We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LA trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Ranked #123 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Beal Feirste
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“LA trip”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Fine for what we were doing for a few days, Universal Studios and Hollywood. Tv & fridge in a big and spacious room. We actually had 2 bedrooms, one for us, one for our bags!! Did not use the pool. Subway 2mins walk away. Some restaurants and fast food 2 mins walk away. Area is fairly grim with plenty of nutcases and homeless walking about but i think there was a psyhciatric nearby. Would recommend this place as it was cheap with a breakfast and free internet , close to the places we wanted to see with a friendly staff. You arent going to get silver platter service, its a cheap motel.

Room Tip: I was happier to be upstairs as there were plenty of weird people walking around the area that sort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    462
    397
    92
    68
See reviews for
290
435
94
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of June in a twin room. To be honest, I wasn't really expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. Sure it's not The Ritz, and it's definitely budget accommodation - but for what you pay, I think it's very good value for money.
We arrived about 3 hours earlier than the standard check-in time and were very thankful that we were able to check-in early, as we hadn't showered since leaving Australia.
The room was sufficient, if not a little bit 'tired', but there was plenty of room for the three of us to store our luggage and move about.
The location, as mentioned by a few others, is good for visiting any of the Hollywood attractions by the Metro. If you want to walk from the hotel along Hollywood Boulevard to the Chinese Theatre you should wear good shoes - it's a long walk!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Location is Hollywood area but not near the attractions (the "attractions" near the motel are the hospitals and medical centres). However, near Metro so if you are not driving, this will be helpful since you can then take metro to Hollywood Highlands and downtown (eg Union station, Civil Centre, Japan town, Chinatown, etc).

Rooms are small but decent for a motel. Overall clean and parking is free. Definitely will recommend if u are on a budget and want a decent stay. But if you are looking at a hotel accommodation, this is then not for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carefree_traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed here for one night in June 2012 while visiting relatives in LA. The location was extremely convenient to our relatives' home. The check-in process was easy and our room was on the first floor with parking right out front. The positives stop there. On entering our room, our first impression was smelly and dingy. If I hadn't purchased a non-refundable rate, I would have checked out immediately. The rug was filthy, the walls had dried up stuff splattered on them. Everything looked and felt dirty. We stayed out as late as possible to spend as little time as possible inside the room. In their defense, this Travelodge is a 2 star hotel. So, expect only a 2-star (or less) experience. I don't stay in fancy hotels, but I am used to at least a 3-star hotel and now I can really see the difference. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieFromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Second time staying here in two years, and again very satisfied. Clean, convenient and fantastic value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gembrook, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Easy to get to, reasonable price
Staff did not seem to care as much as would be liked, but they did an adequate job.
Room was clean, and well taken care of on the second night, all the coffee and toiletries were restocked.

Room Tip: Hard to turn into heading North on Vermont. Best to enter from Sunset, turn R then R almost right a...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank RobPitcherAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hollywood Travelodge and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments about our service. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Sanjeev Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyumen, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

IMHO, Travelodge is the best motels chain. Reasonable price, clean, comfortable, provide all amenities you need at the trip. Good free breakfast, free parking.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor. Stairs uncomfortable to carry heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shishkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed all the great ammenities that make our hotel experience a great one. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sanjeev Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#116 of 350 in Los Angeles
671 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#61 of 350 in Los Angeles
954 reviews
Harbor
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Property: Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Address: 1401 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-6023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset Hotel Los Angeles
Travelodge Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing