highly recommend to families with children. Its safe and has everything u need away from home.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jodecirossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,056 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,131 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,482 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 350 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing