We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location; Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #4 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights for a short visit of Hollywood including a visit to the Universal Studios Themepark. If your plans are to see Hollywood and do all the "touristy" stuff, this the perfect hotel for you. Its located just behind the Kodak Theatre and the Hollywood and Highland Shopping Center. Its a 2 Minute walk from the Hotel through a side-entrance of the shopping center and you have everythink you want to see right in front of you: Graumann's Chinese Theatre, Walk of Fame, Hollywood Wax Musem, etc. etc.. The Shopping Center provides diverse possibilities to eat and shop. I can especially recommend the uWink bar, where you can order food and drinks and pay and play casual games on a touchscreen display located on every table and also at the bar. The italian restaurant on the second floor of the shopping center also has some really fine food for reasonable prices. If you want it a bit cheaper almost every fastfood franchise is located directly at the Hollywood Boulevard in front of the shopping center. Finally, if you plan to visit Universal Studios, in the shopping center there is a metro station. The very next station (direction North Hollywood) is Universal City. On the hotel: it has a very nice and clean pool that is not very crowded (it was not when I was there on the weekend in the end of August), hotel staff is very nice and helpful, rooms are ok (big enough but a bit old), there is free WiFi everywhere in the Hotel area and also a public PC including a printer. Finally: book a shuttle to get from LAX to this hotel. Taxis cost a fortune. Regarding which shuttle company to use: I can recommend Karmel Shuttle. I heard some bad things about Super Shuttle so I did not use this one even if it would have been a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crube82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,167)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Orchid Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

We decided to book our stay in Hollyowwod at the Orchid Suites after reading all the good reviews about the Hotel and we were not dissapointed at all. It lived up to everything.
The staff here are so helpful and friendly there is nothing they wouldn't for us. Our room was so big and comfortable and we found the fact that we had a kitchen a wonderfull plus for us. There was two TV's one in the living room and one in the bedroom. The bathroom was also a good size and had a bath. The lounge room sofa and chairs were so comfy it was a dream after a long day sightseeing to come to our room and sink into them.
The breakfast that the hotel provided each mornings was lovely and although it only consisted of pastry, fruit and cereal as well as coffee we found it more than adequate for our needs. We only got to use the pool once as when we were there in LA they were having very mild weather and the pool was a bit cold.
The laundry was well equiped and they also had a ice and vending machines as well. The free parking for guests was also a big plus. Free internet was provided and I used it alot.
The shopping center next door had lots of wonderful food places and we didn't have a bad meal once.
While we read on other reviews just how close the hotel was to Hollywood itself we couldn't beleive how true it was. only about 2 mins walk and there we were standing on the Hollywood stars and we were out front the Kodak Theatre.
Tour buses, Wax museums, were also just there after a short walk.
I honestly can't say a bad word about this Hotel and would reccomend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruralmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Good budget hotel, the continental breakfast was ok (better than some places I have stayed) and the pool was nice. The location is absolutely wonderful for Hollywood Boulevard etc and the staff were really helpful. The rooms are a little old fashioned, and could do with a bit of refurbishment as sofa bed was past it's best and the kids slept on th mattress on the floor as they found more comfortable. however, value for money this hotel is great and the location cannot be beaten. And free parking included worth $20 per day at least.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redwitchdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed there for 4 nights in May 2009. For the price, rooms were very good. Decent size, small kitchenette, good sized bathroom. Rooms are dated but always clean. For tourists that want to see all the Hollywood has to offer this hotel is located superbly. Close to train station (going to Universal or to LA). 3 minute walk to "Walk of Fame" and all the associated tours that leave from Hollywood. Excellent selection of shopping, bars, restaurants. Located with in 1 minute walk to large shooping complex in Hollywood.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew Sezonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We concur with all the positive reviews. We took our two teen-age grandkids to Universal Studios and stayed in a suite with king beds in the living room and bedroom. Easy access to the covered private secure parking. Two TV's and a full kitchen. Short walk to all the funny happenings on Hollywood Blvd near Grauman's Chinese Theater. We walked to Mel's Diner (fun) and Cafe des Artistes (delicious). If we were going back to Universal and/or Hollywood we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Apartment style hotel, with full kitchen, eating area. Spacious bedroom. Furnishings and decor clean but a little dated. Small swimming pool, continental breakfast. Excellent location behind Hollywood Highland Shopping Mall. Subway station very close.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyann57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This is such a sweet little hotel. Nestled behind the Hollywood and Highland mall, the hotel is blocked off from the bustle of Hollywood. Yet walk out the door and it's a short walk to shopping, dining, public transportation, tourist attractions and the Hollywood Bowl.

The small swimming pool is lovely, with well maintained trees and plants surrounding the pool. There is also a roof deck for sunning and relaxing.

The one bedroom came with a fully equipped kitchen, very comfortable couches, and dining table and chairs. We spent a week here and never felt cramped.

The maids and reception were always pleasant and helpful.

This place is a great value and nicely tucked away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,744 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,942 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,149 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 352 in Los Angeles
429 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#50 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £140 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing