We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #3 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal location for Hollywood”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Positives: This hotel couldn't be better located for exploring the main attractions in Hollywood. The walk of fame, Chinese theatre, shops and restaurants are all very, very near. Rooms are spacious, there's a decent sized pool (water-rings provided for the kids), and a very relaxing roof-top terrace (albeit without any real view).
Negatives: Very few, although the breakfast provision is amateurish (cheap party plates, plastic forks, and very little room to eat).
Tip: Rooms on the 3rd (top) floor are quiet, the best being 314, which has a nice balcony.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    782
    124
    23
    9
See reviews for
950
574
95
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
324 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I will start by saying that if I need to stay in Hollywood again with my family, I would definitely stay at the Hollywood Orchids Suites Hotel. My family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was fantastic. The hotel is located in a very safe place next to a mall adjacent to the famous Chinese Theater where the stars go to watch premier movies. Super, super convenient spot.

The hotel was previously an apartment so we had huge rooms which was great for my family of 5. I have to say the hotel did have some minor cosmetic issues, but it was very clean all around and perfectly acceptable by my standards. The pool was great, and my kids had a great time swimming there after our Hollywood adventures.

The hotel also has coin operated washers and dryers which allowed us to wash some soiled clothes. Under ground parking was available for $10/day which was good for the area.

Several restaurants were within walking distance of the hotel, as well as the famous stars walk-of-fame and Chinese Theater (where you can see the star's hand and foot prints in concrete).

The only negative I can think of was the weak Wi-Fi Internet signal in the back bedroom of the hotel. It was practically non-existent in the backroom, and marginally usable in the front room.

I highly recommend staying here if you need realatively cheap accomodations in a safe location for your family.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cohoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Brilliant all round stay.Clean comfortable spacious suites located 5 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle but in a quiet location so really easy and quick to get to the the walk of fame Chinese theatre and Madame Tusards etc.Breakfast was grab and go usual toast muffins bagels coffee juice but the breakfast lady Patricia was very kind hard working and couldn't do enough for you.Close to bus stop and trains if you don't have a car .Lobby staff all very pleasant and helpful - can't recommend this place enough so book it you will not be disappointed unless you're used to the Ritz or the Savoy!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire251906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions during our July holiday. Location is great, metro stop just beside the Highland center. The availability of garage parking is so convenient! We stayed in a King bed suite. The fact that it came with a full kitchen was the reason we chose this hotel, specially as we were travelling with our 9 yr. old son. The flexability of cooking our own breakfast or dinner was a big plus! I ordered grocery items from Vons and made bacon and eggs a couple of times :) Margo and Grace from the front desk were very sweet and helpful, with Margo suggesting a good Chinese restaurant that delivers dimsum when we didn't feel like driving all the way to Chinatown for it. My son loved the pool tremendously! Coming from Dubai where most hotels we go to are 5 star, my son declared "I like this better than a 5 star hotel!" :) ... my only suggestion would be probably if they can change the carpet as it looks quite old but will definitely stay here again on our next trip to LA!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you want to be near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rauddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the end of June 2014, all the staff were friendly & helpful, with a special mention about Patricia, who always has a smile.
Close to Hollywood,, Metro/bus transport, so suitable for overseas visitors who don't drive in the USA but there is safe car parking available for a small fee
We would definitely, stay there again

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, at the back, in room 210 & had our own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The pool was really weell cleaned and good size to play and swim in.
The hotel was perfeckt placed right next to hollywood bl. but behind the center, so no noise at night.
The staff is very kindly and helpfull

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location is within a short walking distance of the Hollywood Boulevard. It is reasonably priced and suitable for families. Our room had its own kitchen, dining area, etc. One minor issue is related to the street noise from Hollywood Blvd. In general, I would come back again to this place and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing