We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #3 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Value Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

This place is a bit worn around the edges, but has great amenities and the value cannot be beat! We paid $119 for a one bedroom suite with a kitchen...the Oven didn't work, but everything else did. Free parking, walk 30 seconds to the Hollywood/Highlands center and about 5 minutes walk to several family friendly options on Hollywood Blvd which is less scary than it's been in years.

If you decide to leave the car in the garage, you can take the Metro to downtown, and other locations.

My only small complaint was that the pool wasn't heated, but it was November...so maybe it's only heated seasonally. That didn't keep my daugther from swimming!

It's not the Ritz, but a very family friendly affordable accomodation.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    778
    124
    23
    9
See reviews for
935
568
94
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

I was in LA for 4 days on business. Downtown hotels were booked so I stayed here and took the metro into downtown. The suites are large and the location is great. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

Just got back from a trip to LA that included 3 nights at the Orchid Suites. I couldn't be happier with the room, rate, location and staff. Everything in the room - one BR plus kitchen and living room - was clean and comfortable and the location can't be beat. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on business as well as families looking for a convenient base while seeing the sights of Hollywood and west LA.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 85hoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

We picked this hotel due to it's proximity to Hollywood Blvd.

However, after our first night there, we realised there wasn't much going on and we would have been better staying in West Hollywood, Downtown LA or Santa Monica.

The hotel itself is perfect for people on a budget and the rooms are clean and tidy.

Having the Hollywood & Highland Centre a minute's walk away is perfect for dining, shopping, etc. Also, the club at the top is pretty cool.

Metro line is 3 minutes walk. Easy to use as well.

  • Liked — Proximity to Hollywood Blvd
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanthecaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

We stayed here with our 3 children ages 10-16 and the location and price cannot be beaten. The rooms are not the most up-to-date but our room was quiet, the staff were extremely helpful and courteous and the free parking a bonus. if you are looking for great value in a great location this is the place. If you want 5 stars you may be disappointed but if, like us, you need a place to stop after a busy day this is great value for money and my husband is already planning his trip back.

  • Liked — Value for money and location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Eveleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

Stayed for 6 nights for a conference in Renaissance Hollywood Hotel. The is the best alternative, location is just within less than 5 min walking distance to the conference hotel and the shopping mall and of course to all other attractions as reviewed by other travelers. And I did not have to spend a bomb on the accommodation too.

Booked a Junior room which was spacious and consisted of all the basic amenities like hair dryer, iron board, towels, shampoo etc. An added bonus was a small kitchen at the corner for cooking with pots, plates, and utensils which I did not use. There was a small fridge as well. The room was double bed, as I was alone, I just used other bed to place my luggage.

The decor was outdated and the room seem old but you get what you pay. As long as it satisfy your requirements of a cheap, clean and convenient hotel, this is the hotel to go for.

  • Liked — Very good location and good rates, staff are friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — The staircase to the lobby
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sillypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

Great location for Hollywood Boulevard and shopping. Universal studios a short drive away.

Large, clean rooms.

Helpful reception.

Perfect location for exploring Hollywood. Free car park.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing