We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kyoto is OUT, DoubleTree is IN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #62 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is now a DoubleTree/Hilton property. All the furnishings are brand new. The rooms have a very nice color palette, huge flat screen tvs, nice comfy beds. The fitness center is also state of the art. The staff (front desk to restaurant/bar) are helpful and ready to please. You won't go wrong with this Hilton property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstraveler155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Disappointing for a number of reasons
Check in was slow and confused and getting the Internet access took a visit from the tech staff to get the access code
Wanted advice on where to walk locally and was disappointed when the concierge seemed to know nothing and his response was to pull out his phone and look at google maps...?
But it was the bathroom with the remnants of someone else's black hair still in the bath and a drain plug that would not empty when the shower was on that was most disturbing

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our Wedding Night 20+ years ago when it was called The New Otani Hotel, and it was excellent back then. But now it has gone down hill !! We stayed there July 2, 2012. Checked-into our "deluxe" room, no fridge and the toilet pipe leaked and sprayed water from behind and didn't even flush. Called Front Desk to be moved to another room, front desk says they will send someone up with a key to a different room, waited and waited and no one came, we went downstairs and they said their people were tied up. Got key to different room ourself, needed some ice so followed the sign on the hallway to the ice machine and guess what, No ice machine, seems it was removed for whatever reason. Their underground parking looked more like a storage space then a parking and it was a rip off too. I ran out of cigarettes but nothing was open so I had to walk down to Miyako Hotel and buy it from their store. Walked back to my hotel, stood outside around the bldg to smoke a cigarette, a homeless came immediately to bum a cigarette. What a Dump! $200+ a night!! Next time we're staying at Miyako Hotel instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyborg009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very comfortable. Enjoyed the rooftop garden and the Little Tokyo restaurants attached to the hotel!

Room Tip: Go to the Garden level. Very meditative and relaxing after a day at work or convention. Then walk do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanMolletEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent the 2nd half of our trip in this hotel as it was a walk to different places (quite a long walk to Fashion District but we did).
The Staff was attentive - and ALWAYS willing to go above and beyond answering any question you asked.
Next time I come down to LA Downtown... I'm checking this hotel first again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdncole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived after a weekend of hiking in the mountains, and were happy to sink into one of the most comfortable beds we have ever found in a hotel. I don't know what they top their mattresses with, but it was a very luxurious rest. The location is great if you need a downtown hotel. It would have been nice to have a pool, but otherwise we had a great experience. The front desk staff was friendly, and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: I mentioned that I had heard about the Japanese garden, and the front desk clerk gave us a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoastgirl02128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I don't normally complain but the 1st room we got had someone already staying in it. The 2nd room the bathroom sink backed up. The 3rd room was a down graded from our frist two rooms. Our last room was good and clean. The lady's at the front desk were off putting but the bell hops was great and security was good. For how much I paid I didn't like all the moving around.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogo2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#46 of 354 in Los Angeles
730 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,185 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,301 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £148 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing