We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location and staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #3 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent location and staff...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

the staff was really very nice and helpful,breakfast was wonderful;
rooms were clean and spacious....location was perfect and very safe .it has parking ,it costs ten dollars per night.
i would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabriela63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    782
    124
    23
    9
See reviews for
953
574
95
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This 3 story hotel is older, but very clean. Reminded us of the Pensions in Europe. The staff is great, the continental breakfast is plenty to keep you going as they serve bagels/croissants, cereal, muffins, yogurt and cold/hot drinks, and some fruit. Rooms are very large as this used to be an apartment block. Full kitchen with good size bathrooms. Beds are very comfortable, and even the pillows get top ranks from me. I usually travel with my own pillow, but didn't this time and I was fine with theirs. Location is perfect if you are attending an event at the Hollywood bowl as it is a 15 minute walk away. Even though you are right off Hollywood Blvd, it is very quiet as there are two large hotels/buildings around you to stop the street noise. All the main Hollywood sights are a block or two away. Right behind the Loews hotel. One train stop from Universal Studios. Pool is very clean and there are chairs around the pool to lounge, or they do supply a couple of floating devices. Front door is locked at all times so you need a key to get into the hotel, so very safe feel to it. And lastly, the metro is a block away so easy to get around.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 3rd floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travelCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here based on good reviews and the location. Despite its locality it was very quiet and the rooms were spacious - we had a double king with extra rollaway for 4 of us. The staff were very helpful & friendly, especially the breakfast lady. The included breakfast had a variety to choose from and was plentiful. There was good secure parking, however, many attractions were within walking distance and the metro to Universal was so easy. Would definitely stay here again if visiting LA.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EggyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I chose this hotel based on reviews I had read on here, and I have to say I was extremely pleased. From the moment I checked in, everything was a positive experience. The room was like a small apartment, with a full kitchen and a balcony. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to alot of attractions, and driving in and out was also extremely easy. It was close to the Metro station which we used to go to Universal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From the moment we arrived, the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and had everything we could have possibly needed, even a full size fridge. The location was perfect, with Hollywood & Highland mall, walk of fame, Chinese theatre all moments away. The metro to take you to Universal Studios is also just a few minutes away by foot. I would definitely stay here again if I returned to LA.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megabux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stated here in April. The room was spacious and clean. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was super comfy. We would defiantly stay here again. It is like a home away from home. Great location, right in the heart of Hollywood. ..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel really is wonderful. Don’t be fooled by the 2 star rating and even the outside appearance it really is a gem. What makes this so nice is the wonderful service you receive. Everyone from the people at reception to the breakfast lady make you feel so welcome you cant help but enjoy your stay.
The rooms are very big. We had a 2 queen room and it was so big. There was even a huge fully stocked kitchen which we didn’t use but could be useful to others. The rooms are abit dated but cleaned very well and that is actually what is most important. The selection at breakfast is vast. There are packet oats, muffins, bagels, croissants, fruit and all beverages. The breakfast lady is wonderful and even sitting and chatting with the other guests was enjoyable. They even provide bags for you to take away things for later, you don’t get that at most hotels. There is also a computer and printer that you can use at anytime for anything, also something you don’t get at all hotels. The wifi is free and worked very well.
The location is fantastic as a tourist. You are right by the mall with many places to eat, the tour busses leave right there as well as there are lots of other Hollywood attractions nearby. My only suggestion is for breakfast to start earlier, 7:30 seems abit late when you want to be out and about. We left the hotel very satisfied with our stay and it really ranks up there even compared to some of the five star hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suds44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing